John C Gilmore Jr’s Reviews

John C Gilmore Jr

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. John is one of God greatest gift to us

    Posted by Don & Sharyn, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gilmore.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    John Gilmore is an excellent Lawyer he is not only knowledge but also empathetic. He knows the law and his tenacious personalty gets the job done. We had John Gilmore for one of our foster children a couple years ago and were very impressed with him has a lawyer and a man.So when my husband was falsely accused John took our case against my husband of sexual molestation of one of our foster children. He connected us with another professional together they build the case . Department of Economic Security then vacated the hearing.

  2. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Cal, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gilmore.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John represented us in a custody case involving our granddaughter. John showed up to all our hearings, and there was a lot of them, on time and prepared. He represented us as grandparents, as we were dragged into the custody battle and needed representation. John took very good care of us and kept all slanderous remarks in check.

    John was a very caring lawyer and kept us up to date on all motions. He worked well with our son's attorney, Child Protective Services and our granddaughter's attorney. We felt that John did a great job keeping us in contact with our granddaughter.

  3. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Mike & Marcie, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gilmore.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    We live in Pa and hired John to help with trying to gain custody of our Grandchildren. From the very beginning, we felt like we had known him forever and he treated us like friends not just clients. The odds were stacked against us from the beginning, but John gave us a fighting chance. He gave us access to records that we could not have seen any other way. Although the decision did not go in our favor, we feel that John did his very best. We are very greatful for the doors he opened for us to be involved in our Grandchildrens lives. We would highly recommend John in any type of child custody case.

  4. Excellent Representation

    Posted by Robin, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gilmore.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr Gilmore has represented us in two cases through foster care to our adoption. We respected his representation to the extent that we hired him personally in another matter. Although the outcome was not what we hoped for, Mr Gilmore's representation of us in this matter was excellent. He maintained open communication, worked around our schedule, and kept us informed of any additional options that we had.

  5. The Best lawyer I have ever had the priviledge to have worked with

    Posted by Karen, a Guardianship client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gilmore.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Guardianship matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have known John Gilmore personally for over 14 years. I hired him for a guardianship case in 2004, the case lasted almost a year, and during that time John was always available 24/7 to explain and help me with the emotional toll these cases take on. He explained everything clearly every step of the way, he was always on time, always prepared for the trials and I knew with him as my lawyer I would win and I did. Every person that was involved with the legal proceedings had the utmost respect for John and told me so. Everyone that I have ever met that had any dealings with John personally or professionaly has nothing but postive things to say about him. I believe that anyone that has the privilege to hire John Gilmore will be more that satisfied with the results as I was. As a small business owner I understand the importance of having someone helping you that has your best interests at heart and knowing that you will be treated fairly, both financially and honestly. John Gilmore is more than both, he goes beyond the "call of duty".

  6. Outstanding representation

    Posted by David, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gilmore.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Gilmore represented us in a placement review hearing. It was a highly complex case that involved numerous witnesses. This was a difficult time and he proved to be highly compassionate as he patiently explained the legal process, answering all questions with a great deal of legal knowledge. During the trial, Mr. Gilmore proved to be well-prepared and a highly skilled advocate for our position. Ultimately, our position was supported by the Court and we were very satisfied with the legal services Mr. Gilmore provided.

  7. The Finest Child Abuse Lawyer in Tucson

    Posted by Gwendolyn, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gilmore.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    John Gilmore, Jr was highly recommended to me by two separate contacts as the best family law and child dependency lawyer in town. After retaining him for for my case, I could not agree more!

    In my first meeting with Mr. Gilmore he patiently outlined the child dependency process to me, explained the options available to me, and shared his thoughts based on his years of experience. This was all very new to me but I felt I was in good hands.

    During my case there were many appearances in court. Mr. Gilmore was always thoroughly prepared for court and took the time to explain to me the purpose of the hearings and the possible outcomes. He was respectful to all parties involved at all times, both in and out of the court room. He was trustworthy and displayed the highest level of integrity.

    As my case progressed Mr. Gilmore promptly communicated updates and developments to me. He counseled me as to when he and I did or did not need to appear in court. He clearly explained the various documents and hearings and provided his recommendations. He answered my questions and was efficient in his use of time spent on my case between email, telephone, and in-person meetings. I never felt rushed or that my time was under used, and he was always available and responsive.

    Mr. Gilmore was also resourceful and assisted me in finding training classes and other support systems offered through the court system and the community. These were really quite helpful and worth my time. It is apparent that Mr. Gilmore is quite knowledgeable of the dependency process and the juvenile court system.

    When I first met Mr. Gilmore I had no idea what to expect in the upcoming eighteen months. It was an emotional journey for me that ended favorably for myself and my family. I feel that Mr. Gilmore's extensive talents, professional demeanor, and many years of experience contributed to this positive outcome. I would, without hesitation, recommend Mr. Gilmore as the finest child abuse lawyer in Tucson.

  8. Responsive & Professional

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gilmore.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John was a saving grace. We were out of state clients and needed representation local in Tuscon to get custody of a child. We tried battling the system on our own for months even tried finding an attorney on our own and were disappoint twice to hear from these attorney's that we didn't have a case.

    So frustrated that we weren't making progress we contacted a family member who is a lawyer who contacted some law school associates in Arizona and John was one of two that came highly recommended. My husband and I decided to go with whomever called back first. John called the same day.

    He was instantly comforting, thought we had a case, sympathetic and didn't promise anything but to plead our position. Within a month of contacting him, John had a hearing set. Five months later we have the child in our care and are proceeding with adoption.

    Now I know not everyone's case can have a happy ending such as ours, but John will try his best to support you, stay within the law and fight for what's in the best interest.

    Thank you from the bottom of our hearts John.

  9. Represented 2 beautiful little girls

    Posted by Tish, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gilmore.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was from out of state and John Gilmore was recommended to me by a friend in Az. I still talk about John a lot to my friends and how much he helped to save my 2 grandaughters. Because of John, my grandaughters are healthy, happy and safe forever. I will be forever grateful in his fight to bring these children home to grandparents that loved them more than anything in the world. John always answered all my phone calls and e-mails immediately. Kept me informed on everything from beginning to end. If it were not for John Gilmore I really don't know what I would have done. Our family had never been involved in any child abuse case in our family. I met him under very difficult circumstances and he made me comfortable from that first meeting up to our last when we brought the girls home. He also has a wonderful assistant that I talked to many times when John was in court. I thank John for everything he did to make our family happy again and complete.

  10. Client review

    Posted by Brian, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gilmore.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We found John after having issues with a Dependency case. He came HIGHLY recommended by his peers and came thru for us. After a long battle trying to do the right thing and represent ourselves to no avail, John Gillmore was not only thorough,knowledgable VERY responsive to our needs and the best interest of the child involved. We are VERY pleased with his handling of this case and would recommend him to others in need.