Gerald Shapiro’s Reviews

Gerald Shapiro

Average Rating

Based on 49 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Asylum court

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gerald Shapiro.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my Immigration matter.

    Recently Mr Jerry was my layer to present my case in Asylum court, his very responsive to my questions and all legal advises, his very honest and easy to communicate with, I am recommending him to my friends.

  2. Recommendation Letter for Jerry shapiro

    Posted by INYANG, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Shapiro.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Immigration matter.

    Attorney Shapiro is one of the excellent lawyers I can boast of.
    He is very serious and concerned about the need of his clients.
    He is among the best of best, I very highly regards him.

  3. My family and I highly recommend Mr. Shapiro as a professional and honest lawyer

    Posted by Bahram, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Shapiro.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Immigration matter.

    I came to US from IRAN but I found out I can't overcome a number of obstacles before I became a
    US CITIZEN , fortunately a friend of mine recommended JERRY SHAPIRO to handle my case.
    I met Jerry Shapiro on his law office and he explained all details about how to proceed step by step
    with regulations to achieve my goals easier and faster.
    Thank you Mr. Shapiro for all your help.

  4. The most grounded human being !!!

    Posted by Karla, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Shapiro.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have previously worked with no lawyers on this matter but the lawyer whom take care of our business recommend us to Mr Shapiro ( how lucky someone can be) .
    I came to L.A in 2002 with a tourist visa and stay on the state illegal :( , and married in 2010 to my wonderful husband , and we start the process of my papers , three month after the process start I got on the mail my Social security # ....was a dream come true !! and then , I got my green-card and all through the care of the law firm of mister Shapiro , he also was on top of following the process of my citizen ship , letting us know dates of appointments before emigration notifications came through our door, and been present on each appointment with us .
    I'm so thankful I was able to see my family again in El Salvador for the past 8years ,It was an emotional reunion for my and my love ones ,thank you for all your help and professional work , we couldnt have done it without you , The money was never worth it as much as now ,Good bless you Mr Shapiro.

  5. The Best Lawyer I ever work with.....!

    Posted by Htes, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Shapiro.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My Case was to complected, I came to US from INDIA as Student Visa. After, i get here I got married to US citizen. Within couple months i got my 2 year conditional GC. We was happy and enjoying our marriage life so far. Before my 2 year GC was expired i apply for condition to remove status and after couple months i got RFE. I submitted more evidence and after month i got letter from immigration for the face to face interview. Now, in most cases immigration dont call for 2nd interview but i dont know what is going on. Then, I hired Mr. Jerry Shapiro as my lawyer. He so calm and confidant about my case. He told me not to worry. We went for Interview, after 3 weeks i got my 10years GC.
    Mr. Jerry Shapiro is the best lawyer ,

  6. Thank you Atty. Shapiro !!! He is Highly Recommended !

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Shapiro.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am sincerely grateful to Atty. Jerry Shapiro. I am originally from the Philippines. Me and my child overstayed / on an expired tourist visa for 12 yrs.
    It was pure luck how I found Atty. Shapiro. I meant to call a different immigration lawyer & for some reason, it went thru to him. This was 2 years ago. I sched. a free consultation with him , walked in his office with Fear and Anxiety. My situation has been very complex due to my criminal case. I searched everywhere & all I got were negative answers. It seemed like my case was hopeless. I was very hesitant to file and come out in the open as it may result to our deportation. I presented my case to Atty.Shapiro and gave me a sense of relief and hope. He was very composed and calm about it. I have previously contacted a lawyer who was very negative right away. Atty. Shapiro even knew my past criminal lawyer. He contacted them and found out about the case. I decided to file ! But I guess, I had an attraction for bad luck.. unforeseen turn of events transpired just before we were about to submit the case. I had to cancel my application. I just realized that there were a few other things that needed to be taken cared of. I was very disheartened and truly hopeless. He did not discourage me but instead, advised me to take care of those matters , even referred me to another good atty. for other issues . I had to wait for more " clearance " pertaining my other unresolved issues. It took almost another year before I was fully ready. During that entire time, Atty. Shapiro has always been accessible and accommodating especially by email. I felt more secured. He was always very helpful answering questions etc. by email. I never had to go through secretaries, or anybody else to get thru him. Not even once ! He was always responsive to queries. That helped a lot and alleviated getting more stressed and worried. A year later, I went back to his office and finally filed. I would admit, I have still been anxious and scared the whole time as I wasn't sure if I will be approved or not. But then, 2 mos after we filed, we already got notices from USCIS. Then, another month later, my son received his work permit. Then mine followed another month later. Few months passed, I just waited for more notices for my interview. It seemed like forever. Atty Shapiro followed up with them and kept me posted the entire time. After which, we got notices for our interview. He asked me to come in his office a few weeks before the interview date. He gave me a complete list of docs to bring and to make sure I am fully prepared. I got the reassurance that everything will go just fine and not to worry about my criminal case. Our interview date came, and there he was. It was nerve wracking I must admit. But then, everything went well. I was very thankful that he reminded me to bring everything I needed. I came prepared. We got an approval that same day & we're just waiting for our green card in the mail !!!! I can't thank him enough for his patience , knowledge & professionalism. I truly and highly recommend him !!!! 2 Thumbs up to you, Atty. Shapiro !!!

  7. Incredible

    Posted by Lida, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Shapiro.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I immigrated from Iran to the US in 2007 base on US citizen spouse. In 2009 I applied for removal of condition from my residency (I-751) which ended to removal proceeding. I hired first attorney who was not helpful and the second application ended to proceeding as well. I was so disappointed and recommended by a local agent to Mr Shapiro. I call his office and there was a very warm greeting fro secretary. I found his cell phone number through the greeting of answering machine. (He's been easy to reach and available up yo the end of case, for 2 other lawyers I had to pass secretary and leave a message on the phone and wait for response for a long time). In one hour consul I explained my situation and he figured it out quickly. He drafted his plan for me to solve the issue. I had 2 other consults with other attorneys, and made my decision that I would be comfortable with Mr Shapiro: 1. Available for client all the time without secretary barrier, even he checks all documents in front of you and sometimes he makes copy by himself rather than asking somebody else, so it makes you sure nothing would be lost 2. He listens to you carefully without any interruption and no hurry to end the consult session. 3. He responds everything legally and does research about the details based on references, and if he doubts about anything he would say "I'll research about it". 4. He has good knowledge of the scope of his practice with multiple solution for each problem. 6. And the fee for service was excellent. My case took 2.5 years to get ended because my third application was stuck in CIS while the 2nd application was being followed up in the immigration court. Mr Shapiro was so smart to find where my application exactly is and asked Judge to make CIS to have a decision on that. At interview day he patiently addressed the legal issues in my application and gave me hints after on to provide all documents might be helpful. I couldn't believe my case would be approved but Mr Shapiro was so confident about it. Finally 6 weeks after interview I received my Green Card: a case i couldn't believe to be approved at the 3rd time!!! Unbelievable. I highly recommend Mr Shapiro to anybody with immigration issue. Incredible.

  8. Great Lawyer for Citizenship with criminal background

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Shapiro.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jerry is an excellent lawyer for your citizenship if you have any kind of criminal background. My interview only takes 10 mins! He successfully solved my cause and previously he helped my friend with criminal background to become citizen. About my situation, I am an Iranian who came to America about 10 years ago. I got wet reckless driving about 2 years ago. When my probation finished, I went to Jerry's office to help me with citizenship. He handled my expungement and citizenship. The whole process took only 4 months. I am satisfied with the result!

  9. great man!

    Posted by Ali, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Shapiro.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Shapiro is very caring and knowledgeable man who literally saved my life . He professionally handled a complicated case with grace and produced a great result. I do recommend Mr. Shapiro to be your partner at the ICE and DHS hearings.

  10. Jerry Shapiro is the only lawyer that I trust!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Shapiro.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Jerry Shapiro is the best lawyer that I have ever worked with. Before I work with Jerry Shapiro I worked with few other lawyer and not only I was not getting results, just dealing with those lawyers had become a nightmare for me. I recommend Jerry Shapiro for the following reasons:
    1- He is responsive; whenever I had a concern on my case, I was able to get in touch with him quickly, and he addressed my issues and concern patiently
    2- He is very knowledgeable; I have hired him on two immigration cases, and in both cases, he handled a case that was not exactly straight forward. in both cases very quickly and easily got my case approved. I have to admit that in both cases I was disappointed with approval of my immigration case and he did magic.
    3- He understood my concerns and by explaining the solution to my case, and partly by his positive attitude eased my worries.
    4- He is very fair on the fees that he charges. I remember for my first case, I was quoted twice than his fees by few other lawyers that did not even understood my case.
    5- I was amazed by how neatly he organized my case and send it to the immigration office. It plays a big role on how your file is prepared and how easily immigration officers can browse trough it and find their material.
    6- He is very organized; when I went to him for my second case, very quickly he found evidence and material from my first file (which was done ~5years earlier) that helped with my second case.

    Every time that someone ask me of a great lawyer, I will with no doubt reffer he/she to Jerry Shapiro.