Steven Brian Chroman’s Reviews

Steven Brian Chroman

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Everything I Needed

    Posted by Anabelle, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chroman.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Chroman was my THIRD attorney after my divorce. Divorce is a personal hell that I do not wish on anyone. It's a heart wrenching process that takes years to finalize and even longer to get over. Occasionally I still feel some of the effects that my divorce has on me. I came to Mr. Chroman with little hope but with great determination to right the wrongs in my situation. He immediately assisted me in getting a court date and fixing the precarious circumstances I was in.

    Attention to Detail:
    Without divulging the personal details of my own divorce, I will say that he was attentive to the details I found important but was able to weed through the emotional nonsense and was straightforward with how to handle my position, something I appreciated greatly.

    Swift Results:
    I found Mr. Chroman after my final judgment was made. It was amazing how much was not included in my judgment that should have been. He was able to stipulate new orders quickly and work with the court in a way that I was unable. I had very little hope in fixing anything since my last appearance that had me paying out child support, but with his help he was able to turn that around and justifiably so.

    Compassion:
    Mr. Chroman is upfront and tells you what you need to know and how to handle your situation. Often times it's not something that you want to hear, but the advice comes with over 15 years of experience that I didn't have but seriously needed. Following what I needed to do didn't come without some tongue biting but in the end it turned out as he said it would. Yet, through it all, he was compassionate about my state of affairs and understood that it's easier said than done, he listened to me gripe and cry about all that was done wrong to me (so I thought) and helped me see how to help myself and move-on which was something I truly needed more than anything else.

    Work Ethic:
    I am now employed by Mr. Chroman's office and I able to see a new side of divorce that I wasn't able to prior. Watching him fight case after case for people that were just like me is inspiring. He is working before I come in, always through lunch and is here into the late evening. That is the kind of dedication that you would want from an attorney and I am thankful that I found him as mine. I didn't know what I was doing years ago and watching him help people day after day also helps me assist people that call in and need help, too. I feel their pain and have compassion for anyone that goes through this distressing situation.

  2. Stellar

    Posted by Steve, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chroman.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    It became obvious that a very contentious divorce was problematic on a number of issues, mostly related to cash and some possessions. This went on for months and, after weeks in mediation, things were no better than they had been.

    Mr Chroman came highly recommended by a close friend who was in a similar situation and, in short order, it became clear that he was not only up to the job, but also offered a few things that I had not experienced before with attorneys.

    He is very patient when answering questions, and exceptionally good at communicating important information in a way that is easily understood. He is also very effective, understands priorities, and acts on them accordingly. He is also a great guy who is honest, and can take a lot of the stress out of situations.

    I recommend Mr Chroman with complete confidence, and without reservation.

  3. 100 Stars For Steven B. Chroman

    Posted by Kathleen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chroman.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    The Best Attorney Money Can Buy
    Last summer, I was unexpectedly served with dissolution papers after my ex decided to moved in with his much younger girlfriend. I was a mess but knew it was critical for me to choose a lawyer who was tough, yet knowledgeable in family law, My future well-being was at stake - I stood to lose it all. I took a chance and put Mr. Chroman's expertise in custody and settlement negotiations to the test! I’m happy to report that Steven exceeded all of my expectations, tenfold. He was the voice of reason at a time when my emotions were running rampant. His 20 years of divorce law experience saved me and my 10-year-old daughter from an otherwise grim and hopeless future. Steven not only has a great reputation in the community, he is well respected by his fellow lawyers. This was evident each time we went to court, many of the attorneys came up to Steve and asked him legal questions. After witnessing his peers seeking advice from Steven, I knew I had hired the right attorney. Steven knows how to handle every possible situation, his no nonsense approach, and knowledge of divorce law, puts him way above the rest and his fees are reasonable. Did you hear this? Steven doesn’t nickel and dime his clients for every envelope, copy, and paper clip. His monthly bill was way lower than what I was expecting to pay – this is rare, folks! Steven is a man of great integrity, he will not create unnecessary conflict between parties in order to prolong the litigation.

    I cannot emphasis enough, how important it is to hire the right attorney in a divorce case. The resolution of your case will have a lasting impact on your children, finances and future life style. You have one shot to do it right, hiring the wrong attorney could be fatal, there is no turning back after the judge makes his/her ruling. Get it right – don’t hesitate – hire Steven B. Chroman, the ideal divorce attorney, you ‘ll thank me afterwards.

    I Strongly Recommend Steven Chroman. He is simply, one of the GREATS.

  4. The Attorney for me

    Posted by Zeke, actual client, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chroman.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Alimony matter.

    When I went to write this I read through the other reviews. I'm shocked by some of the others.
    I've been down this road with a couple of friends sharing their experiences too. Listen, your attorney is not your personal assistant. They go to court where they can't answer phones all day. They can't respond to 50 text messages an hour. They can't force judges to make the right decisions. They can't undo your stupid mistakes from when you either didn't listen or did something without them. So knowing that what I can say? I listened. I didn't waste his time or my money with non sense bs that I knew would only get me in the hole. Mr. Chroman was always prepared. He had the better argument and sometimes the judge just did a big FU to me because I'm a guy. Didn't blame my attorney I blame the messed up system. I found my attorney respected me, stood up for me, and gave me no bs. This guy is the real deal. I think a lot of the other reviews are from the needy consumed over zealous types who think its always someone else's fault. I'm happy with my choice to have hired Mr. Chroman and would recommend him to anyone.

  5. I am not a happy client

    Posted by patrick cox, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Steven Chroman.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I used this guy for three years for a divorce case, it was an awful experience dealing with him. He was frequently wrong and always unprepared for court proceedings. You could never get hold of him or get him to respond to e mails but the bills kept coming him. After frequent losses. in court (not one victory in 3 years) He shrugs his shoulders and says oh well . He seemed to have no plan what so ever to deal with my ex wife s attorney. He failed to pursue valid assets that were mine at the time of the divorce this guy cost me my life savings with payments to the wife at over 6k after three years of litigation . He has no follow through and will lie about what he is doing for you. I would pass on selecting this guy who is a total waste of time. I was an actual client who now has more problems today than I did three years ago I have been trying to get hold of him but get no answer after 2 weeks of trying, !!! .

  6. A GIFT FROM HEAVEN

    Posted by Christine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chroman.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I'm currently at the pre-trial stage of an emotionally charged divorce. Initially, I hired a family law "Firm" who started off great, then eventually assigned a first year lawyer to handle my case. The “Firm” charged me tens of thousands of dollars for legal research, worthless motions, and on-the-job training fees. I was billed an exorbitant amount of hours, by a Rookie attorney who used my case as a crash-course class in Divorce Law. Fortunately, a well-respected colleague, who happens to be an attorney, suggested that I find new counsel. He highly recommended that I see Steven Chroman, and stated "This Guy Is Brilliant and Knows Divorce Law." Let me just say... “That “ Is An Understatement.

    During my Free consultation, I found that Mr. Chroman’s questions and advice were insightful and revealed an extremely sharp mind. His understanding of complex legal issues relevant to my case seemed vast. I was not at all surprised to learn that Steven wrote the book (Amazon Best Seller) titled “Save Time and Money Preparing For Divorce.

    I cannot possible say or write enough to fully express my admiration and sincere gratitude for what this man has done for me. From the get - go, Steven acted swiftly and completely turned my case around to where I'm finally in a favorable position. No longer am I getting railroaded by my unscrupulous X and his attorney. For months, they were violating court orders left and right, making my life a living hell. Steven stopped the madness and brought me immediate resolution. In court, Steven leaves no stone unturned, he covers every angle, asks the tough questions, and is undoubtedly the smartest and best prepared guy in the courtroom. I suppose the many years of trial experience have given Steven the ability and confidence needed to be the” Tiger” that he is, whenever arguing for his clients in Court.

    What makes this Man so very special is that he really cares about his clients, and balances his compassion with tough legal defense on their behalf. I couldn't be happier with the quality of representation I have received. Whenever I call and need to speak to Steven, he is often available immediately, and if he’s in the middle of something else he always returns my call promptly, without billing me for the sometimes lengthy time I have him on the phone. Let me add, that I respect Steven enough, to not take advantage of his kindness and generosity, like others have. I understand that Steven is my Attorney, and not my Personal Therapist. I limit my contact to him, only for those times when a matter needs his immediate attention. I trust him implicitly and know without a doubt that he’s on top of things.

    There are many obstacles and unknowns that we are faced with, when going through a divorce. The smartest thing we can do is to place ourselves in the best care possible and hope the facts and justice will prevail. I have written this lengthy review (a first) because I want everyone to know that I am in the best of hands, receiving exceptional representation, more than I could have hoped to have received.

    Finally, after years of waking up with knots in my stomach, facing an uncertain future, I now have hope again, all because of one man, my amazing attorney…. Steven B. Chroman.

    Steven You Are My Hero!
    Christine
    An Actual Real Client

  7. Help! I hope it gets better...

    Posted by Tera, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Steven Chroman.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I feel very sick right now that I paid this attorney a retainer of $3,500. I filed for divorce 2 months ago and was new at all this legal stuff. I was too embarrassed to ask my friends for a divorce attorney referral. I am a private person and wanted to handle things on my own. I saw Steven Chroman's ad in the Mag of Santa Clarita and I made an appt for a consultation. He seemed very knowledgable and personable when I met him and I was not mentally up to 'shopping around' for an attorney and so I retained his services. Right now, I am super frustrated. He is not returning calls, and not responding back to any of my e-mails. I am not receiving any spousal or child support and I'm feeling lost in the system. Maybe I am just one of many clients to him but this is my life and I really need advice on what to do.

    1. Steven Brian Chroman

      Steven Chroman

      Lawyer Comment:

      It is exceptionally disconcerting and disappointing that anyone can write anything on this website without the site first verifying the person and the content of thier comments. My office has never represented anyone by the name Tera. My office has never represented this person in the past one ot six months. My office as you can view from the State Bar of California website does not have any disciplinary actions. It is irresponsible to allow anyone to post anything, regardless of how it impacts a persons character and reputation. I offer this person to contact me directly to discuss his or her representations stated in this posting. II am certian this will fall on deaf ears because the poster of this comentary does not exist.

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

    2. Steven Brian Chroman

      Steven Chroman

      Lawyer Comment:

      It is exceptionally disconcerting and disappointing that anyone can write anything on this website without the site first verifying the person and the content of thier comments. My office has never represented anyone by the name Tera. My office has never represented this person in the past one ot six months. My office as you can view from the State Bar of California website does not have any disciplinary actions. It is irresponsible to allow anyone to post anything, regardless of how it impacts a persons character and reputation. I offer this person to contact me directly to discuss his or her representations stated in this posting. I am certain this will fall on deaf ears because the poster of this comentary does not exist.

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  8. if you are thinking of hiring this guy run dont walk the other way

    Posted by mike,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Steven Chroman.

    I hired Chroman for my divorce, what a mistake. As soon as he had my retainer he would not return calls, and the one document he drew up was useless and thrown away by my new lawyer. He did nothing, but kept the entire retainer.After I fired him and got a new lawyer what a difference. I now have some one representing me which I did not have with Chroman. There are to many lawyers out there.Do not waste your time and money on this guy.

    1. Steven Brian Chroman

      Steven Chroman

      Lawyer Comment:

      It is exceptionally disconcerting and disappointing that anyone can write anything on this website without the site first verifying the person and the content of their comments. My office has never represented anyone by the name Mike. My office has never represented this person in the past one month. My office as you can view from the State Bar of California website does not have any disciplinary actions. It is irresponsible to allow anyone to post anything, regardless of how it impacts a persons character and reputation. I offer this person the opportunity to contact me directly to discuss his or her representations stated in this posting. I am certain this will fall on deaf ears because the poster of this commentary does not exist. I have never kept a retainer that was not earned. This is how I am certain that this poster is fake and simply a poor excuse of a way to attack my strong reputation in the community and many years of untarnished practice. Again, I welcome you to contact me Mike, however, I am certain you never will.

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  9. A good man to have on your side

    Posted by Bonnie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chroman.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.

    Found Mr. Chroman through an ad in the local Santa Clarita magazine. Whether you like it or not, you are going to have to have some sort of a connection with your attorney because you will be talking to them all the time.
    My situation started out as your typical separation heading to divorce, when things got rather ugly. Mr. Chroman already had my confidence, but the way he handled my case moving forward is what convinced me to leave a review. When your attorney goes above and beyond your expectations you owe the community a chance to know about it.
    Good communication, gets the job done, doesn't have outrageous billing fees.
    Mr. Chroman has my recommendation.
    Thank you.

  10. Flexible and Trustworthy

    Posted by Sarah, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chroman.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have kids. Sometimes I can't make an appointment or have to change last minute to a new time. Mr. Chroman has been great about being flexible and working with me. I appreciate that more than I could ever say. When looking for an attorney, be sure they don't have that last minute cancellation billing, don't bill you for every text, or paperclip. I mean, l know they have to make money but at what cost to the clients. I came out of a meeting the other day with my soon to be ex's and we talked about how his attorney just won't budge on anything. He can see now that his attorney is just trying to milk him for every penny rather than do what is best for the case. I almost feel bad for him. Almost.
    Mr. Chroman is someone I would recommend to a friend.