John W. Lawit’s Reviews

John W. Lawit

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Immigration Insight

    Posted by Christiano, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Lawit.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Had my first consultation with John regarding information for green cards. I was very impressed with his ability to assess my case, provide options and explain the risks associated with those options. I was looking for a professional to help me make an informed decision and that's exactly what I got - thank you John.

  2. The best Immigration lawyer you can get!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Lawit.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.

    Immigration is a very overwhelming and stressful process, and if you have to go through it, you need somebody who is not only an expert in immigration field but also somebody who can be your friend and supporter. The answer is Mr. Lawit.

    When my wife and I got married, we had no clue where to begin with our immigration process and how to start our paperwork. Thankfully we found John Lawit and he was there for us since the very beginning. John explained the whole process to us so we understood how immigration works, which is very important. He prepared all the forms and spent numerous hours communicating with us, making sure everything is correct. He guided us through each and every step of the process. Mr. Lawit prepared us for anything we might face at the final interview with immigration officer Honestly, after working with John, that interview was a piece of cake.

    At the beginning of the process, we were very fearful that something will go wrong or that we missed some information, but thankfully John knew how to calm us down and assure us that he is here for us. And he was. He stood by our side not only as lawyer but also as somebody who we could entrust and talk to as friends.

    Immigration was not such a scary experience after all, and we owe it all to Mr. Lawit.
    If you want somebody you can trust, somebody who will pay attention to you and who loves to do his job, I absolutely recommend hiring John Lawit!

  3. Immigration process was easy and expeditious with Mr. Lawit!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Lawit.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.

    Hello, I am a US Citizen who married a foreign national. My husband is originally from Europe, and he came to the states to attend the university. My husband and I met in 2011, and shortly after, we fell in love. After we were married we knew that we had to begin the long immigration process because my husband was not a citizen. That is why we turned to John Lawit. We met John through a good friend of ours. Right away, my husband and I acknowledged that John was someone that we could trust. The three of us started the long journey towards that immigration meeting. My husband and I live in Maryland while John lived in New Mexico, but that did not stop John from going above and beyond. He made sure we met him through Skype, sent us emails making sure the paperwork was squared away and took his time explaining each and every complicated task we had to complete. Not once, did we feel alone during this process.

    Last October, we had our immigration meeting. We found out that day that my husband had qualified to become a permanent resident. We were overcome with joy, and we owe it all to John Lawit. Without John’s compassion, loyalty, and patience, we would not have come this far with the immigration process. We owe many thanks to John and we are so blessed to have him as a part of the family. Thanks John!

  4. John Lawit Is an extraordinary lawyer

    Posted by Mehrnoosh, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Lawit.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.

    I tell you this with confidence that John Lawit is the best immigration attorney in US. His knowledge, expertise and his strategy are incomparable. My immigration case was so complicated no attorney even wanted to look at my files. He handled it brilliantly. John is a miracle. He is outstanding, honest and fights for you until wins your case. Do not waste your time and money on other attorneys, go to him. He worths every penny you pay him. John is not only a remarkable attorney also is a great person. We need more of him in this world.

  5. AWFUL service

    Posted by Emanuela, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Lawit.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.

    This guy is ONLY after the money, and I should have known from the start. He pocketed more than $8000 and DID not do his job; passed on my files to paralegals and only met with me to sign contract and receive my check. All is well if the forms to be submitted are no brainer and I ALWAYS prepared everything myself, but he won't follow up and put his own nose in the matter.
    I was with this office for a few years and almost always only met with assistants and had to repeatedly call the office or email to be able to talk to him personally; when my immigration petition was denied at the beginning of this year, due to this office NOT providing the documentation that I had submitted and re-submitted on several occasions, he told me (AFTER THE FACT and AFTER pocketing all my money, which took me a couple of years to pay) that the case "was slated for failure from the beginning"!
    Although I have the qualifications required, I then turned down an appeal as the whole petition had been VERY poorly documented and submitted, which was very obvious once I finally had copies of my files in my hands: a high school kid would have done a much better job, both in presentation AND in properly documenting the petition. He did not lift a finger in my case and I would have liked to sue him had I had a few hundred thousand dollar at my disposal just for this. After several other consultations with immigration attorneys, both in the state of New Mexico and out of state, I received several opinions confirming my findings and the advice has been that the qualifications and requirements were valid and fully satisfactory for my petition, but failed due to misrepresentation and plain disregard of my case.
    I really do not understand how this firm can have 'excellent' rating.... and the more I do research on this guy, the more I find people who had either met with him in the past or asked for consultations and were very poorly impressed.
    I recently switched to a 'less experienced' and 'smaller' firm and successfully resolved my case with one 10th of the cost.

  6. Best Immigration Attorney in town

    Posted by CeCe, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Lawit.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thank God for leading me to Attorney Lawit in the most desperate moment of my life during the adjustment of status process. This whole process was really stressful for me and my husband (USC) because our former lawyer made a complete mess with our paperwork submitted to USCIS (i-485, i-130, i-864...) with wrong information and so on. I also had an arrest of a misdemeanor (but never convicted) and was really scared that it would somehow affected my adjustment of status.

    John understood what we were going through and helped us situated everything. He was very responsive even during weekends when I needed him urgently. I am "greened" now, all thanks to attorney Lawit and his 30-year experience in this practice. If you need a responsible and qualified immigration attorney, John Lawit is the one. His rate is very reasonable among the lawyers in town (I called everywhere and did my research) I cannot thank him enough.

  7. The best and experienced lawyer in immigration matters ,I have ever hired.

    Posted by KayKay, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Lawit.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We have been in USA for 12 years without legal status .I had talked to a lot of lawyers and did a lot of research on the internet if there was a way to get legal status and finally one LUCKY day a family friend introduced me to this gentleman Mr. John Lawit at a lunch meeting. There was no hope of getting legal status before I met him, but all of a sudden I saw a ray of hope. Thanks to Mr.Lawit and his staff. Eventually all my children got green cards in less than a year.
    Mr. Lawit interviewed us and determined that my children would be eligible to immigrate as Special Immigrant Juveniles (SIJ). He drafted all of the documents to go to court and get a proper guardianship order for my children. Then with that order he was able to apply for permanent residence for my children. Immigration had many questions and Mr. Lawit had to submit a multi-page response to USCIS request for evidence. Once USCIS received Mr. Lawit’s response they approved all three applications for my children.
    John Lawit is a wonderful lawyer! He has helped my family get green cards when every other attorney said it was impossible. Even though our case is now closed, he still continues to inform us about updates and changes in the law. He was always on time and to the point when he did his work. He really takes each of these cases on a very passionate level. Over all, he is just amazing at what he does and I could not have asked for a better lawyer to handle my case!
    I would recommend him to everyone who needs to deal with immigration

  8. The most compassionate lawyer!

    Posted by Houman, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Lawit.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    There are two people who have helped me the most in life; my father & John Lawit, JD!
    As an International Medical Graduate, I had to go through many challenges to be able to practice medicine in the US! After passing medical boards, I had to get my immigration status fixed before starting my practice! It was the most difficult step that I had to take! My first attorney dropped my case, unfortunately he was very disloyal & incompetent! I moved to NM & met Mr. Lawit! He told me from the beiginning that I have a hard case! He was extremely professional knowing what steps we should take to get me the green card! He helped my wife to come to the US and now I am practicing in the US enjoying life with my wife & son! Without him, it'd be impossible to make this happen! I truly appreciate his expertise and knowledge in immigration laws.

  9. He saved me after 10 layers had told met here was no hope

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Lawit.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I had been married to a US citizen. My husband abandoned me and did not come to my interview. Immigration that got a deportation order that I did not know about. I saw 10 lawyers trying to get my case fixed. Those attorneys who did not steal my money told me my only hope was to commit marriage fraud. I lost thousands of dollars on attorneys who did nothing but take my money.

    I had now been illegal 15 years. Then I met Mr. Lawit. He devised a strategy to reopen my deportation and then reopen my residency. We went to court in LA and he convinced the judge to reopen my deportation and get the case sent to my home USCIS office. After a few months I received my green card and then 90 days later I got my citizenship.

    No attorney told me this could be done. Because Mr. Lawit had over 30 years of experience he knew exactly what to do when nobody else did. He saved my life after being illegal for so many years. He and his staff are the best. If anyone can help it is John Lawit.