Deborah Lynne Karapetian’s Reviews

Deborah Lynne Karapetian

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. “Very knowledgeable, experienced and detail oriented.”

    Posted by MUZAMIL MOHAMMED,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Karapetian.

    “Very knowledgeable, experienced and detail oriented.” I went to her for a consultation for GC thru spouse. She was very knowledgeable and knows what she was dealing with. She asked me some questions related to certain things because she knew there would be problems if those things aren't met, which clearly says her experience in working in these kind of cases and anticipating issues with those scenarios and i assume she is well capable to handle those. I strongly agree in her capabilities, knowledge and experience.

  2. Look for Another Lawyer

    Posted by Lynn, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Deborah Karapetian.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Don't trust her. Read the other bad reviews. She took my money and did nothing. I was trying to file for a green card, Deborah Karapetian made a big mistake on the paperwork and the application got sent back. She said it was my fault and refused to fix it without more money. I went to a different lawyer and he said it was her fault for putting in the wrong information. She will not return your phone calls. I would avoid this lawyer if you have the chance.

  3. She is a liar!

    Posted by Sandi, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Deborah Karapetian.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Deborah took my son's who is a Marine Veteran's retainer money and did no work. We contacted the Los Angeles Bar Association and they awarded us our full retainer back plus $125.00 for her complete lies and incompetence. Deborah the money is overdue and if you don't pay it you risk losing you license to practice law.

  4. Lawyer and Friend combined

    Posted by Ferdous, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Karapetian.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    100% for her, anything I can do for her I will be ready to do without hesitation... She is that good.

  5. Immigration

    Posted by FERDOUS, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Karapetian.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Deborah works with you not work for you. I am not sure I need to write any further. When you pay an attorney, you expect them to do certain things but she works with you to help you resolve your case as she did for my 13 years old case. You cannot simply pay her enough for the service she provides. In addition, normally we (not all) forget our friend until we need them and only then you look for that friend who can really help. Like, now, after she resolved my so old case then what kind of gratitude I showed nothing...l am extremely sorry Deborah. Without you, I would not have had my status change and now that I need your help solving another critical case who do I look for, You, because you are the best. Any one reading this, I cannot write all the things she did for me so; call me I certainly will vote for her. I went through five attorney, governor, senators and none could help but Deborah... my true friend. THANK YOU even though it is never enough but again THANK YOU

  6. She took our money and never filed.

    Posted by Sandi, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Deborah Karapetian.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We hired Deborah July 21, 2012 do contest an adoption for our son who is a Marine who is currently deployed, she took our retainer and was good about communicating what she was going to do, but never did. The last time I spoke with her was Aug 3, 2012 and she will not return repeated phone calls, we've asked for our retainer back, and still nothing. She has done little or nothing for our case and I think she took us. We need our retainer to hire an attorney who will at least file something in our case. We our completely disgusted with this conduct.. This is a very time sensitive issue and we know the longer nothing is filed the worse our chances of getting our grandson back.

  7. Finally and honest attorney!

    Posted by Maria, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Karapetian.
    • I hired Deborah more than 3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I went into this law office to discuss my immigration case about a month ago. When I went in, everyone was so nice and helpful. The receptionist asked that I fill out a short questionnaire form so that the basic questions be answered saving more time for my important questions. Everything was very easy to understand. Right on top of the questionnaire form it broke down the consultation fee, there would be no charge for my first 30 minute consultation. I even had to initial that i understood this.

    When I went into speak with attorney, Deborah, she was so nice and helpful. She explained the laws regarding my case and even pulled out her books to show me her resource! Prior to going to this office, I saw 2 other attorneys... neither of them did this, not to mention, these other attorneys charged a big fee to talk with them and did not give me the personal attention that Deborah gave to me.

    Deborah spoke to me in a language that I, not an attorney could easily understand. She even gave me examples from other cases she assisted in.. but of course, she did not provide me with any personal information. I left her office feeling hopeful for something to help me in the near future.

    Because of her examples and being really detailed in our meeting, we went over the free consultation period for about 20 minutes. She thanked me for coming in and specifically indicated that there would be no charge for the extra time and to call her in a few months to see if there were any changes in the law that would help my case. I was so surprised and really grateful for her honesty. She didn't make something up to help me with my case just to get money. She told me how it was, what the law says, and what I may be able to do in the future.

    My visit with this office was truly a great experience! I am definitely coming back once I can be helped!!

  8. Consultation with Deborah Karapetian

    Posted by Susan, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Karapetian.
    • I hired Deborah more than 3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I visited Deborah for a consultation as well. Her intake form says that she gives a 20 minute free consultation. From there, she charges. She is very straightforward, tells it like it is, and will often compare other people with similar problems to explain what is happening to the client. That is helpful. And she is fair about the consultations and pretty inexpensive compared to other lawyers that I visited.

818-553-8100