Ruth Lynn Estep’s Reviews

Ruth Lynn Estep

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Ruth was my saving Grace

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Estep.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Like most people who are involved in a divorce, I was unsure of the entire process, worried about all the horror stories I had heard regarding divorce attorneys, and concerned I would end up a financially and mental wreck from the experience. Ruth was my saving grace during the entire experience, Ruth was knowledgeable, cared about me and my children personally, listened to my complaints about my ex-wife with the patience of an angel, and from the very start worked hard for me. Ruth has years of experience and is able to do things in an hour that would take most divorce attorneys four hours. I cant say enough good things about Ruth. The best thing I can say about her is that I have recomended her to friends and co-workers, which for a perfectionist like myself is an extremely rare thing to do. Lets hope I never have to go through another divorce or child custody issue, but if I do, I feel much better knowing I have Ruth in my corner.

  2. If You Are Dad Going Through A Divorce, You Need Ruth Estep!

    Posted by Dad with kids, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Estep.
    • I hired Ruth 6-12 months ago.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Ruth was referred to me by a friend who had recently gone through a divorce. I am a Dad who is fully engaged in his children's lives and Ruth has helped me maintain that role and retain custody. Ms. Estep is highly knowledgeable in all aspects of family law. She was available 24 hours per day for me and has been responsive with each crisis that has arisen throughout the process. Ms. Estep has looked out for my best interests and my children's as well. I highly recommend Ms. Estep for anyone going through a divorce or separation. Because of her expertise and efforts I have retained custody of my children and remain indebted to her. -An Appreciative Father

  3. Helped me when others couldn't

    Posted by Amilcar, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Estep.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Ruth to help me with my divorce and custody. From the very beginning is was quite evident that she was very knowledgable and respected. I had worked with another lawyer in which frankly I lost all hope that I would be able to regain my son's custody. But from the very initial meeting with Ruth I could see that she had extensive experience in the field. She always maintained open communication and guided me throughout the whole process. She gave me a sense of security and newfound hope. She had no problem going over information with me and making me feel ready for our court visits. When we entered the courthouse EVERYONE knew Ruth, you could see the respect her peers had towards her and that people valued her as an attorney. In my opinion she is the best family attorney. I highly recommend her and would hire her again if I needed to.

  4. A life saver!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Estep.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Child Custody matter.

    Ms. Estep thinks fast on her feet remembering details that make a big difference in court. She has been compassionate with me and my family and made us feel she was always on our side. She speaks honestly about the realities of court and prepared me for the most intelligent way to navigate it during what has most definitely been the most challenging time of my life. Ruth is an assertive, dedicated, and ethical attorney. Ms. Estep was better in court than the overpriced "celebrity" lawyer we were up against!

  5. AVOID THIS ATTORNEY for the sake of your child...

    Posted by Fariba,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruth Estep.

    R. Estep was appointed to our case by the court and we are more than disappointed. At first she seemed so light and personal, then I discovered what I can only call her dark-side: she seemed to have agenda that not only did not take into account the best interests of our child, but made the situation worse for both parents. Oddly, Ms. Estep's incompetency brought me back together with my estranged husband so that we both could fight to protect our child from Ms. Estep!!! Though we could not get her dismissed my daughter refused to talk to her and she finally left by default. Please do your homework and check all the reviews out there before even thinking of hiring this person

  6. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Estep.
    • I hired Ruth more than 3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Ruth was exactly the lawyer I needed. From the first meeting, she impressed me as intelligent and sharp. She asked questions which helped me identify my issues and more importantly, my priorities. She was also very candid about what to expect, and answered all my questions - I had a list! She patiently explained the process to me. My divorce was understandably stressful. She was comforting when needed and tough when necessary. Ruth was there for me and my daughter every step of the way. She kept us updated and was responsive. She was a true advocate for us and we will always be grateful to her.

  7. Five stars isn't enough!

    Posted by Laura, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Estep.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I seldom take the time to write online reviews, but Ms. Estep has had such a profound impact in my life, I felt moved to post these comments. Everyone wants a an attorney who has the skill, tenacity and knowledge to win their case. That's a given. More than that, what I wanted was one with integrity, and Ruth has that in spades. She doesn't hold back, does everything that can be done, but she does it with a social grace and lack of mean-spiritedness that is rare and to be admired. I hired Ruth to help my teenage daughter, who was desperate to be free of her abusive father. I wanted my child to be safe and happy, but not at the expense of her integrity, or mine. I wanted to go about it in a way that was fair and honest. I couldn't have been more lucky that fate led me to Ruth. The family court system in California is a labyrinth coated in molasses, and I remain eternally grateful that I wasn't alone in that sticky mess. I would recommend Ruth to anyone in need of family law services. She is smart, capable, honest and loyal. If you're reading this because you're in need of an attorney, look no further. Your search ends here...Ruth is amazing!

  8. One of the Best Opposing Counsel I have worked with!

    Posted by Michelle Dean, Esq., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Estep.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I have worked with Ruth on a number of cases where she was either opposing counsel and/or Minor's Counsel. Ruth always had the best interests of her clients in mind and I highly recommend her. Ruth has impeccable skills as a lawyer as well as her ethics.

  9. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND RUTH LYNN ESTEP

    Posted by CARLOS, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruth Estep.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    “Ruth handled my very contentious divorce from start to finish. Throughout the process Ruth consistently demonstrated to me her knowledge of the law on our issues. Ruth was prepared, thorough, and always very responsive to me.
    Ruth reached out to my ex-wife’s attorney to attempt to amicably resolve things in practical ways which I greatly appreciated. I also appreciate that when faced with unreasonable harassment by my ex-wife Ruth immediately reacted with the needed aggression that put a stop to the misconduct. I will continue to use Ruth and highly recommend her”.

  10. review

    Posted by Isaac, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruth Estep.
    • I hired Ruth 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruth handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am a parent who has been in a family court case for the last two years. We had Ruth Estep assigned to be the minor's counselor of our child. I can only say that what I have experienced of her conduct in court goes beyond belief: she has broken down in court several times complaining of migraine headaches, she looses track of court dates, and she does not follow the ethical codes of conduct governing her profession. I could only say that this lawyer has exposed our child and our family to the worst type of representation in the courts. Since I am not alone in this conviction, me and three other parents who also have had her on their cases are filing a formal complaint to the Judiciary Performance, the Attorney General, and our Congressman.

    We hope you will consider our complaint fully and give it the full attention it deserves in providing information to the public.