Justin Edward Sterling’s Reviews

Justin Edward Sterling

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Criminal Attorney in the Valley

    Posted by Alex,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Justin Sterling.

    Justin represented our father in the Van Nuys courthouse. We met with numerous lawyers before ultimately going with Justin. His candor, attitude, and experience convinced us he was the right fit for our family and the type of case our father was being prosecuted for. We were also persuaded by the fact that Justin was referred to us by another criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles who was referring more serious cases to him since she had just had a baby. Justin is polished, experienced, and aggressive. If it hadn't been for the referral we likely would have never been made aware of his experience and trial ability. Justin doesn't sell himself that way and never really spoke about himself other than telling us what we could expect and asked lots of questions before taking our case. Once retained, we were thrilled with our decision. Justin was responsive to our calls, request for meetings, and countless questions. Our father is free today because of the work Justin did. If you are looking for an honest attorney, expereinced and respected within the Van Nuys courthouse, look no further. Our family would highly recommend Justin and his office.

  2. Incredible

    Posted by Justin, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Justin Sterling.
    • I hired Justin 1-3 years ago.
    • Justin handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I've worked with Justin Sterling twice, once during my active criminal case then on a motion a few months afterwards. This review is largely about the latter...

    After my actual criminal case was dismissed, I was interested in pursing a finding of factual innocence, a type of motion that is rarely granted, which not only removes any doubt one might be guilty, but also orders the sealing and obliteration of any records related to the arrest or prosecution. I was warned by numerous people that these were notoriously hard to win and it would not be easy, even given the best of circumstances. From the way he conducted himself during my case, I knew Justin was the guy to handle this matter. He crafted a well-written motion, made some compelling arguments before the Court and had some great questions for me during direct questioning at the hearing. Ultimately the presiding judge granted the order and directed all agencies involved to destroy my arrest records, truly a godsend in my situation.

    In summary, he is a fantastic lawyer, who is constantly on the ball in the court room, ready to rebut the most ridiculous statements from the prosecution and is always on your side. He's very responsive. Honestly I can't say enough things about having worked with him.

  3. Fantastic Lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Justin Sterling.
    • I hired Justin 1-3 years ago.
    • Justin handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Justin handled a drug case for me that resulted in a full dismissal. His was consistently aggressive, trustworthy and on his game. At the preliminary hearing he sensed a weakness in the prosecutions case, seized upon it and got the judge to dismiss the charges on the spot.

  4. Great Attorney!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Justin Sterling.
    • I hired Justin 1-3 years ago.
    • Justin handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was desperate to find a good attorney, My son got himself into trouble in California, and he was looking at doing some serious time. I'm from Michigan and I don't know anyone in California. I started to research attorneys, made dozens of phone calls, and spoke to many attorneys. Everyone I spoke to promised me the world, except Mr. Sterling. Mr. Sterling told me about himself how he got to where he is, and told me he would do his best but promised nothing until he read the case. From the first conversation, I know he was the man to represent my son and he did. Being so far away he kept my husband and myself informed at all times. Mr. Sterling did a great job six months later my son is coming home. I highly recommend this attorney, he's great. If you need a attorney call Mr.Sterling you will be glad you did.

  5. Excellent DUI Defense Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Justin Sterling.
    • I hired Justin 1-3 years ago.
    • Justin handled my DUI & DWI matter.

    Justin is very good at what he does. He is extremely professional and has a well received presence in the courtroom. His communication with me was always immediate and efficient. One of the things I was most impressed with was his ability to separate facts from opinion. He consistently gives the right amount of information and answers all questions completely. I was happy with the result Justin achieved for me and thankful I chose him as my lawyer.

  6. Qualified, Top-Notch, Excellent

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Justin Sterling.
    • I hired Justin 1-3 years ago.
    • Justin handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am in the entertainment industry and was nailed with a DUI this past year while coming home from an event. My business partner referred me to Justin, who I spoke to the night after my arrest. I have to say that I am not one to submit online reviews. However I was humbled by this entire process and wanted to extend some kind words in support of an incredible lawyer and caring person. My DUI wasn't exactly straighfoward as there was a collision involved as well as resulting injuries. I did in fact interview other lawyers, many of whom either said there wasn't much they could do for me or I otherwise got a sleezy vibe from. I ultimately went with Justin as he was a personal referral, was extremely professional, and seemed accomplished, knowledgable, and caring to my personal situation (by the way, this never changed even after I paid the retainer fee). While the case took some time, Justin got the case dismissed after a hearing with the judge and the police officer that arrested me. Far beyond what I was expecting - an incredible result. Justin was a true fighter in court. Apart from the legal aspect of my case, Justin and his office staff were always attentive, accessible, and professional. All around an unbelieveable service he offers. Thanks again.

  7. Worth Every Penny, Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Mark, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Justin Sterling.
    • I hired Justin 1-3 years ago.
    • Justin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Sterling was recommended to me by a trusted friend that works in the court system. I called his cell phone, which he gives out freely and is rare for a lawyer to do, and within minutes of talking to him he had me feeling much more at ease about my situation. I had a face to face appointment with Mr. Sterling just a few days later where he was very thorough in explaining his plan as well as answering all of my questions in a manner that I could understand. Having worked with Mr. Sterling's office for close to 6 months now, and having hired him to help me on additional legal matters, I am extremely comfortable recommending Mr. Sterling to my family, friends, and others. From the moment I spoke with him he gave me the sense of comfort that I needed, has made himself easily accessible, and has proven himself extremely effective in the court room. My case involved some sensitive issues. I was looking at some heavy penalties some of which were possible life-long requirements. Mr. Sterling's efforts resulted in me avoiding basically all of these issues. He is a results-oriented guy and this comes through in his demeanor and approach to a case. His confidence in himself and my case gave me the confidence to make it through, what was basically the worst ordeal of my entire life. I am forever blessed to have had Mr. Sterling on my side.

  8. Caring Person and Effective Lawyer

    Posted by Sherry, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Justin Sterling.
    • I hired Justin more than 3 years ago.
    • Justin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I met Mr. Sterling over 2 years ago when he represented my brother in a very serious case. I attended all court hearings and met with Mr. Sterling numerous times during the course of the case. I am happy to write this recommendation of Mr. Sterling because he is a gifted lawyer who can help. Experienced, knowledgable, and he actually cares. In court he was aggressive and effective. My family and I basically credit Mr. Sterling with saving my brothers life. The case went to trial and he was acquitted of the most serious charges. If you are looking for a responsive lawyer who has the ability to get results, I would not look beyond this attorney. Mr. Sterling loves what he does, which is pretty evident in the level of service he provides.

  9. The Best

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Justin Sterling.
    • I hired Justin more than 3 years ago.
    • Justin handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This guy knows what he is doing. Justin represented me in a felony where I had originally paid a lawyer 7k to do nothing. Abandoned by that lawyer and looking at going to jail I was obviously skeptical. The first day I meet with Justin he laid out the possible scenarios at what I was to expect. I was really taken back when he asked me what MY goals were and what MY best case scenario was. I finally felt like I was a part of my own case and defense. Very different from my prior experience with my previous attorney where I couldn't even get a call back.

    Justin kept me out of jail and I will have a chance to have my record reduced if I obey probation. There are alot of attorneys out there that will promise you the world but you will get nothing. You will pay thousands and get nothing. I looked up my previous lawyer on this site and its so obvious that he has had his staff or whoever write fake reviews for him and his firm.

    Justin was always honest with me and I am pleased to be contacted to further vouch for the wonderful work he did for me.

    Adcampbel@yahoo.com

  10. Thank you Mr. Sterling!

    Posted by a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Justin Sterling.
    • I hired Justin more than 3 years ago.
    • Justin handled my Violent Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Sterling is a wonderful, compassionate and has wonderful knowledge of the Law!

    Justin has defended me on numerous occasions and I would not change him for the most "prized" lawyer in the world!

    Thank you Justin!