Carl Michael Shusterman’s Reviews

Carl Michael Shusterman

Average Rating

Based on 335 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outstanding Service

    Posted by FSS, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.

    I used the law office of Carl Shusterman to apply for my green card application for me and my wife.
    I have been dealing with immigration lawyers for almost a decade.This office is by far the best office I have worked with.
    I had the opportunity to work with attorney Raj Iyer and with Judy Lu. Attorney Raj Iyer was very knowledgable. He answered all my questions and assured me that I will receive the best service.
    Most of my communication with the office was with Judy Lu and she was just amazing. She was very professional and courteous. I sent her lots of email inquiries and they were all answered the same day. I called her over the phone few times too and she answered me right away.
    My main concern was to file as soon as possible. And not only they understood that but they filed my application the same day they received the needed documents! Not even a single day of delay!
    I will definitely recommend their office to every one I know for any immigration matter.

  2. The Best Lawyer!

    Posted by Reyhan, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl more than 3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.

    I had the best experience working with Law Offices of Carl Shusterman. The staff is very professional, trustworthy, responsive, knowledgeable and helpful. Every step was handled in the best way possible and I would recommend Mr. Shusterman to anyone who is seeking the best attorney for immigration matters. Thank you so much again!

  3. Thank you for your hard work!

    Posted by Michael, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.

    After we discussed our case with Carl and Ellen, we were greatly convinced by their immigration experience and started our case. Ellen and Judy prepared our documents very carefully. They did an excellent job for our case. Our case went very smoothly. Highly recommend Ellen, Judy and Carl’s law office to anybody who is looking for immigration service!!!

  4. Effective services

    Posted by Sriteja, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 6-12 months ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.

    Carl Shusterman's Law offices helped handled our family's immigration issues. They helped us with everything from filing for H1B, H4 extensions to dealing with all the niceties that go along with filing for permanent residency status. They were always on top with the application deadlines, and made the process fairly transparent for us. With their help, my family eventually got their permanent residency status recently. Our main point of contact at the firm was Ms. Judy Lu. She always responded to our queries in a timely manner. I would highly recommend their services and expertise in the field of immigration law.

  5. Ellen Lee and Elsa Garcia at Carl Shusterman Law Offices are great to work with!

    Posted by Dinu,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.

    Ellen Lee and Elsa Garcia are two wonderful professionals in the legal world. Thanks to their exquisite help, I now have two new Americans in my immediate family. It's their dedication to details and passion in making dreams come true that made it a bliss for our family to navigate through the cumbersome immigration landscape. Ellen and Elsa, you've been great to work with!

  6. Thank you to Carl Shusterman and Staff

    Posted by Alan G, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl more than 3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.

    Thank you Ellen Ma Lee and Elsa Garcia for efforts. Ellen your legal council was invaluable, I would have effeminately been out of status if it were not for you council and guidance. Elsa thank you for guiding me through the paperwork and assisting me through the process of attaining permanent residence. It was along and ardurant journey F1 student status to residency, but thanks to Ellen and Elsa I summited the USCIS mountain an finally got my green card. Thank YOU!!!! I

  7. Definitely The Best Immigration Lawyers

    Posted by Agnieszka, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.

    I would recommend the Law Office of Carl Shusterman to everyone. Elsa Garcia and Ellen Lee took care of our case and they both did a wonderful job! What we feared to be a difficult and confusing process turned out to be a walk in the park.
    We received a lot of attention, contact was great and from the very begin to the end we felt like we were in good hands.
    Elsa and Ellen, thank you!

  8. Awesome

    Posted by nilesh, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.

    Very professional law firm. We had a difficult issue and Mr. Shusterman's office got right onto the case and resolved the issue with USCIS. Because of their efforts, me and my family were able to get our Legal Permanent Residency card. My suggestion to those trying to obtain employment based card. Don't look for money saving attorney. They will cost you lot more in long run. Go to a law firm which is professional and knowledgeable. It pays in the long term.

  9. Ellen Lee and Elsa Garcia got me my happy life back!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.

    Carl Shusterman's office is probably the best one! I had complicated case and I took my time to find a good lawyer. As I was setting up consultations with different lawyers all over LA and OC, every single lawyer was telling me my case was complicated, and there was a high chance I would have to go to an interview and then my application might still be denied, so we would have to apply to the Court of Appeal, and then if it was denied after that I would have to go back to my country of origin. It was all really scary and devastating to hear, since my whole life was already built here in the US: work, school, close friends and my significant other. US was my home already and I could not imagine it any other way. Therefore, hearing the possible negative outcomes from all those lawyers made me feel like they just did not care about me enough and did not believe in my case...I subconsciously started anticipating losing my home and the people I loved. I was getting anxiety attacks every so often, even though my mind was telling me that my reactions were very irrational, my case was not really that complicated, I am a good resident and contributor to the society. My physiological suffering ended the moment I sat down for a consultation with Carl Shusterman. He is so personable and light on the mood, he made me feel better right away. What I really liked about him was the honesty. He told me right away:"We are Mercedes of law companies. We are gonna be twice more expensive than many other places you might go to, BUT we will take very good care of you! Everything will be just fine" Yes! That is exactly what I needed. Someone who believe in my case 100%. Not someone who was focusing on the possible negative outcomes (don't get me wrong, those are definitely possibilities in any case), but someone who truly felt my story and my situation. Ellen Lee and Paralegal Elsa Garcia started working on my case. We put all the paperwork together right away. Before I new it, I already had fingerprints appointment! After that it was just a waiting game. I knew Ellen was working hard on my case, but the anticipation to find out what was happening was making me go crazy. Every time I felt that way, I would give them a call and they would make me feel all better each and every time!!!!(fyi, to those of you folks that are going to be working with Ellen, try not to bug her over the phone. Why? She is definitely nice enough to talk to you and return your call, but think about how many more people's case she is working on, plus your case. If she has to talk to everyone on the phone, she won't have any time left for working on the case itself!!!Would you rather have her win your case, or have some other folks calling her and taking her time away from winning YOUR case? exactly! Just email her, or talk to Elsa. She will make you feel better just as well. Elsa is the sweetest lady ever!! Very caring and motherly!) And one last thing, guess what happened with my case? It is not hard to guess everything went great. But the best part of it all, I DID NOT HAVE TO GO TO AN INTERVIEW AT ALL!! Unbelievable, all those scares from other lawyers, and there I am just staying at home one morning, getting ready for work and get a casual email:"You case has been approved. Your greencard will be coming in them mail,,," I could not believe my eyes. I wanted to cry, scream and run around from happiness. My mind could not comprehend how everything was done in such timely manner, with minimum involvement on my behalf and sooo painlessly. They are the best crew ever! I knew my case was not harder than many other cases out there, and all other lawyers were just trying to rip me off, but these folks just took such an amazing care of me! God bless your entire team. I am tearing up as I am typing this, though it has already been a few months. Carl, Ellen, and Elsa! I want you to know,you guys are like doctors!You make your "patients" heal from all the stress and get their lives back

  10. Evandro Was Represent By A Super Lawer Ellen!

    Posted by Evandro, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shusterman.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Immigration matter.

    I am very happy to hire Ellen to help me with my case.
    And she did a very good job. Thank you to her and Maria C Alvarado.

For best results, hire the best.

213-623-4592