James Victor Kosnett’s Reviews

James Victor Kosnett

Average Rating

Based on 28 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. LACK OF HONESTY AND INTEGRITY

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Kosnett.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Education matter.

    This attorney told me he would file paperwork for me regarding the LAUSD, he said that for sure we would get an offer since my child was injured on school property, and if not he would represent me in court. When he realized that the LAUSD was not going to offer a settlement, he begin to not answer my calls, or emails. Almost a year later, he decided to get on the phone and tell me to go to small claims court. I was livid, disappointed, as I thought he was going to represent me in court. I found out that he has a habit of doing his clients like this, charging a large fee as a retainer, and file simple paperwork that I could have filed myself, and then he never represent his clients in court. I found another lawyer who has taken my case with no retainer, he is honest and has integrity something this lawyer don't have. Beware.

  2. A Great Lawyer And An Even Better Man

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Kosnett.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Kosnett is a really quality guy. He's personable and a good listener. In my case, I was falsely accused of sexual assault and Mr. Kosnett's sound advice may just have saved my college degree. If a similar accusation has been made against you, I strongly recommend that you seek Mr. Kosnett for counsel. He's easy to get in touch with and is very straight forward about the cost of his services. He won't nickel-and-dime you if you have questions, and returns emails and calls promptly. Everything about the way he conducts his business demonstrates how much he genuinely cares about his clients.

  3. Review

    Posted by Alexis,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Kosnett.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    James was extremely helpful in clearing up an incident that involved underage drinking during my junior year of college. He was able to resolve the matter and got the charges reduced from a misdemeanor to an infraction with minimal fees. I can now start my senior year with a fresh start! Thank you again for everything!

  4. Buyer Beware

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Kosnett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Do not hire James Kosnett.

    I hired this attorney to handle an education related case for me and after he accepted a large retainer, he did not follow up with me for nearly six months.

    Mr. Kosnett was supposed to obtain a refund for a college class that should have been paid for by my university. I assumed he was working on my case during the six month period I did not hear from him because he told me he needed some time, but I was wrong.

    When I finally called to see what was going on, he told me he was finished with the case. Basically, all he did was send one email over a six month period before calling it a day. This was after I paid him $2,500.00.

    I have never paid so much for so little and I would never recommend Mr. Kosnett's services to anyone. He was extremely difficult to deal with during our consult as well, constantly interrupting me and at times, I felt he was simply rude and unprofessional. I regret hiring him and I should have known better but I gave him a chance because he seemed like he could deliver. Again, I was wrong.

    Buyer beware. Check out some of the other reviews on this site and it will be easy to see that my experience was not unique.

  5. Mr. Kosnett was a great help!

    Posted by Adam, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Kosnett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Education matter.

    Mr. Kosnett and his firm were very helpful and knowledgeable about the law. He was extremely accommodating of my unique situation and budget as well. I would recommend retaining his services to anyone.

  6. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Eva, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Kosnett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Administrative Law matter.

    Mr.Kosnett is a Brilliant Super Lawyer you definitely want to have on your side ! He is focused, he comes well prepared for the trial and he knows how to fight for you in court. My nursing license was in jeopardy because of a ridiculous complain. Mr. Kosnett knew how to straighten things up and clean things up in the court. He definitely took the huge stress off my shoulders when representing me in court. He is the Best Lawyer in Town I highly recommend. My gratitude will be chasing him forever!

  7. Mr. Kosnett hits homeruns!

    Posted by Angie,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Kosnett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.

    He came highly recommended from UCLA school of law. Mr. Kosnett was able to hit a homerun with my case. Extremely pleased with the outcome!

  8. Legal Review of James Kosnett

    Posted by Mark, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Kosnett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Education matter.

    James Kosnett is an outstanding attorney. He has been practicing law in southern California since 1976 - a total of 37 years. His vast experience in Licensing and Educational Law was certainly very key in having me be successful and winning my case. His ability to be trustworthy, responsive, knowledgeable, and keeping me informed could not have been better. His guidance in my case was crucial in setting the tone and establishing the essential groundwork that led to my success. I am very grateful to him for having represented me in my legal affairs and I certainly could not having asked for a responsible lawyer.

  9. The ultimate Insult to good Lawyers everywhere-Save yourself the money and time.

    Posted by a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Kosnett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Where do I begin. When I first reached out to Mr. Kosnett he was MORE than responsive, compassionate, and attentive. He told me his door was always open and that I could reach him for any concerns--anytime. Well, shortly after I paid him his retainer fee I started having issues with Mr. Kosnett returning calls, even for something as simple as a status update. So, I started e-mailing him--same story. I went for a 5-6 week stretch where I could not get this man to accept my phone call OR return an e-mail. His assistant would speak to me and give me the same story about how he was so shocked no one was returning my e-mails or calls. I won't even begin to tell you about the uncomfortable conversation we had where he tried to dump me as a client by explaining how these things can be similar to boyfriend --girlfriend relationships and how sometimes one person is headed in a different direction and how I wanted him to move in and he simply wanted to break up. I could go on and on, but I think you get the picture. Save yourself the money and trouble.

  10. Highly recommended

    Posted by Laurie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Kosnett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr Kosnett was able to address all my concerns regarding my boyfriend's problem. He is very good listener, and professional. I highly recommend Mr. Kosnett for any concern you may have.
    Very positive experience.

Call James Kosnett now for a Free Consultation

310-444-8898