Joan M Bundy’s Reviews

Joan M Bundy

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great Job!!

    Posted by Steven, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Bundy.
    • I hired Joan 1-6 months ago.
    • Joan handled my Family matter.

    I contacted Joan reference a divorce issue. Joan walked me through the process and advised me on how to handle the issues and what the possible pitfalls might be. Joan communication skills were excellent. She called when she stated she would and answer emails promptly. Joan did an excellent job of writing a response to a motion and counter motion which were well received by the court. I would recommend Joan on any family law matter you might have.

  2. Very dependable and hard-working attorney!

    Posted by Jonathan, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Bundy.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Child Custody matter.

    Joan has helped me with my child custody case for the past year and I couldn't imagine a better attorney for the job.

    Such a case requires you to put nearly every personal thing you have about your life on the table and I couldn't ask for a more professional and trustworthy attorney to handle such a matter for me.

    She responded quickly to every email I ever sent her and patiently answered all my questions, eased my concerns and kept me informed throughout every step in the process, a most important courtesy when going through such a difficult time.

    She has worked hard and efficiently with me to ensure that I had the best possible shot in court and represented me very well when the day finally came.

    As for the money, a good family law attorney is going to be relatively expensive... it is a field that requires loads of knowledge, experience and time. At least you get what you pay for with Joan, and without "surprises".

  3. Great attorney for same sex couples!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Bundy.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Child Custody matter.

    My partner and I retained Joan to assist us with working out parenting time and legal custody for our son that we share with another couple. Through the entire process of working out the proposed parenting plan, Joan was extremely knowledgeable and confident. She went out of her way to educate us on every step of the process, next steps and what to expect. She is prompt to return emails and phone calls, which is a huge plus when dealing with time sensitive and at times, and emotional situations. Throughout everything, Joan handled the situation with the upmost professionalism. We highly recommend her for working with same sex parents or opposite sex parenting plan needs.

    1. Joan M Bundy

      Joan M Bundy

      Lawyer Comment:

      Wow! Am I flattered! I will strive to continue to live up to this ideal on an ongoing basis. I do search out and try to help same-sex individuals because their legal needs are so challenging and they often get passed over by attorneys who are homophobic or just afraid to tackle difficult legal issues. I definitely empathize with the situations they find themselves in, especially with the patchwork of laws we have right now in the United States for same-sex marriage and other LGBTQ legal issues. Sure, DOMA has fallen in some respects, but in some places (like Arizona, where I practice), anti-gay laws are alive and well. Forget being able to divorce here, and put aside any hopes of second-mother or second-father parental rights or adoption. It takes an attorney who is motivated, creative and up on current caselaw and legal trends to try to work around these roadblocks and come up with useful solutions for same-sex individuals and couples. Thanks again for putting your faith in me!

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  4. Joan Bundy is an Ethical Attorney

    Posted by Deborah, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Bundy.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joan was very professional while handling my case against an attorney that was less then ethical.
    Joan held her ground and remained confident the entire time.

  5. Get it done right!

    Posted by christen, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Bundy.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joan Bundy thoroughly investigated my case and always had time to listen to and address my concerns. She is and has been very organized and keeps up to date with details regarding my case. She also has taken swift action when it has been necessary. I would highly recommend Joan Bundy if you are looking for an assertive, capable and compassionate attorney.

  6. EXCELLANT ASSISTANCE

    Posted by Mary, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Bundy.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From day one, Joan has been right on top of things, keeping me up to date on what has been happening, whether it be an email or a phone call. She has shared what the next step would be and what I could expect. Before every appearance, she worked with me, sharing what I might see happen in the courtroom. Following leaving the courtroom, Joan and I would sit in the hallway and she would explain what just took place inside. Then we would talk about what we would be doing next. She has been verry patient and und3rstanding with my individual situation. I would highly recommend Joan to anyone.

  7. Follow your own contract

    Posted by a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Joan Bundy.
    • I hired Joan more than 3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Appeals matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was a client of Joan Bundys. When I went to see Joan about my case and I gave her 1000.00 for her to type appeal paperwork for me. Joan told me that would be enough for her to type paperwork for me. When received my final bill from Joan (me thinking it should be at zero) it was for 2000.00 more. When I questioned Joan she stated she needed outside help. Her contract states that if she runs out of money she will contact you for further monies before she proceeds with your case. she did not contact me. Thus costing me 2000.00 more.

    1. Joan M Bundy

      Joan M Bundy

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am sorry to hear this client (it was actually two clients, who were co-parties) may have had some dissatisfaction regarding my billing practices. Unfortunately, the State Bar of Arizona finds that this is the most common area of complaint that attorneys' clients voice if anything at all.

      To try to avoid any and all possible conflicts, confusions or misunderstandings over client billing, one thing I make sure to NEVER do is make any false promises. My fee agreement-attorney/client contract clearly states (and always has, since I started private practice years ago) that I cannot precisely predict or accurately guarantee the total cost of services, particularly because the complexity and uniqueness of issues can vary so much from case to case. Here is an excerpt from my current agreement that reflects that policy: "Based on the information you have provided me so far, I estimate that it will take at least _______ hours of my time to help you resolve the legal matter(s) for which you have sought help. Therefore, you will need to deposit $ ______ at this time to help cover the expenses I reasonably anticipate will be incurred toward trying to achieve your desired outcome. This payment is only an initial advance fee and not an estimate or guarantee of the total costs of your representation."

      I am not opposed to negotiating flat fee arrangements for specified, limited-scope services, although such an occasion has not yet arisen. I find that in general it is much more fair to all parties involved to simply charge for actual time spent working on their matter, by the hour (actually, in one-tenths of an hour, or 6-minute increments, much as accountants and many other kinds of professionals tend to do).

      Yes, this client did give me a certain sum of money at our initial consultation, but that was simply to get started with the work as I do require payment at or before the time of service. However, as it got down to the wire on thefiling the appeal response, there was not enough time to request or obtain additional funds from the client in time to meet the deadline. So I felt it was much better to finish the appellate response and ensure I filed it in a timely manner so as not to foreclose any the client's substantive judicial rights, then sort out the billing as soon as possible thereafter.

      I never overcharged this client; like all my other clients, I simply charged for the work that was involved. Also, as the client mentioned in her review, I did contract out some of the work to an attorney who only does research and writing of court filings, which I might add was at a drastically reduced rate compared to my own hourly rate, thus saving my client a substantial amount of money.

      Again, I am sorry if she was less than thrilled with the cost, but many appeals run into the tens of thousands and this one did not. Also, I think she may be confusing her dissatisfaction with the outcome (they did not succeed in defending against the appeal) with dissatisfaction with the quality of legal work performed or the reasonableness of the fees charged for that work.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  8. It's important to be prepared

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Joan Bundy.
    • I hired Joan more than 3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Although Ms. Bundy is a very nice person, she was ill prepared during my case and when all was said and done, I would have been better off to just do the work myself. There were some very obvious things she had missed and even the judge had pointed them out.

    1. Joan M Bundy

      Joan M Bundy

      Lawyer Comment:

      I’m not sure who wrote this review, so I am unable to provide a very detailed or specific response. Nevertheless, I am sorry to hear that this person felt dissatisfied with my services in any way. Honestly, I was surprised to read these comments because I pride myself in preparing meticulously for all court appearances. But I do appreciate and take seriously all client feedback, even if it is critical. Often there are legal strategies and procedural issues that may not be apparent to anyone other than the lawyer, and concerns about these matters can usually be cleared up through honest, open communication. In the future, I will redouble my efforts to keep my clients informed every step of the way. Thank you.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  9. Just what I needed at the time for a difficult case

    Posted by Rob, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Bundy.
    • I hired Joan more than 3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a somewhat complicated case & not knowing Arizona law that well as I'd just moved here 6 months before, Joany became invaluable not only as a guide, but also as a friend. I was facing a couple of different legal as well as medical problems and Joan was always very patient, doing what I asked unless there was a specific or strategic reason not to. Her patience with me not only helped win both legal cases, but has allowed me to start getting back on my feet. My case was complex enough I don't think it would have been fair to ask for a flat rate, but if what you have is typical, you may want to ask about this.

  10. My experience with Joan

    Posted by Steve, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Joan Bundy.
    • I hired Joan more than 3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joan Bundy is a family attorney who is very dedicated to her profession and is becoming a force to be reckoned with.
    If you want an attorney who is honest to a fault and dedicated to her profession, there is non better.
    Even though Joan is fairly new to her practice she is willing to research every case and ask for assistance when she is not entirely sure how to proceed. These qualities are as rare in an attorney as they are in a medical doctor. I think Joan is a good attorney principally because she is willing to ask for assistance of others who are older and wiser than she in able to give her clients the best possible outcome. Some attorneys are not willing to ask for assistance from those who are more experienced because of pride but, Joan will.

Let Joan Bundy Law help you move forward as painlessly and efficiently as possible.

480-463-4600