James Thomas Neavitt’s Reviews

James Thomas Neavitt

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Family Law attorney

    Posted by Ben, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Neavitt.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.

    Mr. Neavitt was an excellent choice for my custody case matter. I had previously worked with Jarvis, Kreager and Sullivan, a supposedly "big name" in the local Family Law scene, but everything about Mr. Neavitt and his staff was an improvement over that much larger firm. Mr. Neavitt's staff prepared my court filings and did an excellent job from the beginning, and they took the time to get to know my case so that they could effectively communicate my arguments. This was a big deal for me, because the staff at Jarvis did a terrible job, and my wife and I were eventually forced to prepare all of the documents ourselves. On the day of the actual court appearance, Mr. Neavitt was clearly in charge. He seemed to give off an air of competency and control that was felt by everyone, including and especially opposing counsel. I would recommend his office highly to anyone looking to settle a Family Law case.

  2. Trustworthy and Knowledgeable

    Posted by Laura, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Neavitt.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James Neavitt went over and beyond the call of duty! He helped me and my children through one of the most dark and difficult times of our lives. He is knowledgeable and trustworthy. The divorce and custody battle went on for two years, with many issues continuing over time! He is always there for us. He also had excellent referrals and helps for many issues and needs that come along with divorce. His staff is awesome! They are patient, kind, professional and helpful. They explain things that might be going on and they calmly inform you of things that will be happening.
    Going to court was SO stressful and scary to me. Jim , was always prepared, and explained what would /or could happen. He cared for my children and me and what was important for our needs and desires. I always felt he was respected by the court. We would never have made it without the help , wisdom and protection of James T. Neavitt and his amazing staff. May God continue to bless them all.

  3. Thank you from one very happy single mom!!!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Neavitt.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Neavitt was my attorney on a complex domestic violence and child custody dispute, and support matter. My complex custody issues included substance abuse, domestic violence and mental illness, all of which Mr. Neavitt skillfully reported to the court over vigorous opposition. I was granted domestic violence temporary restraining orders. The support issues were complex because my husband (self-employed) has refused to produce discovery and any financial information. Mr. Neavitt was able to focus the court's attention directly on these matters, despite the smoke & mirrors & misdirection of my husband and his legal counsel. The result of the hearing was 100% in my favor. Mr. Neavitt's skill, knowledge and Family Law expertise have been well worth the money that I have paid him thus far, and the $25K attorney fee award which he was able to obtain for me yesterday will go a long way toward continuing my legal representation and obtaining a fair distribution of our assets. I am a single mom, on a limited income, and Mr. Neavitt really fought for me. P.S. Mr. Neavitt's staff is fabulous to work with, especially Julie, Claudia and Sue!!

  4. Business owner and single dad.

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Neavitt.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jim was able to settle my case quickly and save me thousands of dollars. He knows how to work with other attorneys. My course had to got to trial and Jim was very prepared and knew exactly what facts and laws were relevant to achieving a great outcome.

  5. Divorce/child custody client

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Neavitt.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Neavitt represented me through a lengthy divorce litigation and continuing child custody litigation. He was realistic at all stages, and always made it clear that divorce litigants and parents in child custody matters never get everything they want or think they deserve. His expert advise and counsel made the outcome more acceptable.

  6. Aggressive, Honest, Very Protective, Extreme High Level of Constant Communication with Client. Very Realistic

    Posted by Ronald, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Neavitt.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Seventeen years active in the court system from a thirteen year marriage. Trying to eliminate life time support and get justice when co-habitation has been recognized by the courts with no justification to terminate this nightmare. Stayed true blue with one attorney from the beginning and after 17 years in the same court room and spending $100,000's of thousand's of dollars with no closure in sight, it was time to change attorneys.

    I hired James Neavitt who reviewed the case, changed the course of direction and CLOSED THE CASE in THREE WEEKS ! Mr. Neavitt explained a new direction to me in detail we had to take to end this nightmare. For the first time, I felt protected, I felt that someone care about me and was determined to have immediate closure for me so that I could live my life in peace.

  7. Only out to collect money, not help the children of divorce

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Neavitt.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This lawyer kept re-writing the order after hearing for months, should have taken a week. He made changes we didn't want then charged us to correct it. The delays allowed the apposing council to build a case, where we are now back to court for a new trial. Bottom line is that we are lossing our previous 80% custody, and will soon be left with 50% if lucky. Our daughter is the one suffering while he kept charging us for work we didn't want, instead of closing the case with a judgement.

  8. experience, competence, and dedication

    Posted by Peggy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Neavitt.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Neavitt effectively litigated my very complex and challenging divorce, that our Judge called "the most contentious case" he has ever presided over. He demonstrated an extensive knowledge of the law and helped me to prevail against an extremely litigious and relentless adversary. You can count on Jim and his supportive and competent staff to have the ability and determination to handle complicated and even hostile situations. He does not back down when the going gets tough!

  9. Honest Attorney

    Posted by Cynthia, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Neavitt.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I dealt with Mr. Neavitt regarding my divorce and child custody. He was extremely knowledgeable and kept me abreast of any upcoming issues. He was fair in his legal fees and honest with me in regards to the outcome. I highly recommend him in representing your case.

  10. Jim KNOWS Family LAW in Southern California!

    Posted by Chris, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Neavitt.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jim has an excellent fund of knowledge on family law. He knew the challenges we would face also. Jim does not "mince words" and he will tell you "LIKE IT IS"...sometimes you would rather not hear it but you need to. I prefer that.