Tarek Shawky’s Reviews

Tarek Shawky

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Truly knows what he is doing!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tarek Shawky.
    • I hired Tarek 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been fortunate enough to trust my family by picking the best attorney I have ever experienced. I was prosecuted in San Bernardino County (which is a different county that Tarek is from) for a felony theft case with a strike prior. The police found the stolen property in my room and the DA wanted to send me to prison for 3 years, double my time at 85% because of the strike. I am on probation and parole as well. Tarek was able to negotiate a plea where I was released on probation and I'm now doing a rehab program instead of jail or prison. Tarek truly knows what he is doing. Thank You!

    1. Tarek Shawky

      Tarek Shawky

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks, it was my pleasure and i appreciate your business.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  2. I was his client, and I am displeased with his entire work.

    Posted by adel, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tarek Shawky.
    • I hired Tarek 1-3 years ago.
    • Tarek handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    He is one off the worst lawyers I've ever seen. Your ratings misled my decision to hire him as my lawyer; me and my friends hired him after reading his ratings on your website (9.6) at the time. He did me no good and he was unresponsive and unhelpful throughout my case. After the trial was over and I was released (not by his help) he refused to give me back the amount of money agreed on if I were to be released without his effort., and I was because my case was dropped by the other party. He refused to file several documents during the case even though I asked him to (the documents and findings were crucial to my case). I have the case number, all the evidence of my claims, and all paperwork if needed. A copy of eevrything has been submitted to the BAR.

  3. Winning Lawyer

    Posted by Mohammad, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tarek Shawky.
    • I hired Tarek 1-3 years ago.
    • Tarek handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Shawky was amazing in my time in need. He really helped me understand my options and walk me through the whole case. There was not a time during the case where I felt lost. He works really hard for you and I could not have picked a better attorney

    1. Tarek Shawky

      Tarek Shawky

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, I am glad I could help.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  4. Great Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tarek Shawky.

    Mr. Shawky was an unbelievable attorney. He always kept me informed and up to date as to what was going on with my case and was always updating me as to all my possible options and what the consequences would be with each option. Did a great job for me and the end result of my case.

  5. Smart, Kind, and a Winner.

    Posted by Asaad, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tarek Shawky.
    • I hired Tarek 1-3 years ago.
    • Tarek handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Smart, kind, and a winner. Most attorneys I have come across are either smart jerks who will get you what you want but you will hate dealing with them or they are nice but not very good at getting you what you want. Tarek is a rare breed. After explaining my story to him I felt instantly understood and respected, but more importantly I felt confidant that he would get me my desired result.

    1. Tarek Shawky

      Tarek Shawky

      Lawyer Comment:

      This was a very special and memorable case for me. It was an honor defending you and the first amendment.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  6. Review of Tarek Shawky

    Posted by Chris,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tarek Shawky.

    Tarek is an incredibly principled and skilled lawyer. He earned a reputation with other progressive lawyers in LA by being part of the Irvine 11 case and defending the free speech rights of students, which is how we knew to reach out to him after I was arrested at a protest in Pasadena. At first we had all foolishly saddled ourselves with something of an ambulance chaser lawyer, but Tarek helped us assemble a team of more professional lawyers to work on our case, almost all pro bono. Because Tarek believed in the principles of my case, he took it on for a vastly reduced fee and donated a lot of free labor to our case. He led our team of six lawyers as we fought the case for more than a year, and eventually got us the best deal that all of us were going to get together. I wish that I could have gone to trial with Tarek, but that's not always the simplest thing to do in bigger group cases.

    In short, Tarek is not a lawyer who is out there just to make money off of you. He is humble, motivated by a strong commitment to justice and will always stick by his principles.

    1. Tarek Shawky

      Tarek Shawky

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks Chris for trusting me. I appreciate your kind words and your business.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  7. GREAT LAWYER!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Tarek Shawky.
    • I hired Tarek 1-3 years ago.
    • Tarek handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Tarek when my brother was charged. Tarek was able to drop the charges after working very hard. He is extremely professional and has great communication skills. He knows the law very well and explains options very clearly. I highly recommend him to anyone. He did a great job and was recommended to me by a friend. I had also heard that he has been excellent with all his other clients!

  8. Tarek has renewed my faith in the legal process.

    Posted by Drew,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tarek Shawky.

    After talking with Tarek about the four felonies I had been charged with, he assured me that he could help and accepted my case. I had been poorly represented by another attorney in the past, but Tarek passed the gut check for me and made me feel confident from that first meeting. Tarek was thorough in helping me understand what was going on and was always on top of communicating with me any time of day. He was prompt to all court dates, was aggressive on my behalf, and ultimately got my four felonies dismissed. Could not have asked for better representation. Thank you, Tarek!

    1. Tarek Shawky

      Tarek Shawky

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks Drew. It's never easy to get a dismissal and even an innocent defendant (as in your case) needs someone to fight until justice is served. Thanks for your patience and for your business. Good luck!

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  9. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Laura,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tarek Shawky.
    • I hired Tarek 1-3 years ago.

    Mr. Shawky did an excellent job for my family. A friend recommended him. He was agressive on behalf of us in court and also well respected by the Judges and attorneys. He returned all calls promptly and always kept us informed about what was going on. Mr. Shawky went the extra mile for us on a tough case and got excellent results. Highly recommended.

    1. Tarek Shawky

      Tarek Shawky

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for the kind words, I appreciate it. It was my pleasure representing you. Please keep me in mind if anyone you know needs representation in criminal court.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  10. Personal, persistent and persuasive!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tarek Shawky.
    • I hired Tarek 1-3 years ago.
    • Tarek handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    This was my first experience in court, as a young adult arrested during a protest and Tarek Shawky provided amazing legal counsel and service! The respect and dignity I was shown was truly empowering.

    Throughout my experience, Mr. Shawky was very professional and timely with all of the preparations for the trial and I couldn't have asked for more attention to my questions and concerns. As I was largely concerned with concepts such as solidarity with other protesters arrested at the same protest and questioned the possible biases of the court, I realize I was very fortunate to have that type of attention and understanding with such atypical questions. Mr. Shawky even collaborated, as much as was legally appropriate, with the lawyer of my co-defendant to address our requests for solidarity.

    On top of his thorough and organized work, Mr. Shawky challenged the charges to the fullest extent even before they went to trial. I was provided with constant updates and Mr. Shawky was so persistent and persuasive that the prosecution dropped all of my original charges!

    I would highly recommend Tarek Shawky as a lawyer who will tenaciously defend clients with the full extent of his experience, expertise and integrity. I am honored to have been represented by such a genuine person and professional lawyer. I know emotive symbols aren't typically in professional reviews, but I really have no better way of ending my review than with a big smile and a heart of gratitude! :)!

    1. Tarek Shawky

      Tarek Shawky

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you. Protest cases are my favorite, especially when the the right to free speech is the only victim in the case, as in this one. It was an honor serving you and I will always remember this trial very fondly.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag