Back to Derek’s Profile

Client Review

Derek has received 30 client reviews

NOT GUILTY!

Posted by: a client 1 day ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Derek Devermont

A DUI arrest is a frightening experience, one in which you have to act upon quickly while still in shock. I went with a friend's recommendation and so glad that I did! I met with Derek the day after the arrest (he was kind enough to meet up on a Sunday), and after discussing the situation and the process ahead of us, I decided to commit to him as my attorney. Each case is different and difficult to predict, but six months after the event is when we actually went to trial. Even though the prosecution had no case they offered absolutely no deals and were committed to trial, which was a mistake on their part. The prosecution brought five people to the stand to testify and Derek tore each one of them apart. The arresting officer was of particular embarrassment as Derek knew the standards of the Field Sobriety Tests better than he did...this officer has made approximately 50 DUI arrests and doesn't even know how to properly administer a Field Sobriety Test. Needless to say, the jury came to a conclusion in 45 minutes. There was hardly any discussion necessary. Verdict was read...NOT GUILTY! Derek is an incredible trial attorney which I witnessed first hand, but had this not been in the City of Santa Monica, I have no doubt that this would never have made it to trial. He has respectful relationships with LA Prosecutors, other Defending Attorneys and even several of the Judges. Derek knows the people, the system, the law and was truly committed to defending me and my rights. I highly recommend hiring Derek if ever you find yourself in a sticky situation.

Amazing Results

Posted by: a Criminal Defense client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Average

I recommend Derek Devermont

I hired Derek 6-12 months ago.

Derek handled my Criminal Defense matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I was charged with aggravated assault with a deathly weapon and mayhem. Mr. Devermont was able to get a deal with the DA and I walked out of Court without jail time. My family and I are amazed with the positive result.

An AMAZING lawyer!!!

Posted by: a DUI client 9 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Derek Devermont

I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.

Derek handled my DUI / DWI matter.

When i was arrested for a DUI i was referred to Derek Devermont who thankfully agreed to take my case. He met with me quickly and answered all of my questions. He kept me informed of what was going on and i knew i was in good hands. He was able to get my DUI dismissed by the DA which was amazing. After that we still had my DMW hearing to deal with. He worked hard and was actually able to get the DMV to dismiss the case as well. I couldn't believe it. He is a great lawyer and i can't say enough good things about him. If you find yourself in the same situation hiring Derek Devermont would be the best decision you could ever make.

Probably the best DUI lawyer in Los Angeles

Posted by: a DUI client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Derek Devermont

I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.

Derek handled my DUI / DWI matter.

Derek saved my life... and my career. I was pulled over for a DUI during the summer and because the breathalyzer wasn't registering, I had to give blood (which they say is more accurate). My result came back at 0.18... over 2x the limit. And Derek had my case dismissed. I'm a healthcare professional... A DUI could have meant losing my license. Now, there's nothing on my record. It's like it never happened. During the whole process, I dealt with things by not dealing with things. I pushed it to the back of my mind and let Derek worry about everything. I didn't show up for a single court date... I let Derek handle everything. He would call me to tell me the important things and was always available, but I pretty much didn't involve myself in anything. It was a scary ordeal and it's finally over. I don't know what he did, or how he did it, but I am truly amazed that I'm walking away from this without a blemish. If you want the same results, I would say hire this guy. He obviously knows what he's doing. My case should have been an easy conviction.. people asked me why I even hired a lawyer in the first place. I'm glad to say they were wrong.

Derek Devermont saved my life!

Posted by: Kanin, a DUI client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Derek Devermont

I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.

Derek handled my DUI / DWI matter.

Getting arrested for DUI is scary; spending a night in jail is equally scary. If you're reading this then you already have some idea. With a blood alcohol level of .12, a court date looming and a DMV hearing to contend with, I was told that it was best to get a lawyer for situations like this. I was referred to Derek through a friend. From the beginning, he was straight forward and clear as he explained each step in the process and how I needed to respond. Every step of the way I could ask questions and he was always willing to explain things so I never felt in the dark. This really came into play during the court proceedings. I arrived feeling very nervous but Derek kept me calm and informed. As a result of Derek's expertise and impressive knowledge of previous DUI cases, my case was dismissed completely – NO DUI on my record! I can't say enough about Derek Devermont.

Best decision made

Posted by: a DUI client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Derek Devermont

I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.

Derek handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I contacted Derek after being recommended to him by a friend. I met him immediately in person and was able to explain my case. He was efficient and very clear about my options. I had a very high BAC(.24) and I didn’t think that anything could have been done until I met him. He was able to calm me down and got straight to work. Not only did he make sure to keep in contact with me the whole case, he made me feel very comfortable about calling with any questions or concerns. I now have no DUI on my record, and could not be more grateful. I will recommend him as an attorney to anyone I know. He reminded me constantly that he would do the worrying for me. I could not be more satisfied.

DUI

Posted by: Oscar, a DUI client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Average

I recommend Derek Devermont

I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.

Derek handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

Derek is an excellent DUI defender, who knows how to make a case for you. He is great in explaining the whole legal process to you, and I'm very thankful for his services. If your looking for someone who honest and hard working, then Derek is your man. Thank you once again.

Thank You Derek!!!

Posted by: Freddy, a DUI client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Derek Devermont

I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.

Derek handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Derek was very professional and handled my case from start to finish. His office was helpful, courteous, and kept me up to date on my case. I would recommend them to anyone and was very happy with my results.

Devermonts firm had excellent results

Posted by: Arthur Fass. DPM, a Social Security client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Derek Devermont

I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.

Derek handled my Social Security matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Our medical practice has referred dozens of patients who needed help with social security disability to Devermont & Devermont over the past 20 years. Every patient we have referred to them has come back to thank us for putting them in contact with Devermont & Devermont. Everyone of our referrals has won their case. Whenever we have been in contact with the office the staff they were VERY helpful

Awful Law firm, very rude staff.

Posted by: Clare, a Social Security client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Derek Devermont

I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.

Derek handled my Social Security matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

This group is awful. They may be ok at defending drunk drivers, but as far as disability lawyers they are just plain awful. They were of no help at all and the terrible receptionist who answered the phone was awful and rude. They never once kept me updated on my case and they never passed along very important records to the Social Security office. I may have won my case if it was not for their inept representation. They basically wasted 4 years of my life with them. I am now with a very reputable company who has done more for me in 2 weeks than Devermonnt did in 4 years. All I can say is do not use this firm for a disability claim. If you do you will be very sorry. From the rude staff to the lawyers and the rinky dink shack of an office they had me meet them in. I'd be surprised if they really did have an office in Santa Monica. They are a straight out terrible law group.