Ann Anat Gottesman’s Reviews

Ann Anat Gottesman

Average Rating

Based on 29 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DUI case dropped- Best criminal attorney in the area

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Gottesman.
    • I hired Ann 1-6 months ago.
    • Ann handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After being arrested in Pasadena for the first time in April and having no previous run-ins with the law, I immediately panicked!!! I spoke with a several attorneys that really didn't care much about what I had to say and the conversations felt very rushed; so I was discouraged in finding the right attorney to represent me. I then found attorney Gottesman through an advertisement online and I called her one late evening. To my surprise, she returned my call later that night outside of her office hours. She spoke with me and LISTENED to my concerns. After our conversation, attorney Gottesman put me at ease. I met with her later that week to further discuss my case and our meeting validated how trustworthy and attentive she truly is. She's one of those rare attorneys that genuinely cares about her clients and goes above and beyond her clients expectations. After our initial meeting, she assured me that everything will be okay and that I was in good hands!

    Attorney Gottesman went to court for me and she immediately called me right after to give me an update. Knowing that a DUI is a serious offense and people charged with it generally get convicted, the unexpected happened. She worked her magic and a few months later, MY CASE WAS DROPPED!!! Her extensive experience and knowledge allowed her to get the best outcome anyone charged with a DUI can only dream of. I cannot thank her enough for making this nightmare go away. How many people charged with a DUI can say that their case was dropped?!!!!! Not many. I am in total disbelief because I was honestly expecting a lesser charge.

    I will forever grateful to Ann for everything she did. Thanks so much Ann. I cannot thank you enough for getting me out of this terrible nightmare. You are truly God send.

    Anyone seeking a criminal attorney should look no further because I can assure you that you will most definitely be pleased with attorney Ann Gottesman's services.

  2. Hard-Working Attorney

    Posted by Domestic Violence Client, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Gottesman.
    • I hired Ann 1-6 months ago.
    • Ann handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I retained the services of Ann Gottesman to defend me against a charge of felony domestic violence and I am glad I did. If you are charged with either a misdemeanor or felony conviction of DV, I strongly urge you to avoid using a public defender. Although PDs may have your best interests in mind, I believe they are overworked with huge caseloads and cannot give your case the time and attention you will need.

    After being arrested and making bail, I was given a few weeks before I had to appear in court and be formally charged. I used this time to find an attorney. I had free consultations with 3 attorneys, starting with Ann Gottesman. My wife and I both interviewed her to hear what she had to say about herself and how she would defend my case. Ann's office was not as fancy as the other two attorneys I visited, but I felt she truly listened to me and her strategy sounded reasonable. I knew very little about the process - only what I had read in the papers or seen on the news. Her office is in Pasadena and close to the Pasadena Superior Court. Ann is familiar with all of the judges and Deputy DA's in this court. She described her experience, including being a public defender. Ann explained that she went into private practice because she felt she was doing a disservice to people since there was not enough time in the day to adequately defend them.

    As I said, I visited two other attorneys. They had a good spiel, with varying stories and strategies. Their fees started at $7500, which I am sure went towards their fancy offices and other overhead.

    My wife and I hired Ann, and she jumped right in. With a letter from my wife, Ann convinced the Deputy DA to reduce the felony domestic violence charge to a misdemeanor at the arraignment. The Deputy DA also agreed not to request a restraining order from me against my wife. The judge agreed to both conditions.

    Part of Ann's strategy was for me to voluntarily attend weekly domestic violence classes before the next court date. I also did some research on how a conviction of any kind could affect my employment if discovered. She provided this research, along with my attendance record for the DV classes to the Deputy DA, and then made a deal to dismiss all charges against me if I continue with the DV classes for a total of 9 months. At the next court date, this agreement was presented to the judge, and she accepted it. The judge exonerated my bond and asked me to make another appearance after attending another 5 months of DV classes. This will be to check on my progress.

    I am very grateful to Ann Gottesman for her tremendous help and thoroughness. She is caring, thoughtful, and willing to talk or communicate anytime. I was able to contact her at her office, cell phone, text, or email. She always responded within 24 hours, even on nights and weekends. You will not go wrong if you choose Ann as your private counsel.

  3. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by David,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Gottesman.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.

    After being railroaded in a misdemeanor case, Miss Gottesman brought my case back to court with an excellent appeal to the judge. In the end, I ended up with only an infraction. I found her to be very professional, communicative, and affordable for a working class individual like myself.

  4. DUI

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Gottesman.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    "Miracle Worker" I am a client of Ann Gottesman with a DUI case. I have previous convictions for DUI offenses and I was looking at a lengthy sentence. I expected my case to have the "Maximums" and I knew I must retain an attorney that possessed the utmost attention and fight for their client's best interest. Ann Gottesman did just that for me. She communicates every disclosure personally, makes tactful decisions, is diligent to her client. I admire Ann for taking my case with the odds against me. Her performance was absolutely "Superior" and my case proves it!

  5. Very SCARED, having a 3rd DUI!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Gottesman.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had searched for attorneys on the Internet, talked with several and just didn't feel at ease, until I found Ann Gottesman's advertisement and I called her and made arrangements to meet with her and felt instantly at ease. I knew that I had made the right choice in having this attorney represent me. She instantly made me feel that she truly cared and would be there for me every step of the way, and she was. She kept me informed about all of her experience and ensured me that I would be able to keep my job. She went over and beyond what I had expected from her. She postponed court dates to research my entire case, to ensure she would get the results she wanted to benefit me. She went to a DMV hearing on my behalf. She really came through for me. I got minimal jail time and no community service. I had .15 BAC and (2) prior DUI's, 7 years ago. I had hired an attorney, 7 years ago and the attorney was not there for me, he only wanted the money, and I still had to serve 10 days in jail, 13 days of community service, AA meetings, 18 month DUI classes, and probation. With Ann, I got 2 days in jail, no community service, 18 month DUI program and probation. I highly recommend Ann Gottesman as your DUI Attorney.

  6. I'd never needed an attorney before so finding Ann Gottesman was truly a godsend.

    Posted by Wendy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Gottesman.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After what were the worst couple of days in my life, Ann put me at ease right away in her office. She was very thorough, and as this was my first time with any of this, she explained it to me until I understood. Ann was very compassionate, but she was also an experienced, knowlegable and convincing warrior for me in court. I left court with an even better outcome than I was expecting - with immense gratitude to Ann. Don't let her petite size fool you - she was a tough fighter and an amazing advocate for me throughout the entire process. I very highly recommend Ann to help you after the worst days in your life.

  7. Confident in Care

    Posted by Laura, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Gottesman.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ann was great! She immediately understood the situation without judgment. My husband had needed a criminal defense for some charges he fell into. She got that it was just a mistake and not a determination of his character. She knew exactly what her plan was to be and had 2 other plans in the wings. She had extensive knowledge of the court system and the way it worked and what to do for the best results. She not only handled things well with the courts, but she also essentially held our hands. We never had to deal with anything like this and it was really scary and even more scary to think about a single mistake affecting my husband ability to work. Many times she told me not to worry that she will take care of my husband and everything would be ok. She could see what a good man he was and really fought for us and didn't just go to court once, but over and over until she got the results she wanted for us. She really cared about helping us and it was comforting to know she would go for what she believed in and not just get it over and done with. We could not be more relieved with the end results. She was able to fight for two charges to be dismissed and my husband was able to accept a charge that would not be really a big deal on anyone’s record and we could get it dismissed in 2 to 3 years at that. If you are needing a knowledgeable attorney, one you can trust, one that will work with you and your needs and one that will fight to the end and be sure to exhaust all possibilities, this is the one. Ann is an attorney and she makes you feel like a friend. A very strong and smart and tenacious friend you want in your corner. She doesn't mess around and she won't let you down, she fights hard just for you.

  8. Ann Gottesman

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Gottesman.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ann was an excellent Attorney for me at a very deep time of need. She was able to make me, the client, more comfortable confident and her work lead to a much better outcome with my case than expected. Her ability to research all possible ways to help me as a client was excellent and all for a very reasonable rate. Thank you Ann!

  9. Ann is well-versed, assertive, and compassionate.

    Posted by Christopher, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Ann Gottesman.
    • I hired Ann 1-3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I recently had a case regarding a second DUI where both my charges were dismissed in traffic court. The DMV, on the other hand, wanted to hold me accountable in spite of this decision so I began to research DUI lawyers. Ann warned me that it was possible I could lose granted it was my second offense, just as other lawyers told me. However, she was also the only lawyer to give me a few details about how she can navigate the case in my favor simply by using the resources available to her. She also disclosed more knowledge of this field than some of the other lawyers i spoke with. I'm not discrediting their record or their ability to work, but Ann won me over with her compassion and because she really did seem invested in my case, moreover she made me feel confident that she knew how to resolve it. Ultimately, the DMV dismissed my case and I got my drivers license back. She has been a big help and I appreciate the work she put in to my case.

  10. Down-to-earth, honest, and compassionate lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ann Gottesman.
    • I hired Ann more than 3 years ago.
    • Ann handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ann got me probation and NO jail for a misdemeanor charge. She fought real hard for me and I appreciate that. When I called with questions, she answered my calls herself and gave me the info I needed. She knows legal stuff pretty darn well - she explained the whole process step-by-step so that I knew where I stood. I thought things would be confusing and messy, but she cleared it all up for me. I'm grateful for this woman. She actually gives a damn and worked hard for me.