Simon M. Aval’s Reviews

Simon M. Aval

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I do not recommend Simon Aval

    Posted by Alexander, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Simon Aval.
    • I hired Simon 1-3 years ago.
    • Simon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was accused for serious charges such as forced raped, sodomy, and lewd act with a minor. I had three trials and Mr. Aval represented me on my third trial. The accusations were so serious that I could face over 21 years. I hired an investigator and provided Mr. Aval lots of information to use for my defense. Mr. Aval didn’t file a single Motion he promised, he didn’t coach me what I should and what I shouldn’t say on the trial, more than 50% of critical evidences were never introduced to the jury. Mr. Aval had more than six months to prepare the case. He promised to talk to an expert about medical records, to talk to an Immigration attorney and so on, but he never did that. I never got a chance to tell the jury my side of the story.
    During the trial it felt that Mr. Aval would do everything only to please the judge. District Attorney filled 26 motions and judge granted all of them. Everything that the same judge allowed on the first trial, he didn’t on the third. We lost our chance to use our strategy for my defense and Mr. Aval did nothing about it.
    Mr. Aval spent a minimum time to prepare my case. He tried to convince me to take a deal few days before the trial saying that DA offered me three month in jail instead of 21 years in prison and registration as a sex offender. Registration and three months would be nothing for me to compare with 21 years in State Prison. I was planning to go back to my country in Europe anywhere, but I refused to take the deal because I wanted to clean my name. On the day of my sentencing DA said that she never gave me such a deal, her deal was a minimum of two years.
    I was found guilty on the smallest two counts and received 3 years and 8 months. Both counts were lewd act on child. My friends tried to contact Mr. Aval for clarification about these counts and which part of the “victim’s” story these counts belong to. Mr. Aval never responded. Only after I was released from prison I found out that I received three years for something that was already admitted by “victim” on the first trial that it wasn’t true because I showed receipts that I was in different country. My appeal attorney also found out that judge didn’t give mandatory instruction to the jury for this count and Mr. Aval never mentioned about it on the day of sentencing. Mr. Aval also refused to put in writing what jury told him after the trial.
    On the day of my sentencing I signed the document and it was a judge order that Mr. Aval is no longer my defense counselor, but one year later Mr. Aval represented me on the reinstitution hearing without any of my knowledge or my consent. I found about it from the Prison Administration six months later. Mr. Aval later claimed that he was ordered by the same judge to represent me on the hearing. I do not understand how it is even possible to order the counselor to represent me without my consent after the same judge ordered that he was no longer my attorney. I still have no clue why do I have to pay these reinstitution fees.
    I am planning to file the complaint to the State Bar of California.

    1. Simon M. Aval

      Simon M. Aval

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am sorry to hear you are not happy with my legal services.
      As you recall, you were charged with 8 felony counts ranging from Forcible Sodomy of a minor, Forced Rape of a minor, and other sexual acts against a minor. After a Jury Trial, I was able to persuade the jury that you were NOT GUILTY of the forcible rape and forcible sodomy. The jury was hung on others counts, and you were found guilty on two counts. You were facing 21 years in prison and after trial you were sentenced to 3 years, 8 months. The judge even commented at sentencing that he wished he could have given you more prison time but he was bound to the maximum of 3 years, 8 months after the jury verdict.
      During trial, your ex-wife testified against you. Your ex-wife's niece testified in detail about how you had molested her for over a period of years. Other members of her family also testified about how they were informed of the allegations and your behavior during those times. I understand your position that they are all lying and conspiring against you.
      As to my preparation and my trial tactics, you are entitled to your opinion. I tried my best in your defense. If you wish to contact the State Bar with a complaint, I will gladly explain the circumstances in more detail to them.

      Posted about 15 hours ago. Flag

  2. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Rick, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Simon Aval.
    • I hired Simon 1-3 years ago.
    • Simon handled my Child Abuse matter.

    Simon Aval is an excellent criminal defense attorney. I first contacted Mr. Aval about 12 months ago seeking advise for allegations of child abuse against a family member. Mr. Aval returned my phone call immediately and offered a meeting in person right away. During our meeting, Simon explained in detail the legal process, and the different options that could arise during the case. This case went to trail after months of court proceedings. Everything in this particular case played out just as Mr. Aval explained it during our conversations. Simon showed compassion and sensitivity towards my family during this agonizing process, always keeping a positive outlook while being very honest with his assessments. Simon is very calm, professional and confident inside the court room. Having seen him in action during the trial, I can tell you that Simon is a top notch attorney. He is an expert in his field, and knows the law very well. Our trial ended with a positive outcome, a NOT GUILTY verdict, and I will be forever thankful to have turned to Simon for help. Looking for a lawyer is no easy task for the average person, this is why I strongly recommend Mr. Aval for anybody who is in need of legal representation.

  3. Simon Aval was excellent!

    Posted by John, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Simon Aval.
    • I hired Simon 1-3 years ago.
    • Simon handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Simon made a big difference in giving me peace of mind throughout the process. My initial discussion with Simon made me feel that he was knowledgeable and trustworthy. He showed that he understood my perspective, but did not sugarcoat what the process would be like. The experience was very similar to what he initially described and in the end the result was favorable based on his advice. The DA did not seem to be giving my case any attention and did not want to take the time to review the specifics details that should warrant a reduced charge. Simon's strategy to stick it out and show that we were willing to fight paid off. I would recommend Simon Aval to anyone I know who has gotten themselves into a difficlut situation and needs help. Thank you Simon!

  4. He got me 16 months with 1/2

    Posted by Ralph, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Simon Aval.
    • I hired Simon more than 3 years ago.
    • Simon handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was facing 4 year's or more For Sale's I was facing transporting, Sale of Control Subtance of meth,Carjacking,packaging material,2 loaded guns, I had many piors of violent crimes, He said he will do his best and for a low rate this Smart Man that knows the Law, got me 9 months and 20 days and it's the Lowest Term in the State of California and he was able to Master Mind his plan of attack... If he was able to do this for me he will something good for you...

  5. Best Lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Simon Aval.
    • I hired Simon more than 3 years ago.
    • Simon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Simon Aval is not just a wonderful lawyer, but, a true friend. I called upon Simon when a friend of mine needed his expertise. He was prompt with calling me, listening to what I had to say, and took care of business. He is smart, very calm and confident and goes way above and beyond to take care of his clients. I recommend Simon to anyone that needs an expert attorney that has compassion and a wealth of knowledge with such high integrity. He respects his clients, and basis no judgement. He gets you results. I am proud to know a lawyer that represents the profession with such class and high regard for the rights of his clients.” July 7, 2009

  6. The Best Lawyer You Will Ever Find ANYWHERE

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Simon Aval.
    • I hired Simon more than 3 years ago.
    • Simon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    If you are looking for a first class attorney LOOK NO FURTHER. Mr Aval is the best attorney I have ever delt with in my life. He is honest about his assesment of your case and keeps you informed through the long and agonising steps of your case. His "jury trial" tactics are exceptional. To sum-up Mr Simon Aval, He is "The King of the court room. If your caught in a jam and want the best attorney. Call Simon and he will prove you are innocent.

  7. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Simon Aval.
    • I hired Simon more than 3 years ago.
    • Simon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Aval represented me for my case last year. I could not have been any happier with my choice. Mr. Aval is a very respected Attorney in the LA and Orange County area and is very good at what he does. He was very good at returning all of my phone calls and kept me informed throughout the whole process. I strongly recommend Mr. Aval for anybody, and if I ever get into any trouble again he will be the first person I call.

  8. the truth prevails

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Simon Aval.
    • I hired Simon more than 3 years ago.
    • Simon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Simon always was quick at answering our calls and gave us straight forward answers to our questions. I felt he genuinely believed in our case. We are so very thankful we went with him.

626-432-1700