Kenneth James McKenna’s Reviews

Kenneth James McKenna

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Aggressive, Excellent Rip-Off Artist!!!

    Posted by a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kenneth McKenna.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-3 years ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired this "Attorney" for a case against my employer. He only consulted ONCE with me on the telephone. He handed over my documents to a "paralegal" named Andrea. She typed up a complaint. It was not filed. I allowed his "secretary" Megan to direct-debit $100.00/month out of my checking account as I told her this is all I could afford to keep McKenna retained. I subsequently cancelled my card and the credit card I used to pay the original $10,000. I've contacted the paralegal demanding my original documents back. No response.

  2. Be careful of this flat fee attorney! Took $ and did the MINIMUM!

    Posted by Sara J, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kenneth McKenna.
    • I hired Kenneth 6-12 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Worst lawyer ever! Do not hire him!
    He is a flat fee attorney. Once you paid him, he will do the minimun for your case then he will advse you to settle!
    I lost my case big time because ths guy is totally unprepared in court! he took 20 K flat fee, but did not even subpoena one record of my ex. He tried to work with the other side attorney and please the other side so he can just close my case!

    Terrble attorney wth no results!

  3. not satisfied with work performed

    Posted by william, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kenneth McKenna.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-3 years ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    For as much as we paid mckenna he did not invest the time we deserved with our case. Seems he just tries to find the easiest way out with ripping clients off. He doesnt not stand up for the aggressive excellence he was supposed to known for . He is no longer representing us due to us being concerned about our case and expressing ourselves about our concerns

  4. WORST. ATTORNEY. EVER!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kenneth McKenna.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-3 years ago.

    Ken Mckenna took my money, and actually did nothing to help win my case. He was never available, and just made platitudes to appease and avoid the serious questions we had in this matter. The town here in Reno is small, and nearly EVERY attorney I have spoke to since hiring this guy says " I wish you had talked to me first" and "Im so sorry" Avoid his flat rate fee that is how he gets you. He ripped me off to the tune of over $8000 and all I got from him was filed divorce papers and 1 family court appearance (where he did more harm than good). So if you see this continue onto the next lawyer on your list, you have been warned.

  5. One of the worst professional experiences I have had...

    Posted by a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kenneth McKenna.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-3 years ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Litigation matter.

    Ken McKenna' was aloof, and strives to do the least amount of legal work possible. I base this on what work product I viewed, and other clients same accounts all over the internet. Every single person I've spoken with since having this negative experience, including other attorneys, said "I wish you would have asked me about him before you hired him." I'm understanding that while the flat rate seems very attractive to the budget-conscious litigant, the services are limited at best, and most likely all you will get is the assistance of a paralegal or legal assistant handling a majority of your case. You may even get to meet this attorney whose trial experience includes the famed Judas Priest case - whereas he lost, but still rides on this infamous and unfortunate personal tragedy.

    I would recommend that before hiring Ken McKenna - ask around and you'll likely get the same response I did.

  6. I would highly reccomend against retaining this lawyer.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kenneth McKenna.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-3 years ago.
    • Kenneth handled my General Practice matter.

    Retaining this Attorney was a devastating for my family. He basically over promises and under delivers. I was believing the "aggressive excellence" slogan but received the EXACT opposite. His office did nearly nothing by way of legal work in my case. I was forced to hire another attorney to clean up his mess.

  7. Dump Trucker or Ali???

    Posted by Michelle, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kenneth McKenna.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-3 years ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Several months ago My Fiance had gotten into trouble through no fault of his own. We acquired Mr McKenna shortly after. We were confident that the this case would ultimately be dismissed. In the beginning we were impressed. However as more court dates began and our questions increased. Not only were our calls never returned, but when we would show up in person, our questions were not answered. At best we were continuously pacified. It wasn't until it was too late as we were fully invested and could not afford another Attorney that we realized we had made a terrible mistake. The evidence presented against us was not countered. The evidence we had to prove our innocence was not admitted into evidence. Ultimately, every charge stuck. There is a term used when such an event as this occurs..... It's called Dump Trucking. Mr McKenna, is very good at gaining your confidence. He can be a joy to watch as he can be sharp. However; I wish I had known about this site prior to retaining his services..... He is not endorsed by his colleges for a reason. Nor are there any positive reviews from clients. I read one however that was written by his wife Meagon. Be very wary if considering Mr McKenna for any criminal defense, especially if your life depends on it. What was a simple case that should never have materialized, turned into our worst nightmare! He Dump Trucked my Fiance and now he is serving 2 different sentences that truly weren't his. We were only fighting one of those. Not at anytime were we told that there was even a possibility of any other charge..... We found him not to be our Ali, although we had paid for his services. In hind site, we found Mr McKenna's Dedication, Loyalty, Professionalism, and Sincerity to be extremely questionable???? Under no circumstances would we recommend Him to anyone!

  8. Excellent, Aggressive Attorney

    Posted by Megan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth McKenna.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-3 years ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Mr. McKenna to help me with a legal problem that no other attorney would take. My case was handled professionally and I was very pleased and impressed with the way Mr. McKenna and his staff treated me. My calls were returned promptly, my questions and concerns were addressed and taken care of. The best part was that a case I was told by other attorneys couldn't be won, was very successfully litigated by Mr. McKenna. I highly recommend Mr. McKenna. He charges a flat fee so there is no hourly billing and no surprises.

  9. Ken McKenna wins the cases that others say can't be won! Simple as that.

    Posted by Christopher, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth McKenna.
    • I hired Kenneth more than 3 years ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I finally found my freedom when I found a Nevada attorney who truly represents my best interests ahead of anything else.

    Before meeting Ken McKenna, I literally barely survived the nightmare of going through poor, lazy, mishandled representation from other lawyers in the past.

    Now, beyond a shadow of any doubt, after first hiring Ken McKenna a few years ago, I now know that I will never have to worry about my rights, interests, or my legal security ever being in danger again.

    I was told my case could never be won and I would have to take a terrible deal offered to me by the other side.

    Ken took my case anyway and not only WON, but got me my LIFE back!!

    Thank you Ken!! You are the best damn attorney in the whole state of Nevada!!

    --Christopher