Jamaul Dmitri Cannon’s Reviews

Jamaul Dmitri Cannon

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Couldn't be happier

    Posted by Ken Watkins, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jamaul Cannon.
    • I hired Jamaul 6-12 months ago.
    • Jamaul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Cannon is a great attorney. If I could describe him in one word, I'd say "patient". I told him going in that I'd never been through divorce, and I'd probably ask him a bunch of "stupid questions." And even though some attorneys I spoke to claimed there's no such thing, Mr. Cannon was the only one who seemed like he meant it. He also walked me through every step of the process no matter how many other questions I gave him.

    He also helped to convince me to let go of a ton of bitterness I harbored towards my ex in order to work towards a better settlement for the sake of my kids. At the time, I didn't like him very much, but now, I'm very thankful I listened. All in all, I couldn't recommend him highly enough.

  2. not good news

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jamaul Cannon.
    • I hired Jamaul 1-6 months ago.
    • Jamaul handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was a client for jamual. He didn't for for me or my rights he won't return phone calls or e mails. If you are going through a bad divorce and need a attorney that will stand up for you this isn't the attorney for you

  3. Exceptional Attorney for LGBT issues

    Posted by Darryl McKenzie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jamaul Cannon.
    • I hired Jamaul 1-3 years ago.
    • Jamaul handled my Family matter.

    Mr. Cannon was unbelievable. When I first approached him regarding my wish to him to draft a registered domestic partnership for my partner three years ago, I thought he had a keen knowledge of same sex issues. When I went back to him after California finally legalized gay marriage, he helped draft our prenuptial agreement.

    Through both processes, Mr. Cannon simply treated my partner and I as if we were no different than any other clients. When there were certain issues that were specific to same sex couples he let us know, but by and large I admired his professionalism and insight. All in all, I couldn't recommend him enough.

  4. An outstanding attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jamaul Cannon.
    • I hired Jamaul 1-3 years ago.
    • Jamaul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    What every reviewer is saying about Jamaul Cannon is true: he is brilliant, professional, and courteous. I urge you to do yourself a favor and take this rare opportunity and hire Mr. Cannon. He is both a towering legal intellect as well as a considerate professional who will patiently explain his legal strategy and expectations.

    Before I met Jamaul, I had the misfortune of hiring another attorney to represent me in my recent divorce. My case involved a short-term marriage with no children nor assets in common. Nevertheless, my ex-wife, who is both well-educated and has extensive work experience, demanded a ridiculous amount of spousal support (approximately 50% of my salary). Not only was that other attorney as courteous as a DMV employee (he rarely returned my emails or phone calls), his legal strategy to defend my interests can best be summarized as "just lay on your stomach."

    Once I realized that my case was headed towards financial disaster, I decided to seek competent legal representation and I was lucky enough to find Jamaul. From the moment I met Jamaul, I realized that I was in the presence of a man who is in full command of the law. It took him but a few seconds to dismiss my previous attorney's 'surrender strategy' and he explained, in simple terms, why my ex-wife was not entitled to any spousal support. Against Jamaul's wishes, I eventually decided to settle with my ex-wife for a fraction of the support that she originally demanded.

    There is no question that Jamaul's formidable efforts were critical in saving me from a financial catastrophe. Although my case concluded months ago, I had postponed the writing of my comments because I refused to write a perfunctory, two-minute, review for a man who defended me with the tenacity and determination of a friend. Professionals like Mr. Cannon deserve to be recognized and it is with great pleasure that I wholeheartedly recommend him as your attorney.

  5. Great with Child Support

    Posted by Lawrence, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jamaul Cannon.
    • I hired Jamaul 1-3 years ago.
    • Jamaul handled my Child Support matter.

    When Mr. Cannon first told me that he had "connections" with the County Department of Child Support Services that could speed up a modification to a lower garnishment of my wages, it didn't believe him. I'd tried to get help from other lawyers and many quoted a lot more money to do less than what Mr. Cannon claimed. However, not only did he give me a flat fee quote to file a motion to lower support, true to his word, he somehow got the County to begin enforcing the new order almost immediately. When I used a lawyer before, it took over two months and that was after I had to call a million times. All in all, I was pleasantly pleased and I would highly recommend Mr. Cannon

  6. Just a great down to Earth Attorney

    Posted by Hector, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jamaul Cannon.
    • I hired Jamaul 1-3 years ago.
    • Jamaul handled my Family matter.

    Jamaul might be the most honest lawyer in the world. When we first met, he told me exactly what to expect through the entire divorce process. He told me I had to be realistic about things such as custody (I thought I could get sole custody), child support, and alimony (I didn't think my ex deserved any). Without being condescending Jamaul literally showed me the direct statutes in California that listed factors that courts use to determine these kinds of issues and I was informed why the court would probably rule against me on certain things I wanted. But Jamaul explained in such a common sense and helpful tone, I completely understood where he was coming from. When we got to court, however, Jamaul completely argued for all kinds of exceptions to the law and the judge actually accepted some of these and I managed to avoid paying spousal support.

    In all, even though he managed my expectations, Jamaul went to bat for me in the most aggressive manner imaginable. I cannot recommend him highly enough, he's a flat out exceptional attorney.

  7. 5 Star Review for 5 Star Lawyer

    Posted by Hector, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jamaul Cannon.
    • I hired Jamaul 1-3 years ago.
    • Jamaul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Fortunately (or unfortunately) I have the perspective of being divorced twice and having two different attorneys with totally different approaches. With my first divorce, even though I felt my attorney did an adequate enough job, I felt like I received virtually no personalized attention (or any attention at all since I could never get ahold of they guy). Things played out, I was happy about some things, mad about others, but over all, things went ok. But that's all I would say: things were ok.

    WIth Jamaul, he took a personal interest in my case from day one. His team is also second to none, Will is a great partner and just as knowledgeable. Ana is just about the friendliest legal assistant on the planet. She still won't go out with me, but I digress! At any rate, Jamaul was very aggressive against my ex-wife's attorney, never backed down, and always fought for me. He was so helpful and knowledgeable and he went out of his way to explain stuff that he's probably told others a million times, but he never was the slightest bit annoyed or bored. All in all, I can't recommend him highly enough.

  8. In one word..."BRILLIANT"

    Posted by Mike D., a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jamaul Cannon.
    • I hired Jamaul more than 3 years ago.
    • Jamaul handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jamaul is a virtual encyclopedia when it comes to the Family Code. I interviewed numerous so-called Family Law Specialists, who didn't seem to know half as much as he did (though they did want to charge me twice as much as he did). I used Jamaul both for a child custody hearing with my first wife as well as to handle a divorce 3 years later with my second wife. In both instances, he simply rolled up his sleeves, went to work and got me the best deal I probably could've had. Without a doubt, his empathy is second to none and I could not recommend him more highly.

  9. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Roberto, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jamaul Cannon.
    • I hired Jamaul more than 3 years ago.
    • Jamaul handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    In a word, Jamaul is flat out amazing. For years I though I would never be able to modify custody with my daughter so I thought he was pulling my leg when he said I had a really good shot at getting 50/50 custody. Heck, even when I went to mediation, the lady said I'd never be able to change custody. But we went to court and Jamaul's strategy worked. I was amazed and impressed, and I would recommend him to anyone. Heck, I already referred my brother to him and I'm sure he's doing a great job on his divorce as well. All in all, Jamaul's a great lawyer.

  10. Great knowledge, great perspective, great attorney

    Posted by Bernie, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jamaul Cannon.
    • I hired Jamaul 1-3 years ago.
    • Jamaul handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was a bit wary of using the internet to seek an attorney. However, after my divorce in New Jersey, my wife moved to California and almost immediately decided to sic Los Angeles County Child Support Services on me. Never mind that the ink was barely dry on my divorce...the same divorce in which my wife agreed to a set amount of money per month. Two months later, she was crying that "I left her with nothing" and that I needed to pay double what she originally agreed to under "guideline."

    I eventually happened upon Jamaul and he was unbelievably knowledgeable and friendly to my budget. While other attorneys wanted thousands in retainer fees and demanded that I pay a "double retainer" to go to both child support court and family court, Jamaul gave me one reasonable flat fee and told me he could take care of the matter with just one hearing. That is exactly what he did and although I felt completely ganged up on by the County, Jamaul fought for me rights and convinced the judge to dismiss my ex's petition for lack of jurisdiction (she hadn't lived in LA County long enough to even file). When my wife filed again, Jamaul got her request dismissed because of her failure to include certain financial documents. After failing twice, my wife finally gave up and accepted the same amount we originally decided upon. All in all, Jamaul was excellent and I would recommend him highly to anyone.