Raffy Mikaelian Boulgourjian’s Reviews

Raffy Mikaelian Boulgourjian

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Partition Case Client

    Posted by Sarah, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raffy Boulgourjian.
    • I hired Raffy 1-3 years ago.
    • Raffy handled my Real Estate matter.

    I retained Mr. Boulgourjian to assist me with a complex real estate case over a year ago. I was previously represented by another attorney but my case ended up evolving further than initially expected and I found myself needing more of a litigation attorney. I was thus referred to Mr. Boulgourjian by one of his colleagues. There were many intricate facets to my case none more prevalent than the fact that I was suing a family member. Throughout the whole process Mr. Boulgourjian not only remainded extremely professional but was so comforting and understanding. As the case took its course, there were so many questions and concerns I had. Each time I brought one to his attention he was so informative and took his time explaining to me what to expect. One of the most reassuring aspects of our relationship was that he was always available. Whether it was email, phone, fax, or mail Mr. Boulgourjian never made me feel that I was not his main priority. I was also pleasantly surprised to find out that his fees were so fair and not at all inflated like so many other attorneys tend to do. After about a year my case was finally resolved. Throughout that time, Mr. Boulgourjian proved himself to be a man of such great integrity, knowledge, and humility. I am so very thankful for his help and friendship!

  2. Saved My Financial Future

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raffy Boulgourjian.
    • I hired Raffy more than 3 years ago.
    • Raffy handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I purchased a house in late 2005 that was financed with a 7/1 hybrid ARM loan with an initial seven year interest only period. Not only was my timing bad, but the house turned out to be the proverbial "house from hell" and required approximately $75K in repairs and updates that I financed primarily with draws on my HELOC. Fast forward five years and the situation wasn't pretty - the house was worth $450K less than I paid for it, I was $250K "underwater" on my mortgages (which made refinancing impossible) and my first mortgage mortgage payments were scheduled to increase 25-40% in two years.

    I knew that my lenders weren't going to voluntarily modify my loans but I needed objective advice on assessing my options. Litigating with my lenders to seek debt relief, walking from the house and pursuing a short sale or deed in lieu of foreclosure all seemed like viable alternatives but I didn't have the experience to evaluate these options as there were so many issues to consider. If I sued my lenders would they come to the negotiating table or dig in their heels out of concern regarding the moral hazard? Would my lenders agree to a short sale that made economic sense or would they expect me to sign a note for the deficiency? If I wanted to pursue a short sale would I get a better result by having an attorney negotiate on my behalf? As an attorney I could spot these issues but I didn't have the personal experience to handicap the potential outcomes.

    Being self-conscious of my predicament and not knowing any peers that had been in my situation I decided to use the internet to find an attorney experienced in residential mortgage issues. I read several of Raffy's posted responses to questions from borrowers and thought that they showed sound logic and good judgment so I decided to give him shot.

    I knew from my first meeting with Raffy that I chose the right attorney. During my initial consultation with Raffy he convinced me that short sale was my best option even though I was predisposed to litigate and litigation would have been in his economic interest. Raffy also convinced me that a real estate agent that specialized in short sales could negotiate as good an outcome as he could. Raffy even referred me to such a real estate agent.

    I retained Raffy to represent me in the short sale process to ensure that I could obtain objective advice through the short sale process rather than relying solely upon my real estate agent. Five months after first meeting with Raffy I was out from under my house and approximately $200K of the $250K that I was underwater. I also have the comfort of knowing that I have been advised by competent counsel that my lender cannot pursue a deficiency judgment against me. And for all of the benefits of this outcome, Raffy was incredibly efficient with his time. During the entire five month process I was billed less than $500.

    I have worked with dozens of attorneys over the course of my career and Raffy ranks among the best. I can't imagine another attorney that could have done a better job of guiding me through my situation and reaching a successful resolution.

  3. Most understanding and sensitive attorney I have ever met who also did the best job on our case!!!

    Posted by Daniel, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raffy Boulgourjian.
    • I hired Raffy more than 3 years ago.
    • Raffy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Raffy through a recommendation of a friend. My wife and I sat down with him to discuss what our specific situation was. It was quite complicated and involved a lot of family problems and sensitive matters. Raffy listened to us and gave us a sense of peace in the midst of all the chaos. Raffy turned a complicated situation into a organized and calm situation. He listened to every question we had and was readily available through phone, email, and even at times gmail chat. He did not charge for every single question or email and only for work directly related to the case like drafting a declaration or making an appearance in court. I have worked with attorneys who charge for everything, and do a lousy job. Many attorneys get a bad rap, but Raffy clearly sets a great example of how an attorney should be. Raffy not only counseled us with his legal expertise, but comforted us with his care and attention. In the end we won our judgement and gave us a great sense of closure. I would trust my parents, kids, and closest friends to Raffy and know he would treat them just like he treated me and my wife. If you have any kind of legal problem give him a call he most likely will make things a lot less chaotic.

  4. What a relief!

    Posted by Angie, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raffy Boulgourjian.
    • I hired Raffy more than 3 years ago.
    • Raffy handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had been a landlord for 8 years before having to deal with an eviction. After a great deal of frustration trying to handle it myself, I sought help from Raffy. I appreciated his friendly service and prompt responses.

  5. Great Service

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raffy Boulgourjian.
    • I hired Raffy more than 3 years ago.
    • Raffy handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Raffy kept me informed throughout our case and answered all of the questions I had. He is patient and understanding. I recommend his services.

  6. Raffy Boulgourjian truly cares about his clients and is in it to win it!

    Posted by Jessica, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raffy Boulgourjian.
    • I hired Raffy more than 3 years ago.
    • Raffy handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Boulgourjian represented my parents in a case that involved fraud. Since our first meeting with him we knew we had found the right lawyer. He listened to our case and immediately told us he could help . He always kept us informed on the progress and was very easy to get a hold of if we had any questions. Thanks to his services and knowledge we were very successful! We highly recommend him to anyone who is looking for a honest, caring and efficient lawyer!

  7. A bright personable attorney who really cares

    Posted by Larry, a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raffy Boulgourjian.
    • I hired Raffy more than 3 years ago.
    • Raffy handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Raffy Boulgourjian has proven to be a knowledgeable and caring individual. He kept me informed step by step through the legal process to a successful conclusion. I would highly recommend him.

  8. Raffy Boulgourjian is a valuable asset to his profession

    Posted by SIRVART, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raffy Boulgourjian.
    • I hired Raffy more than 3 years ago.
    • Raffy handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    From the first time I contacted him, I was able to receive prompt response to my e-mails and phone messages. Whenever I called him in a panic, he was able to calm me down and meet with me even when I was stuck in traffic and late for our appointment. After hearing our case, he was very honest with what he could do and could not do for us. With his guidance and valuable inputs, we have achiveved a positive outcome with our home mortgage company.
    In conclusion, he is one of the very few lawyers that I have known who made me feel like I was the most important thing on his agenda for that moment rather than something he had to rush through to go his next meeting since my hour was almost up. I recommend him very highly.

  9. A man of integrity who cares.

    Posted by Annie, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raffy Boulgourjian.
    • I hired Raffy more than 3 years ago.
    • Raffy handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Bottom line is that when someone needs a lawyer they are usually in critical condition with a certain situation. I must say that Raffy Boulgourjian was exceptional with his handling of my case. He was honest even when I didn't want to hear the truth and he listened. He expedited everything quickly and got the results I could have never achieved without him. Although I am still a bit upset about my experience, Raffy made the mountain a lot easier to climb. He took my case as if it was his own. I felt his compassion through our phone calls and even when I met him for the first time. There are too many deceptive, and money hungry people that don't give a darn about anyone but thenselves. Raffy restored my faith in lawyers and I appreciate his hard work an I am still enjoying my...our victory!

  10. He's a keeper

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raffy Boulgourjian.
    • I hired Raffy more than 3 years ago.
    • Raffy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Extremely helpful, made himself available at my convenience, flexible and answered all my questions whether by phone or email.