Barton Michael Pokras’s Reviews

Barton Michael Pokras

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Ethical and Tough

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barton Pokras.
    • I hired Barton 1-3 years ago.
    • Barton handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Barton is a wonderful human being to have in your corner through a tumultuous and emotional divorce proceeding. Before hiring Barton I asked him to keep the focus on my daughter's future interests, and not get distracted by the emotional roller coaster. He did just that~! My daughter's future was preserved as I intended thanks to Barton's perseverance and patience through the proceedings. I highly recommend Barton.

  2. Best outcome ever!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barton Pokras.
    • I hired Barton 6-12 months ago.
    • Barton handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Pokras and his staff are second to none. He is extremely knowledgeable and helpful on a legal as well as a personal level. Barton exceeded all of my expectations as my divorce attorney. In a case that can only be described as "difficult", his professional demeanor and patience with the other party was a breath of fresh air. I would highly recommend Mr. Pokras to anyone seeking legal counsel in relation to a divorce or separation.

  3. Truly a first rate Attorney

    Posted by Gretchen, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barton Pokras.
    • I hired Barton 1-3 years ago.
    • Barton handled my Child Custody matter.

    Barton Pokras was the first Attorney who actually listened to me and took the time to understand what was truly going on with my custody matter. He was professional, kind, and really cared about what happened with my case. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for an attorney with experience and integrity.

  4. Much more than a great Divorce Attorney!

    Posted by Charlotte, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barton Pokras.
    • I hired Barton 1-3 years ago.
    • Barton handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Barton not only led me through the divorce process in a professional and timely manner, he acted as my "armchair psychologist" - allowing me to vent and cry on his shoulder. He and his wife even attended my second wedding, one year later!
    I also had Barton prepare my Trust, giving me excellent advice along the way.

  5. Much needed calm and patience

    Posted by Erin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Barton Pokras.
    • I hired Barton 1-3 years ago.
    • Barton handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I utilized the services of Pokras Law as a preliminary step in my divorce process. While Barton didn't ultimately negotiate the settlement, he was integral in setting me on the right path. I would recommend him and his staff for any couple who are suited to the arbitration process.

  6. Highly Recommended!

    Posted by Chuck, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barton Pokras.
    • I hired Barton more than 3 years ago.
    • Barton handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After my ex-spouse made a custody change without discussing with me, I contacted Mr. Pokras.He immediately understood the urgency of my case, had paperwork complete the same night and a court hearing for early the following week. Not that there are winners/losers in family court, but with Mr. Pokras' help we were 3 for 3. I was amazed (after the fact) to find out how well known he is and more importantly how well respected he is by judge's and staff in Ventura County. What I liked most was he listened to me, allowed me to proceed without mudslinging and just went above and beyond.

  7. Barton Pokras is an exceptional divorce attorney and person

    Posted by Sandy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barton Pokras.
    • I hired Barton more than 3 years ago.
    • Barton handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Barton Pokras was, and is, a God send! He was highly professional, remarkably proficient in the law and all its nuances, and persistently resolved in achieving what was equitable with incredibly creativeness, especially in the courtroom. Yet never did I once feel like another revenue client. Mr. Pokras called me often just to see how I was doing....on HIS time. His incredible wisdom, patience and counseling regarding my emotions and situation have proved invaluable. And along with his sincere compassion for me as a person, he shattered the perceived mold of a typical lawyer. Although I did not want the divorce, Mr. Pokras kept the painful event to a minimum by finalizing the divorce in 4 1/2 months from the time I retained him. As a skilled mediator, I highly recommend Mr. Pokras to anyone who wants justice to prevail...and a rock to hold on to.

  8. Thanks Barton!

    Posted by Peter, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barton Pokras.
    • I hired Barton more than 3 years ago.
    • Barton handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    My experience with Barton Pokras started out great and just got better! At the outset, he was able to put me at ease during a very difficult divorce process. His expertise was evident immediately. More importantly, he was an engaged advocate committed to protecting my position throughout a lengthy negotiation with my ex-wife and her counsel. He paid sincere attention to my biggest concerns and never let anything "fall through the cracks." Basically, my wife left me after 22 years of marriage. My greatest fear was that I would have to pay large sums of alimony for a very long time. Miraculously, Barton somehow convinced all concerned that no alimony payments would be appropriate (that's right - zero!) largely on the argument that I was committed to finishing the job of putting ours sons through college in theses difficult economic times. His measured, consistent, calm approach finally won the day and I will forever be grateful. Choosing Barton Pokras as my attorney was one of the best decisions I have ever made! He operates as a true fiduciary for his clients and I am very proud to recommend his services.

  9. Not the best experience

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Barton Pokras.
    • I hired Barton more than 3 years ago.
    • Barton handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband and I went to Mr. Pokras for a very simple, non-contested divorce. What should have been a simple 6 month process turned into a process that took over a year. At first I was patient with Mr. Pokras, but it was necessary for me to get very upset in order to finally get the final judgment filed. He would promise to send papers and they woud not be sent. Had I not kept after Mr. Pokras I fear I would still not have my divorce. If I had it to do over again I would have done more research and found another mediator