Back to Cathleen’s Profile

Cathleen has received 30 client reviews

An Attorney Who Cares

Posted by: a client 7 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Cathleen Norton

Knowledgeable and caring, this is what Cathleen is. At our initial consultation, Cathleen listened attentively, answered all questions in details, and at last made the recommendation that truly has my best interest in heart. During those two hours, she made me feel as if I was talking to a helping friend! I walked out of her office feeling much more confident and empowered. Along the divorce process, I kept Cathleen as an advisor. She was very responsive to my phone calls, providing the much needed guidance for me to obtain the best possible outcome. Cathleen is an attorney who cares a lot about her client’s welfare. I would recommend her to anyone who needs a family attorney without any hesitation.

Simply THE BEST!

Posted by: geena 12 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Cathleen Norton

I am fortunate to find Cathleen. I am fortunate she agreed to take on my complicated case. I am fortunate and beyond words gratefulI to Cathleen Norton and her team for resolving my case. She gave me back what was lost for years: a sense of peace, safety and justice. If you need an attorney you can TRUST, who will PASSIONATELY FIGHT for you and KNOWS HOW, who is PERSONABLE, REACHABLE and COST-EFFECTIVE - Cathleen Norton is THE ONE!

A Year of Divorce: A Day in Court

Posted by: a client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Cathleen Norton

Family Court. Downtown Los Angeles, room 207. October 2, 2014 My attorney, Cathleen Norton sits with opposing counsel in a closed room in an attempt to negotiate a settlement prior to trial. Also present in the room is a "DSO" or Daily Settlement Officer who is a lawyer volunteering their time "pro - bono" to try and resolve a case before it proceeds to trial. In my divorce case, counsels appear before this impartial lawyer and present their sides of the case. The DSO then offers their objective opinion as to where they believe the case stands were it to go forward. In my particular case, my ex-wife and I have been unable to budge on shared and equal custody of my four year old daughter and property issues (the former, my ex expects more due to unfair gender bias). I love Cathleen. She agreed to inherit my case from a fellow colleague who decided to retire somewhat abruptly after initially taking my case. In addition to being a UCLA grad, Cathleen is a pit bull and tough as necessary as evidenced by her looking me in the eyes this morning and saying, "I'm not in a good mood." It wasn't directed at me but from the natural rhythms and other proceedings she experiences on a daily basis caring and litigating for her clients. That's the kind of fire I need. My kind of gal. What explains my optimism upon waking up today after a fourteen plus hour workday yesterday? It's the knowledge that my case is finally heard and justice might prevail. When all else has been exhausted, one wants their day in court. In the darkest of my moments and hours, I've clung stubbornly to the belief that somehow fairness and balance would ultimately be achieved in my instance. I owe this persistence to Cathleen. Looking around I observe these pedestrian, common surroundings --tired, blue, overly -worn carpet...drab wood panneling serving as demarcation establishing cubicle walls that are themselves scratched and stained as artificial light is provided by outdated, long fluorescent tubes guzzling electricity exorbitantly, probably costing tax payers millions per annum. In the midst of it all, Cathleen appears unfazed. It's too bright in here, I think, smelling the bleach leeking through my white dress shirt. These are my impressions as I sit with Cathleen, my ex-wife and her counsel waiting to see if an agreement exists that will resolve this so all of us can move on. Later, I break down weeping as Cathleen lays out a settlement offer. She carefully and quietly explains the individual pieces of the offer she's successfully managed to negotiate with opposing counsel. This represents an ending and a beginning...the proverbial Phoenix rising from the ashes...the butterfly from the cocoon. She reassures me that it's for the best and I know instinctively that she's right. The healing can begin. After a nearly year- long period of litigation some semblance of peace has been restored. Cathleen asks me to find a table and meet her in the cafeteria on the ninth floor while I compose myself. I take the escalator up and up, one level at a time knowing my choice to do so over the quicker elevator ride reprssents something significant to the new chapter in my life I'll be writing from this moment forward. Special thanks to Arcine Mananian. With Cathleen, she too managed to work miracles!

Would you believe me if I told you?

Posted by: a client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Cathleen Norton

After spending hours researching move away cases and waiting for my attorney to return my call after 7 days, I knew I needed a change. I needed someone that I could trust. Someone that was actually up on current trends, laws, and cases that were either appealed or won relevant to mine. I needed someone to understand the complexity of my personal situation. More importantly, I needed someone to not drain my retainer with the longest phone calls in the world on my dime. Why is it when I have a question and you are giving a freebie callback, it's a two minute call? But when you want to call me, it's two minutes worth of information in a 30 minute call, followed by a $200 bill? So, I made a serious and powerful move to Cathleen Norton's office. I have zero regrets. If you are in the position of needing representation, I highly recommend Cathleen Norton. That just doesn't seem like enough words. Let me rephrase this. My old attorney would take days to call back. Cathleen's office called back the same day. My old attorney did not represent my best interest in the past. Cathleen and her team listen, prepare, strategize, and make you feel important. And, they DO NOT rob you blind in doing so. I hope my old attorney is enjoying his trip to Cancun that I paid for as he wasted my time telling me "Stories about this one case and this other case" blah blah blah. What about my case? Ask Cathleen or her team. Everyone knew what was going on at any given moment. They handled everything like an honest (I know, hard to find right?) hard working and winning attitude team. The best part, we prevailed and I still have money in my bank account! Imagine that. Look, I can't speak highly enough about Cathleen. I firmly believe in two things; Karma and Team Norton. Both improved my life dramatically. As a single parent that has sacrificed far too much prior to retaining her services, all I can say is trust me. There are too many parents walking in my shoes. Cathleen and Heidi (Love love love Heidi) will give your self-esteem a makeover, give you hope, and frankly be 100% honest with you. The best part is after its over, they will still be there when you need them.

Cathleen Norton Family Law

Posted by: Curt 9 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Cathleen Norton

Cathleen was very responsive, professional and kind. Her fees and billing were very fair. She cares about her clients welfare......they are not just another case to her.

Awesome, thinkfast attorney that is ready for any situation!

Posted by: a Child Custody client 11 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Cathleen Norton

I hired Cathleen 1-3 years ago.

Cathleen handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

What a first experience! Definitely nerve wrecking, but Cathleen and team made everything easy and manageable. She was kept in the loop and that was instrumental in regaining my parental rights that were taken away. I cannot speak highly enough of Cathleen. She knows the law. She knows the red tape. Most importantly, she understands people. She never backed down, even though it was an "uphill" road. Ultimately, everything worked out. Anytime anyone asks me if I know an attorney, I give them Cathleen's number! She is that good! Thanks Cathleen for everything you and your office did for me and my kids!

Amazing person/attorney who knows what she is doing and therefore empowers you to make wise decisions

Posted by: a Divorce client 11 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Cathleen Norton

I hired Cathleen 6-12 months ago.

Cathleen handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I wanted to sincerely thank you for all the hard work and support you put into my case. I was impressed by the knowledge you have, not just of law, but culture as well. You made me feel very secure and talking to you was like talking to a friend. You surely empowered me and educated me a lot. Without moving forward too much you still managed to get the other side to back off and most importantly send a message that we live in a country where freedom comes first, and women are not second class citizens. Thank you so much for being there for me when I most needed it.

Thanks Cathleen!

Posted by: Carl, a Divorce client 11 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Cathleen Norton

I hired Cathleen 1-3 years ago.

Cathleen handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

Cathleen Norton is an exceptional attorney. She and her team masterfully got me through my divorce in a way that worked out best for me. Her team always kept me informed, and promptly returned my phone calls and e-mails. Though most of her work was done when I was working overseas...an 11 hour time difference, she and her team always managed to communicate with me. They were very honest in their counseling of me. I highly recommend hiring Cathleen Norton and her team to handle your divorce. She will get the job done, and it will work out for you. It definitely worked out for me.

Top Lawyer

Posted by: Laura, a Divorce client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Cathleen Norton

I hired Cathleen more than 3 years ago.

Cathleen handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

Ms Norton is clearly at the top for being the most eminent family law attorney in California. My divorce and child custody case was battled against one of the highest paid renowned law firms and justice was prevailed with Ms Norton's expertise and guidance. As a specialist in legal strategy, negotiations and trial, Cathleen's strength lies in her ability to guide clients through complex litigation and proceedings. I highly recommend Cathleen to represent any case at all levels of difficulty if you want success delivered.

A Terrific Consultation

Posted by: Michael about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Cathleen Norton

While I can only speak to a recent and initial consultation I had with Cathleen, I do believe there's great merit regarding first impressions becoming lasting impressions. Cathleen was sharp, attentive and straightforward. Those - admittedly at-times difficult - two hours were spent on my part expressing a lot of objective and subjective information about the circumstances surrounding the close of a two-decade marriage, the impact on my children, the sale of our family home, etc. - 'not a series of events I'd ever imagined I'd be in. I've worked with a number of lawyers in business, I've learned about effective personalities in representation. But this circumstance for me is personal, so not only did Cathleen hear what I had to say with all the facts, the particulars, the paperwork and so on, she LISTENED to me. In that way she was sensitive and reassuring, but she also didn't sugar-coat the process - I liked that, that says a lot about character, and what I might expect from someone representing me. So in those two hours we covered considerable talking points, and what potentially lies ahead. But I also got a strong sense of who she is, and I would certainly recommend her.