Michael A Harwin’s Reviews

Michael A Harwin

Average Rating

Based on 38 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. An amazing lawyer as well as a great guy!!!

    Posted by Estella, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Harwin.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael Harwin is an amazing lawyer, as well as a really funny and great guy! He helped me step by step get through my DUI case, when I was really scared. I was looking at a pretty harsh sentence and he had it lowered to practically nothing. He always returns phone calls and e mails as soon as possible. He keeps in touch with his clients and makes sure that they are doing well. He recommends great programs too. I would definitely recommend him to any of my family or friends that may be in a difficult situation with the law. He is an extremely skilled and bright guy. In my opinion he is the greatest lawyer in Tucson! I really thank him for helping me in many ways. Do not hesitate to call him as soon as possible he will most probably meet with you the next day to get the process started, again great lawyer!!!!

  2. DUI Case

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Harwin.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Michael was an excellent ally throughout what was a very troubling time for me. I was arrested for a DUI and Michael guided me through what would have otherwise been an unnavigable ordeal. I wanted to be informed on my case throughout the process and Michael was accommodating in this respect. He met with me often just to do status updates and was upfront about my potential prospects of a trial. In the end we were able to get a plea to a lesser charge. I am quite certain that without his representation I would have a DUI on my record right now.

    If you are currently looking for a lawyer due to a DUI charge, I cannot stress enough how important it is to have legal representation. You do not know enough to maximize the chance of a positive outcome alone. I am very comfortable recommending that you consult Michael Harwin to be your representative.

    If you find yourself in legal troubles related to a DUI,

  3. Knowledgeable, Trustworthy, diligent , Compassionate

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Harwin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I had an issue downtown where I wasn't sure what exactly to do. So I thumbed through some online ads and started to set up consultations to see what my options where. Mr. Harwin happened to be the first and only lawyer I talked to. When I first met Mr. Harwin he made me feel comfortable about meeting with him and discussing my situation. Mr. Harwin was up front with me on how things would and could go regardless of outcome. I found that quality to be one of the biggest things that stuck with me. (Honesty)Which is very hard to find these days. Mr. Harwin wasn't about just doing his job he wanted to make sure I was making the right choices to hire him to defend me as well as the right choice for me. After our consultation he was even willing help me with some things even before I eventually chose to hire him. That in itself says a lot about him as a person he truly cared about my situation as a "person" not a client. Once I hired him a few days later he went to work on my case and was very informative with anything new and this went on for a little over a year. He kept the same motivation as the first day all the way to the very end. He always asked how I was doing and how things where for me throughout the whole process. Once he succeed in my case he was still very honest with my case and letting me know the possibilities. I'm truly thankful for all the hard work, dedication and true compassion Mr. Harwin had towards me and my case. I would recommend that if you have any situation that you at least call Mr. Harwin and see for yourself.

  4. Simply the best!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Harwin.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My son was charged with Criminal Damage resulting from an automobile accident. Allegations related to drug use were involved. I was asked for help in hiring an attorney. Unfortunately I live out of state and have no familiarity with Tucson lawyers. I do however have a law degree and know what to look for and what questions to ask when hiring an attorney.

    Three critical areas immediately come to mind - competence, integrity and communications. Michael excels in all three and also has a fourth quality which serves his clients well - compassion! Prior to speaking with him, I checked Michael's rating in Martindale Hubbel to see what his peer group thought of him. He has an exemplary rating.

    With that information in hand, I called and spoke with him. He had none of the arrogance often found in highly rated attorneys. Quite the opposite. He was gracious, engaging and focused on the problem at hand. After our conversation, I was convinced that Michael was the best choice in Tucson to handle my son's case. Just to be sure, two other criminal defense attorneys were also interviewed.

    Michael and his staff thoroughly investigated the charges and the evidence. If found guilty, my son faced a possible multi-year sentence. Rather than go to trial, Michael was able to negotiate a deal with the District Attorney resulting in a 6 month sentence for which my son was incarcerated for about 3 months. Our family viewed this outcome as a major success, a definite win!

    Remember that fourth quality I mentioned earlier, compassion? That played a significant role in the process. My son surrendered himself and was taken into custody 2 months prior to his sentencing hearing. During that time, aside from communicating with the family, Michael made a special effort to provide guidance to my son's spouse who had no one else to turn to. That showed me a lot. I am convinced without a doubt that Michael was the best choice.

    While I normally refrain from granting endorsements, I happily make an exception in this case. If you, or a loved one, find yourself in need of legal counsel, I heartily recommend Michael Harwin.

  5. I can breathe again!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Harwin.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was stopped for a DUI and felt that my life had ended. I had actually pulled over and went to sleep because I was feeling unable to drive, but the officers didn't take that into consideration at all. I was so confused as what to do next. I went online and started doing some investigation. What I found out scared me. This situation could've cost me a lot of money and possibly my job. I read a lot of reviews on lawyers and decided to make some appointments. I went to see Michael Harwin and then cancelled all the other appointments. He was very easy to talk to and he was honest and upfront about the situation. He told me the best way to proceed then kept me informed along the way. Whenever I had questions or concerns, I would e-mail or call him and receive prompt, honest answers from either himself or his assistant. About a month into the case, I received a letter saying the case was dismissed and called him. He explained that the case could still be re-opened. I appreciated the honesty. I received a call from him the other day (4 months later) to give me info. about MVD and he told me my case was dismissed for good. It can't haunt me anymore! I was so relieved and I felt that I could breathe again! I am so glad that I hired Michael. I was concerned at first about spending the money on a top-notch lawyer, but his rates were not that bad especially when you consider the money he saved me. And he gave me back my life!

  6. If you need an attorny, you need Mr Harwin

    Posted by Amy Goldman-Hawthorne, a Animal Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Harwin.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Animal Law matter.

    First I have to say, I have never had a run in with the "the law" and I am naieve to all things legal. So when I let my dog off his leash and got a ticket from an overzealous dog cop, I was devastaed. Especially to learn this was a misdemenor felony. I contacted Mr Harwin and initially spoke to his assistant Letty. Letty is an angel. Letty walked me through the whole process and was so kind and responsive to every email or phone call I made. I was actually suprised at how responsive she was and how much meeting her in the front end, really put my mind at ease. Then came time for me to meet with Mr Harwin. As I mentioned, I am not accustomed to lawyers, all I know are the stories I have heard, so I was trepedatious as I made my way to our appointment. As soon as I walked in however, my fears diappeared. Mr Harwin was engaging, honest, to the point, compassionate and above all else, really cared about my case. Even though I imagine that for him, this case was "small potatos", he understood that it was a big deal to me, and he really showed up for me everty step of the way. I am very grateful to Mr Harwin, Letty and my family member who referred me. I would recommend Mr Harwin to anyone looking for an attorny who is different than all the stories we hear about lawyers. Someone who cares, hes fair and he does his job and does it well. Thank you Mr Harwin and Letty, I really appreciate you both from the bottom of my heart

  7. Unfairly Charged with a DUI

    Posted by sue, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Harwin.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was falsely accused of a DUI driving home one evening, I thought my life had ended, I was in a panic and could not believe some of the things the officer was saying about me, I was treated like a convicted criminal. The next morning I contacted one of Tucson's well known and highly experienced attorneys, Michael Harwin. My anxiety level was off the charts, I was the sole support of two children and carried a license that could be put into jeopardy by the accusation alone.
    Mr. Harwin treated me with respect, told me he would fight for my rights. I developed a deep sense of peace of mind and trust after my first meeting with Mr. Harwin. He then went to work for me to prove my innocence. He was mindful of the judicial protocols and showed respect for the courts, judges and law enforcement agencies, but never intimidated by them. Mr. Harwin is a deeply committed attorney, he has heart and truly cares about his clients. He was patient with my endless parade of questions and fears of the unknown, he walked me through every challenge that was put in front of us, he is fearless, intelligent, and a deep thinker, someone you want in your corner if the situation arises.
    I was found NOT GUILTY on all charges, thank you for giving me back my life. Tucson is truly blessed to have such a highly experienced attorney.. Mr. Michael Harwin.

  8. Genius lawyer who saved my backside... and actually a really nice, funny guy

    Posted by Matt, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Harwin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I figure if you're reading this web site, you might be facing a very difficult situation ahead of you. Trust me, I was there. I thought I'd lose my family. I thought my life was crumbling around me. The police were lying to me, a lying detective was calling me and members of my family, pressuring them into telling me to provide written confessions because they had a weak case. They went so far as to encourage me to break the law in order to help the prosecuting attorney win the case. And if you're a good person who typically trusts law enforcement, you might be willing to believe them.

    I thank God every day that I had some savings for an emergency like this, trusted my instincts, laughed (quietly) at these liars and gave Michael Harwin a call.

    Michael is an incredible advocate for his clients. He is an aggressive, knowledgeable lawyer that uses his powers for the good of his clients. Michael breaks the stereotype of criminal defense lawyers by actually being a likable, principled individual who can talk to individuals at all walks of life.

    I would absolutely recommend Michael to anyone who was willing to invest in the best possible defense lawyer in the area to protect their rights. Michael's actions saved me from a very difficult situation and prevented me from having a criminal record. I learned an incredible amount of information from Michael and tried to use every second learning from him.

  9. Epitomey of awesomeness

    Posted by Donna, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Harwin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    I met Michael Harwin after being in car vs motorcycle accident. I was traumatized by the whole accident. It was just that, an accident. Yet I was charged with a criminal citation. I am in the medical field and this could have caused some issues with my license. Micheal immediately knew I was charged with the wrong citation and opened the law books to the right section. He knew this could be fought without too much difficulty. His knowledge of the law is impressive. His compassion for an individuals situation is commendable. I entered into his office an emotional mess and left feeling reassured. His demeanor is impeccable. He was able to refer me to other individuals that I may have needed to cope with the stress of my accident and the legalities that may have an affect on my license. I felt secure and reassured. I never stepped foot into a courtroom. My case from beginning to end was <6 months. I was always informed immediately of any changes or updates. My case was completely dismissed to my surprise, but not to his. I would put my trust in him again. He gives Attorneys a new reputation. I wish they were all like him. I can honestly say I have an attorney whom I call friend! Thank you so much for being who you are. It was a pleasure and an honor in meeting you. My life has been returned to me. With utmost gratitude I thank you.

  10. Saved my career and my reputation

    Posted by Jasmine, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Harwin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am a member the U.S. Army Reserves and an Army civil servant. I received an extreme DUI July 2012 in Tucson, Az. My career and reputation were in jeopardy and I was not sure what to do. With the assistance of a friend, I found Mr. Michael Harwin. His credentials, reputation and track record are why I chose to hire Mr. Harwin to represent my case in court. Mr. Harwin and his staff care about their clients. They continuously kept me informed on any changes in my case, which is extremely reassuring especially when you find yourself in a predicament such as a DUI. It took a little over 10 months to find out the results of my case, but in the end Mr. Harwin was able to fight to get my DUI dismissed in May 2013. It is clear that he cares and puts forth the time and effort towards gathering evidence to dismiss or suppress your case. I will forever be grateful for Mr. Hawin and his staff’s efforts during my case over the past year. I recommend Mr. Harwin to anyone who finds themselves in this predicament; definitely well worth your time and money.

520-624-3500