Derek S Devermont’s Reviews

Derek S Devermont

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Awful Law firm, very rude staff.

    Posted by Clare, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Derek Devermont.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This group is awful. They may be ok at defending drunk drivers, but as far as disability lawyers they are just plain awful. They were of no help at all and the terrible receptionist who answered the phone was awful and rude. They never once kept me updated on my case and they never passed along very important records to the Social Security office. I may have won my case if it was not for their inept representation. They basically wasted 4 years of my life with them.
    I am now with a very reputable company who has done more for me in 2 weeks than Devermonnt did in 4 years.
    All I can say is do not use this firm for a disability claim. If you do you will be very sorry.

    From the rude staff to the lawyers and the rinky dink shack of an office they had me meet them in. I'd be surprised if they really did have an office in Santa Monica. They are a straight out terrible law group.

  2. 2nd DUI - BAC .14

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Devermont.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My first DUI was 8 years ago. I was so disappointed in myself when I got pulled over for my 2nd and my BAC was .14! A friend recommended Derek Devermont and said that he was best! From our first meeting to the end of my case he always kept me informed on what all the outcomes could be. He was available 24/7! If I ever had a question, I just texted him and he would respond within minutes!

    At the end of it all... I didn't get a DUI on my record and I was found NOT GUILTY which saved my license! No jail time, no DUI classes, no restricted license... my life is back to normal! I just had to pay a fine to the court. I am so grateful and so happy that I chose Derek as my lawyer. He really is the best!!! Even other people in the court room asked me for his info after my case was done because they realized that I was found not guilty for a 2nd DUI with a BAC of .14! I didn't think it was possible to save my license but Derek found a way to do that and I don't have the DUI on my record!

    To say I'm happy is an understatement. I'm THRILLED, ECSTATIC, AMAZED! Derek is your dude for any DUI case!

  3. Sub-Standard at best!!

    Posted by Dee, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Derek Devermont.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Devermont & Devermont to represent me in my Social Security Insurance case. Right from the start I got static from their receptionist. I NEVER spoke to one of the Devermonts because I never could get past their receptionist. The communication was horrible! I never knew what was going with my case. I hired the Devermonts to sue the State of California, and come to find out that the State was holding ALL the cards. I went to the State's own doctors which they contradicted my own personal doctors evaluation. They stated that nothing was wrong with me when it fact there is. The Devermont's did NOTHING! Very poor representation. This case has been going on for over a year, and after all this time, and waiting it all ended with nothing. The Devermonts may be good at DUI's but steer clear of them for your SSI cases! AND THEY NEED TO FIRED THAT RECEPTIONIST OF THEIRS !!!

    1. Derek S Devermont

      Derek Devermont

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have no idea who this person is and do not believe I represented him or her. I do not handle cases where the state of california is sued and cannot find a case under the name "Dee". I believe this person is confused and wish him or her the best of luck.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  4. The right guy for your DUI case

    Posted by JC, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Devermont.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested at a DUI checkpoint with a BAC of .11. I had no clue where to begin, but quickly realized that the process of addressing the multiple legal matters that arise in this circumstance was difficult and convoluted. After doing some research on various DUI lawyers, I was told I should contact Derek Devermont by not one but two practicing lawyers. Derek proved himself to be very knowledgeable of the criminal process and DMV hearings. Derek was able to explain both of these daunting systems to me and provide up to date information whenever there was a change. In the end, Derek was able to use strong statements made in the DMV hearing to my benefit in the legal case to get my charges reduced significantly from a DUI to a Exhibition Speeding charge. If you find yourself in need of a smart attorney who understands the various legal processes and is able to navigate the Los Angeles criminal courts environment, Derek is worth every dollar. Most importantly, Derek takes pride in doing his job well, and will work his butt off for you.

  5. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Devermont.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Derek is a all around great lawyer. His concern for you and winning your case is evident. When I first contacted him, I was incredibly stressed. He not only relieved that by taking aggressive actions immediately, but he was kind enough to adjust the pricing. Derek's motto throughout my case has always been, "Leave it up to me. Don't worry about it!", and that to a person in a sticky mess is priceless. As my lawyer, Derek always kept me in the know and explained the process and/or anything that I had questions about. He was reliable and comforting. So as my lawyer, we discussed a realistic verdict that I was hoping for. However, proving his competence, Derek surprised me when he got the best verdict of all: not guilty! So thank you Derek!! You really are the best!

  6. Rape Case

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Devermont.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    A person I slept with had extreme "buyers remorse" and decided that after spending the night with me, felt it was necessary to go to the police to have me arrested for rape. Derek Devermont was the first person I called from jail. He was extremely helpful in expediting the bail-out process and getting me out from behind bars. It was very comforting knowing Derek was on my case. In the days following my arrest, Derek worked diligently to argue my case with the District Attorney and convinced the DA that there was really no case at all. The DA never even filed the case and all charges were dropped. The days following my arrest were sleepless and nerve-racking, but Derek was very comforting and calming and reassured me that he was doing everything possible to defend me. He was very good with communication and kept me up to date on everything as it unfolded. Derek treated me with respect when I was going through a very rough time and has not only saved my professional career, but has prevented even the chance that my case would go to trial. Derek Devermont is an amazing example of a criminal defense attorney who uses the law protect his clients and help them in times of need. I'd recommend him to any and all of my friends and family.

  7. JURY SAID I'M NOT GUILTY!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Devermont.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested for DUI and hit and run in 2010. Because it happened in simi valley my case ended up in Ventura County. Everyone knows how hard ventura is on this type of stuff. I was well over .08 (too embarassed to say how much) and terrified. The DA told us no deals and if I wasn't going to say I was guilty than the only option was go to trial. SO we had a trial. Derek was amazing. After the DA was done talking to the cop on the stand, I thought I had made and wasted time and money by having a trial. Then Derek started asking questions and the cop's story fell apart. Then the DA had some expert get up and say I was drunk. Derek took her down too. The prosecution even had a witness and documents they introduced last minute without telling us. Derek used all this to our advantage. After it wall went down, I heard the jury say the magic words "not guilty". We won! The DA was so unhappy she stormed out afterwards. NOT GUILTY! dEREK IS THE BEST LAWYER EVER!

  8. AMAZING

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Devermont.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Amazing amazing lawyer. Answers every phone call, takes ALL your stress away and makes you feel very comfortable. I was extremely worried given the charges being held against me and knew I needed the best of the best. Family friends recommended us to Derek and the second we met I knew he'd take care of everyday. He's very persistent and handled everything professionally. Before I even knew it, after Derek took over, ALL the charges were dropped. You don't want to take a risk with whatever problems you have and with Derek, you won't have anything to worry about.

  9. worth every cent

    Posted by Thomas, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Devermont.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was scared... I didnt know who to call, I was told about Derek by a family friend and called right away. He answered my call, was very easy to talk to, made me laugh and took some stress off of my DUI situation.. He was 100% helpfull in everyway, got back to me as soon as possible, and for that I am truely grateful.

  10. MY HERO!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Devermont.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was pulled over for weaving. The officer made me get out of the car and do a bunch of exercises. Then I he took me to the station and I blew a .09. Derek Got the case reduced to a dry reckless and avoided even having a dmv hearing by getting a "not guilty" on the second part of my dui. I didn't have my license suspended and I don't have a dui.