Gregory Randolph Caplan’s Reviews

Gregory Randolph Caplan

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Dynamite Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregory Caplan.
    • I hired Gregory 1-6 months ago.
    • Gregory handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I thank my lucky stars for Greg Caplan.

    I never dreamed I would be facing criminal charges; and when I began my search for a criminal defense attorney, Greg Caplan was the first attorney I contacted. After speaking with him, he was the ONLY attorney I contacted.

    Within minutes of retaining his services, Greg went to work on my case. His knowledge is second to none, and he is an attorney who leaves no stone unturned when it comes to getting the best possible results for his clients.

    Even more so, he cares. He was extremely forthcoming when it came to things I could to help myself (e.g., collect character references from people who knew me well.) This helped give me a sense of control during a very scary time when my fate felt so uncertain. Additionally, he responds to e-mails and phone calls in record time, which was also very comforting – and speaks volumes about his professionalism.

    Thanks to Greg and his wonderful associate, Anita Patel, the outcome of my case was better than I ever could have imagined. I highly recommend Greg Caplan to anyone who is looking to secure the best legal representation they can find.

  2. I recommend Greg Caplan.

    Posted by a Commercial client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregory Caplan.
    • I hired Gregory 1-3 years ago.
    • Gregory handled my Commercial matter.

    I went to Greg Caplan seeking a lawyer that would be able to help me with my situation. He did a great job figghting to fix my record. I am very pleased with the way he handled my case. He was always available to answer all of my questions and was very supportive. Greg is a very trustable, non judgemental attorney that enables the client to feel very comfortable and respected. I am very glad that I chose him to represent me with this case. What made me feel very at ease from the beginning was after I told him about my situation he tolde how he felt about taking this case. He doesn't lie to you so you will go to him, instead he will let you know if he is someone who can take care of the case or not. I felt a strong level of trust from the beginning. He didn't lead me on. I'm very glad he would have told me from the beginning if he wasn't at to help me.

  3. Misdimeanor charge from local city

    Posted by Orlando, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregory Caplan.
    • I hired Gregory 1-3 years ago.
    • Gregory handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Greg helped me in clearing of a misdimeanor charge from the local city. His professionalism is clearly prevalent when first meeting him and throughout the process. His quick actions and follow-ups made the process very short and painless. His former association with the city attorneys office and knowledge of local city law made the entire process bearable. Also his knowledge of court procedures made the whole uncomfortable courtroom experience seem swift. Very polite and easy to communicate with and his involvement meant mine would be as little as possible.

  4. Communicative, Creative and Knowledgeable

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregory Caplan.
    • I hired Gregory 6-12 months ago.
    • Gregory handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I have called upon Mr. Caplan on numerous occasions to assist with questions about criminal law and criminal defense issues. Mr. Caplan is always extremely responsive to my calls, and he often knows the information I need off the top of his head. If he does not already know the answer, he looks into the issue and gets back to me promptly with the information I need. I particularly appreciate that Mr. Caplan is proactive in his approach to resolving cases, coming up with practical and often creative solutions to cases. I highly recommend Mr. Caplan

  5. Competent Cousel - Must hire!

    Posted by Matt, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregory Caplan.
    • I hired Gregory 6-12 months ago.
    • Gregory handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I honestly believe Greg Caplan has all the qualities you want when hiring an attorney to defend you in his specialties. Greg is familiar with all the local courts, the processes, and how to effectively get you the best defense for reasonable fees. In my experience, Greg is extremely responsive and very knowledgeable. If you are seeking competent counsel, be certain you contact Greg.

  6. Were was the legal advice?

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gregory Caplan.
    • I hired Gregory 1-3 years ago.
    • Gregory handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I got to work with both Mr. Caplan and his associate, They were both great at the beginning, but after that they were always busy and never had time to answer my question or my concerns.

    I understand attorneys can get very busy, but I was their client and they did not give me the attention that I needed. They have many good reviews on here, but if you are going to hire them do your research first.

    1. Gregory Randolph Caplan

      Gregory Caplan

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am sorry to hear about your concerns. The feelings of my clients are of paramount importance to me; helping clients is the reason I am in this profession.

      This situation is very uncharacteristic of my approach, as I try to prioritize open communication with clients, focusing on individual strategies and solutions directly with each client. It’s a team approach.

      I make extraordinary efforts to personally return client phone calls, texts, or emails on the same day (usually within an hour or two).

      I would be happy to speak to you, personally, to explore an opportunity to help, at 213-400-5355. Again, I am sorry to hear about your difficulties, and hope we can find a solution.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  7. Great Criminal Defense Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregory Caplan.
    • I hired Gregory 6-12 months ago.
    • Gregory handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Greg Caplan and his colleague, Anita Patel helped me on a criminal matter. This was my first offense and I was scared and did not know what to do or where to turn. My only intelligent thought was to retain counsel as soon as I could and I am so glad that I hired Greg and Anita. They met me that same day that I called in their office and interviewed me about the facts of the case. I was advised on what to do and on what would or could happen next. I really appreciated the time they took to explain things to me. Anita handled the case in preparation for my court appearance and she explained what she needed from me. I provided all requested documents to them both. She also represented me in court. The end result was that my charge was reduced and I got no formal probation, only to obey all laws for the next 12 months. I glad that I retained Greg and Anita. I am especially thankful to Greg, who went the extra mile for me by taking the time to talk to me. He even arranged for two sessions with a counselor to discuss my depression and stress. Thank you so much for caring, Greg.

  8. Top Notch Criminal Defense Attorney

    Posted by Kurt, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregory Caplan.
    • I hired Gregory 6-12 months ago.
    • Gregory handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Greg is an incredible criminal defense attorney. He helped out my son and I on a case in Burbank and was professional and engaged during the entire time. I really felt like Greg had our best interests at heart as he resolved our issue and did so in an amazingly short period of time; for that I can't thank him enough! His frequent and open communication made us feel at ease during the entire process and there were never any surprises. Greg is a fantastic guy to have on your team when circumstances warrant a top notch criminal defense attorney. You won't go wrong with Greg, I highly recommend him.

  9. Great Criminal defense Attorney

    Posted by Dennis, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregory Caplan.
    • I hired Gregory 1-3 years ago.
    • Gregory handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am a small business owner with lots of experience with labor attorneys and corporate attorneys. Yet one day I found myself needing to hire a criminal defense attorney for my son who got into a bit of trouble. Having my 18 year old son face a felony count was frightening and I knew we needed to hire a strong effective attorney. After many recommendations, I interviewed 5 attorneys before choosing Greg. All the attorneys said pretty much the same thing regarding my son’s case, but Greg’s attention to the details of my sons case along with his willingness to look outside of the box was refreshing and gave us more hope. With Greg’s help and guidance, my son avoided going to jail, was able to seek the appropriate professional help and after a few years of probation got his record exonerated. None of this would have been possible without Greg’s responsiveness to the courts demands, the quality of service that he gave to us and his ability to clearly communicate what my son needed to do to put this behind him. Greg continually had to follow up with court employees who always seemed to drop the ball, and he gave us great advice on what type of letters and personal references the judge would put a value on and he basically did everything he said he was going to do (something I find a lot of lawyers don’t do). His advice and follow through were priceless. I hope no other parent finds themselves in need of a defense attorney, but if you do I highly recommend Greg.

  10. Top Criminal Defense Attorney in Burbank

    Posted by Murali, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gregory Caplan.
    • I hired Gregory 1-3 years ago.
    • Gregory handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He is an amazing attorney who get sthe job done and very understanding of your problems in your difficult times. I hired him as my attorney and he swiftly got my case solved and also co-operated with me to discuss the matter with family law and immigration attorneys. Having him by my side was one of the best decisions I took when I was having the toughest times of my life.