Debra A Opri’s Reviews

Debra A Opri

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A VERY SATISFIED CLIENT

    Posted by Lynn, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Opri.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Family matter.

    I'm LH, founder and director of an international non-profit wellness business. I had a close family member who became very unruly and non-cooperative in my personal and business life. This family member, who worked within the company, believed he should have had control over not only the business but me as well. Over time, as things escalated, it became necessary to contact an attorney. I was referred to Debra Opri who turned out to be a God send!

    She handled herself in a very professional way with integrity, care and sincerity. She always told me the truth of the matter even if it wasn't comfortable to hear. She handled my case and the family member with a type of dignity and legal knowledge that caused him to not only back away from his threatening position but to give it up completely, allowing me to live and conduct my business more freely.

    I cannot thank Ms. Opri enough for the great way she handled my case. Her fees were reasonable and she was always available to me. I have subsequently referred her to others and they are as pleased with her as I am. What makes Debra Opri stand out from other attorney's is that she knows her job, she does her job and we, her clients, know she always has our backs.

  2. A NIGHTMARE AS AN ATTORNEY

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Debra Opri.
    • Debra handled my Personal Injury matter.

    I retained Debra Opri some years ago for my daughter. In the beginning she came across as a professional and capable attorney. However, once I signed up my daughter, she was no longer available to answer questions. When we finally went to arbitration she never spoke up once on behave of my daughter. Once the meeting was over, she informed me that she would be a warrior in the court room. I asked why she did not speak up, and she stated she wanted to go to court because we would have a better out come. Well, the court day finally came up and she does not show up. She calls the court and tells the Judge that she sprung her leg. The judge told Debra if she did not get to court in the next 45 minutes, he was going to drop the case. She told the judge she was in pain and the judge said you have 45 minutes to get to court. It was extremely embarrassing because every one in the court was laughing including the judge. I decided I did not want to proceed with the case and told my daughter to just settle the case. The judge was informed of our decision and we resolved the matter for a very little amount. Now, we had a difficult time getting the modest amount from Debra. Finally, she called and said the check was ready. My daughter was in school and I picked up the paper work. I read the paper work and was appalled at what I saw. We retained her on contingency and she had all these deductions. She included checks of things she had paid. One check was to the Beverly Hills Police Department and there were four additional checks of individuals she had paid. I asked her about this and she said she had spent her money for the case. I informed Debra that she could not do this ,and she started laughing. In addition she said take it or leave it. Mind you, the checks she said she had previously paid had never been process though the bank. There is more, she had a long letter glorifying her as an attorney and she wanted my daughter to sign it. I have all of these documents in the original envelope and I can prove what I am saying. I did not know at the time I could have reported her to the Bar Association. Yes, she kept all of the modest funds. DEBRA OPRI WAS A NIGHTMARE AND SHE LACKS PROFESSIONALISM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1. Debra A Opri

      Debra A Opri

      Lawyer Comment:

      The above client review is FALSE. The information provided is not related to any case I have ever handled. The person who has written these recent negative client reviews is being identified and action taken to handle their actions. To all potential clients, I ask that you review ALL my client and attorney reviews to best decide and to verify my true credentials and integrity in handling client matters.

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  3. What a relief!

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Opri.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had the good fortune of being recommended to Debra Opri for my personal injury case. What a relief it was to retain Ms. Opri after the sub-par attorney I had previously. I must say not only did she secure me a great settlement, but she was also a strong shoulder to lean on during the case. When it came time to settle, Ms. Opri was adamant that I not accept below the value of my case, even though the insurance company had drawn a 'line in the sand' and wasn't offering me very much. Very clearly, Ms. Opri was representing my interests from the very beginning through the end of my case. Not only did she file a lawsuit on my behalf but she fought until she got the money I wanted. You know, we live in times when everyone is for themselves, including lawyers. Not Debra Opri. She puts the client first. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend her because she is the best attorney I have ever had. Ms. Opri is smart, a fighter, and she knows how to win. Most important, is that she always made herself available, and was always happy to hear from me. What more can you ask for?

  4. Unprofessional!

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Debra Opri.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was a client of Debra Opri's over ten years ago. I found her through the yellow pages. I was extremely disappointed in her unprofessionalism. She was handling a personal injury case for me . She didn't answer phone calls, and she even admitted to feeling sorry for the defendant who assaulted me because she could relate to her. She refused to give me my paltry settlement unless a signed a paper saying that she was an excellent attorney who handled my case in a professional way. I refused to sign such lies, and to this day I have not received the settlement.

    1. Debra A Opri

      Debra A Opri

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is Debra Opri. I have been advised by Avvo that the unknown alleged 'client' who made this review only provided an IP address/email address which means that this is likely not a legitimate posting. In any event, please know that the contents of this review are completely false and actions are being taken legally to deal with this internet slander/libel by this individual. To all potential clients, I ask that you review all my client and attorney reviews to best decide and to verify my true credentials and integrity in handling client matters.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  5. Lisa, Client, Family Law

    Posted by Lisa, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Opri.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Debra Opri was the best lawyer our family has had. She fought, against corruption, until a win in the Appellate court. My child is safe with me because of her. It was a tough battle I don't think could have been won without the strength of Debra Opri. Every day I am blessed because she fought for my child. Because of her, there is new case law protecting others. Ms. Opri represents her cases with an inexplicable knowledge of the law. She is the lawyer to hire if you want to win. Debra Opri is better than the best of the best.

  6. Child custody

    Posted by Lauren, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Opri.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Debra Opri represented me in a highly litigated case regarding my infant son. I respect her with the highest regard and highly recommend her services. Debra never gave up and won me custody of my son. Not only did she do excellent work and fight for me, she also won multiple appeals for me in the appellate court. I would say she is the best attorney and extremely dedicated to her clients and winning.

  7. Debra the Wonder Woman

    Posted by Larry, a Residential client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Opri.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Residential matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    My name is LG, about 6 years ago, I retained Debra to help me in a case involving a mal-practice suit against a lawyer. The case was handled so distastefully, that I lost. I did not understand, until I sought some understanding from Debra, who told me I definitely had a case. Debra was so helpful and knowledgeable on these matters and she continued to pursue this case and kept encouraging me to be patient. I had very little understanding of the gravity of this case, until the end, which resulted in me being the victor.

    This was only one of the many cases in which I had the extreme opportunity to have Debra's expertise show forth. Not only is Debra my attorney, she also is a true friend. Furthermore, I was in a terrible accident which resulted in me having a broken neck and C-3 spinal cord injury with right hemi-paralysis. Debra was a voice for me during the time of my convalescing. She has truly been an inspiration to me throughout my career.

    Her motivation to see things to the end has inspired me to accomplish many things, i.e., the doctors told me I would never walk again without the use of a walker or wheelchair, but if you see me today, I am very mobile and as I previously stated I give a lot of the accolades to the inspiration which came from Debra. I have and will continue to refer her to all of my friends, family and colleagues. Thank you Debra, I really do love you for all you do!!! You're the best!!! You truly are my friend.

  8. Review of Debra Opri's consultations with separating from a Business Partner.

    Posted by Michael, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Opri.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My Name is Michael Thompson and I am writing this review about Debra A. Opri.
    In 2011 I sought out Debra to help me to legally separate from a business partner. I owned 45% of an Interior Design company for about 15 years, and my business partner owned the other 55%. Through the years he had slowly stopped bringing in business and instead of working he wanted to start incurring debt to pay salaries, etc. Debra advised me on how to properly resign and cut ties so that I could eventually start my own company. We also filed my resignations with the State, so I was not liable for anything that was done improperly after I left. Soon after I resigned, many issues came up with my old business partner that were ugly and threatening towards me & needed to be addressed. This took several months and Debra was able to again help me through all of this in a very ethical way that avoided litigation. I most likely would have done things differently that would not have had such a good outcome. I totally believe that Debra advised me correctly and guided me in a very straight forward way. Her knowledge and expertise enabled me to make as smooth a transition as possible away from my old company. Towards the end, Debra refused to take any payment, because she saw that I was having alot of financial hardship during that transitional period which lasted several months. She must have made that decision long before we were finished with all of my problems, because she kept fighting for me, full force, right until all the issues were resolved. I was shocked at her compassion and generosity. I will always be grateful and indebted to Debra and if I ever have any sort of legal problems in the future I will only use her to help me get through them. She acted professionally and respectfully and with out any negative judgement, which is rare. I can honestly say that Debra helped me survive one of the most stressful things that has ever happened in my life!!!

  9. Engineer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Opri.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Debra is an agressive advocate who relentlessly fights for the rights of her clients! I would not hesitate to recommend her . She never gives up and is always in your corner

  10. Stalwart, compassionate and cuts-to-the-chase

    Posted by Deborah, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Opri.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I've known Debra for over 10 years. Recently my husband had a near fatal accident requiring him to secure representation regarding an insurance claim. Realizing the tenuous nature of our court system, it became clear we needed an attorney to help us navigate through the complicated procedure. Because we thought we would be able to handle the claim ourselves, the statute of limitation was nearing the deadline. Not giving Ms. Opri much time, it became quite clear in our first meeting that we had landed in the right place. I certainly would not recommend waiting to the last minute, but immediately she was able to put together a workable strategy. Her correspondence with the insurance company has brought tears to my eyes. Caring for my husband the past few months has been physically and emotionally exhausting. In a world of smoke and mirrors, her fierce knowledge, confidence and down to earth nature is refreshing. Yes, Debra is comfortable with celebrities and the media because she is young, vibrant and extremely competent. But make no mistake, the straight forward, very focused, well-rounded attorney would be in "your" court. We are hoping for an expeditious settlement, however if it necessary to further the process, I have every confidence that she will provide a very solid representation.