Phillip Monroe Smith’s Reviews

Phillip Monroe Smith

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Business, Bankruptcy and Taxes

    Posted by Gabrielle L., a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Phillip Smith.
    • I hired Phillip more than 3 years ago.
    • Phillip handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have known Phil Smith for over 10 years. During that period, he has represented me in a number of tax and business related matters. He has successfully exceeded my expectations in each matter. He continually keeps me informed and outlines potential pitfalls. Last month he positively resolved a very complicated bankruptcy and IRS tax matter in record time! I highly recommend Phil for business related tax challenges, especially complex in nature.

  2. I now am a satisfied client of his and would like to highly recommend Mr. Smith as an attorney

    Posted by Frederique,
    Overall rating
     Good
    • I recommend Phillip Smith.

    I retained Mr. Smith for a personal litigation matter after he was recommended to me by one of his former & satisfied clients. Mr. Smith provided me with sound legal advice, represented me through the entire litigation matter for a flat fee, and provided me with periodic updates as to the status of the case which was settled to my satisfaction.
    I now am a satisfied client of his and would like to highly recommend Mr. Smith as an attorney who I learned to trust to follow through and keep his word.
    Frédérique C

  3. Superior insight and knowledge in tax related issues

    Posted by John, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Phillip Smith.
    • I hired Phillip 1-6 months ago.
    • Phillip handled my Tax matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    He did it again! Phil Smith conquered the IRS and had my audit eliminated. I had limited resources and Phil, in the matter of a few targeted phone calls, found the correct supervisor to get timely action and favorable results. His insight and knowledge regarding the policies and procedures of the IRS is unmatched. He was victorious in my battle with the IRS for a third time and I couldn’t be happier. Phil also has worked on previous tax issues of mine (including a previous audit) and has given me expert advise and always has come through with results in my favor. I would recommend him without reservation for ANY tax related issue!

  4. Very helpful and informative

    Posted by Jeremy, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Phillip Smith.
    • Phillip handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    W had a 30-minute telephone consultation, which was freewheeling and very interactive. Philip covered the exact points I wanted to examine and left me with the concise idea in my mind of how to proceed with my specific situation. I would highly recommend him to anyone requiring expert advice on the technicalities of corporate taxation.

  5. BEST LAWYER OUT THERE !!!!

    Posted by Caroline, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Phillip Smith.
    • I hired Phillip 1-3 years ago.
    • Phillip handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I think Philip Smith is the BEST lawyer i have found online. He's actually very honest and works extermly hard on your case. I have many issues with corporation filings and partnership documents that were solved. He answers all your questions and very reliable in all areas. He always looks after your best interest and could get straight down to business. :)
    Thank you! Phill

  6. Where’s Phillip Smith?

    Posted by Kevin, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Phillip Smith.
    • I hired Phillip 1-3 years ago.
    • Phillip handled my Tax matter.

    I hired Phillip Smith to help me get my Federal Tax Debt resolved. His game plan was to complete a Postnuptial and then submitt an Offer in Compromise (OIC) to the IRS. With the help of my wife, my accountant and her staff we where able to get Phillip every piece of documentation he asked for (sometimes the same information 2-3x's) within hours if not days. Unfortunately Phillip hasn't had that same sense of urgency. In fact my OIC was supposed to have been submitted 1/31/13...and to date the IRS doesn't have it. When asked in e-mail (a few days into Feb.) what had happened Phil told me he got sick (second time he's used this excuse in our brief history of working together). That was the last time I heard from Phil. I've left countless Voice mail’s & e-mail with no response. I've checked the Sheriffs Department to see if he’s been incarcerated. I’ve been checking obituaries…no sign of Phil until today when I saw he’s responded to the last post on this site 7 days ago. To date I have not received any of the services I’ve paid Phil $4,000 for. Simple communication is all I needed. Now I’m faced with taking the time to file a complaint with the CA. Bar Association while finding another Tax Attorney.

    1. Phillip Monroe Smith

      Phillip Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      This client provided misleading information to my office. For over a year he did not provide me with certain information that was damaging to his case. When he finanally disclosed the information, I was forced to delay preparing his OIC and provided him with a detailed explanation as to why his case had to be delayed. I told the client what he needed to do and he refused to cooperate. Unfortunately, because of attorney/client privilege I cannot respond in detail.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  7. Mr. Phillip Smith is not trustworthy

    Posted by Hicham, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Phillip Smith.
    • I hired Phillip 1-3 years ago.
    • Phillip handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Smith to resolve legal issues with my partners where we agreed to certain milestones for fixed fee. Mr. Smith requested another retainer before finishing to the terms of the agreement. I will file a complain with the Cal Bar and hope that others individuals get the same service I received from Mr. Phil Smith.

    1. Phillip Monroe Smith

      Phillip Smith

      Lawyer Comment:

      Unfortunately when you are in business, there will be dissatified clients. This client retained my office to negotiate a settlement of an internatiional contract dispute. The non-billable hours were more than the billable hours that we contemplated for the fixed fee because the client failed to cooperate with this office. This caused the time incurred in this case to more than double.

      The client left the country unannounced, has not provided a forwarding address where he can be reached, and refused to pay contracted costs associated with this engagement. Ultimately the client demanded that I work indefinitely on his matter which I refused to do for a flat fee.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  8. Great Resource!

    Posted by Tony, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Phillip Smith.
    • Phillip handled my Tax matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Smith and I spoke on the phone. He was very prompt in his response to my question. He was very knowledgeable and gave us advice on three different avenues for our corporation to pursue. He was abreast on current issues and drew from his experience to answer any and all of my questions. He was very thorough and I would highly recommend him for your legal needs. A great resource!

  9. BUSINESS LEGAL PROBLEM ALL SOLVED

    Posted by MIKE BURWICK, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Phillip Smith.
    • I hired Phillip more than 3 years ago.
    • Phillip handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Phil Smith has represented my corporation in its tax matters, business matters and litigation matters during a time when the affairs of my company were a complete mess due to mismanagement of the company. Phil Smith worked tirelessly for a number of years to resolve all the corporate tax problems, corporate legal matters. Phil even referred me to a CPA who I am very happy with. During the period of Mr. Smith’s representation, I was also sued by the former owner/shareholder who tried dissolve my corporation. Phil defended the company, settled the dispute for the very small settlement amount that I wanted to pay. My corporation is now owned 100% by me, and every single problem that my corporation was faced with is resolved. My business life and personal life are in complete order.

    Phil Smith not only represented my company well, he also showed a genuine caring for my business and my family. I unconditionally endorse Mr. Smith.

  10. PHILLIP M. SMITH (LAWYER REVIEW)

    Posted by RODNEY, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Phillip Smith.
    • I hired Phillip more than 3 years ago.
    • Phillip handled my Tax matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This gentleman is an angel in flight. He appeared out of nowhere and helped me tremendously! Very knowledgable in his profession and is very resilient. He takes the time to study your needs and delivers a service thats efficient. The rare thing about Phil is that he generally cared about my business as a whole and continues to follow up and check on my overall well being. I recommend Phil and feel that you can't go wrong with this player on your team.