Benjamin M Hill’s Reviews

Benjamin M Hill

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Goes above and beyond for his clients!

    Posted by Farrah and Frank,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Hill.

    This was our first experience of how it is to be sued by someone. Ben was the 2nd lawyer we consulted and on the spot, we knew he was our lawyer. On our initial consultation, we sat together for what seemed like hours and we never felt like we were rushed out or hurried by his response. He was very patient and helped us understand our situation. Ben is very mild mannered but very knowledgeable. He was able to calm our nerves, gave us reasonable expectations and clarified any of our concerns. On top of that, his rates are very reasonable. That was the biggest burden for us being a small business owner. It was our lively hood on the line and we are so thankful to him that he took on our case knowing were not a multi-million dollar company.

    Through out the whole discovery process, Ben made all the legal jargon less intimidating. We never had problems with deadlines and he was always on top of everything. Communication between us and Ben was as simple as a phone call but for us, email was more convenient, and that worked out well for us. During the settlement meeting, Ben stood in court for 8 painful hours ( due to a bad back) and never wavered, never made any excuses. The case settled at the end but if we did end up going to trial, he made sure that we were prepared.

    So thankful to have found Ben. I would highly recommend him! You wont regret it.

  2. Thank you for your help...

    Posted by Didier, a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Hill.
    • I hired Benjamin 6-12 months ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Going thru the experience of mediation is not something I want to do as it is not who I am really, but I did not want the other party to do things without facing any consequences… Ben was very helpful thru this process of settling and did it in an professional and ethical way.

  3. excellent attorney

    Posted by ortega, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Hill.
    • I hired Benjamin 6-12 months ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Excellent attorney ! very professional , honest ,straight forward knows what he is doing . he helped me lower my labor claim amount by 50 percent. We settled at the conference without going to a hearing with no problem He cares about his clients . I highly recommend Benjamin Hill .

  4. Excellent Attorney, Sensitive and readily avaible to address your concerns.

    Posted by Alok, a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Hill.
    • I hired Benjamin more than 3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.

    Mr Hill was readily available and sensitive to address my concerns and questions during our consultation. He took ample time to assess the entirety of my situation, while understanding the importance of privacy. I would highly recommend his advice regarding matters that may persist towards anyone, involved in either a civil or non-civil matter. He understands the court system well, and will diligently be able to provide both referrals and references as needed. I give Mr Hill a five star rating!

  5. Ben's "turn around" time for drafting these documents was less than ten days! Highly recommend him..

    Posted by Michael, a Media client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Hill.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Communications / Media matter.

    Before my startup company launched its website, I asked Ben Hill to draft the website's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Since this was not my first commercial website, I was surprised and impressed by the number of potential legal issues that he had the foresight/experience to address in those documents. Not only were these documents comprehensive, Ben's "turn around" time for drafting these documents was less than ten days!

  6. Employment Client

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Hill.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    It's no secret that California law favors the employee over the employer. I was hesitant to let an employee go even when it was obvious that the employee was not the right fit for the position. I retained Ben Hill to assess the situation and tell me what options were available for my company. Ben identified the contractual grounds for termination, explained what would happen if the employee applied for unemployment and proposed the structure for a severance package. He gave my company the information and the strategy needed to make the transition as smooth and effectively as possible. The employee moved on without any hard feelings and we parted ways in a professional fashion thanks to Ben.

    Thanks again,

  7. Confidence and Support

    Posted by Robert, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Hill.
    • I hired Benjamin more than 3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Business matter.

    I was briefed by Ben on a case that I was involved in and found him extremely ethical, professional and caring.
    His expertise and knowledge of the case facts and its legal procedures were spot on.
    If I was to ever in need of an attorney for any reason I would want want like Ben.

    Rej

  8. Very pleased with the result

    Posted by youngjin, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Hill.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    A former employee filed a retaliation claim against my company, and I retained the services of Ben Hill.  When my company was served with subpoenas, Ben personally came here to discuss each request with me so that I understood exactly what was being asked and how we would be responding to each request.  Not only did Ben help settle the case, there was still money left in my initial retainer.  Great and cost-effective service!

  9. Good Exp Lawyer

    Posted by Justin, a Trademark client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Hill.
    • I hired Benjamin 1-3 years ago.
    • Benjamin handled my Trademark Infringement matter.

    A former licensee of my company's trademark continued using my company's trademark after the license agreement had expired. When she ignored my demand letters, my company sued her for trademark infringement. When the ex-licensee recognized what awaited her in Court, she agreed to cease and desist from using my company's mark. Still, that left the issue of the money that my company spent pursuing this matter. Always looking for new approaches, Ben discovered a way to have the ex-licensee's general liability insurance cover those costs. Ben's persistence and creativity delivered results

  10. Reaching a Reasonable Settlement

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Benjamin Hill.
    • Benjamin handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    My company and I were sued by a former independent contractor who claimed that he was actually an employee. Although I was willing to settle initially, his settlement demand was so high that I was forced to fight the case. Ben was able to have the case ordered to arbitration. Since Ben cc'd me on all correspondence to the other side, I could read how he would isolate and expose the soft spots in the plaintiff's case. After a while, the plaintiff wasn't so confident about his case, and we reached a reasonable settlement agreement.