Dwane M Cates’s Reviews

Dwane M Cates

Average Rating

Based on 29 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. another legal "win' for Dwane Cates

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dwane Cates.
    • I hired Dwane 6-12 months ago.
    • Dwane handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Cates set the tone for the results we were able to achieve in our case. He kept us informed throughout the process and as a result of his know-how he brought about successful conclusion to our case. By meeting with the prosecutor and judge in chambers prior to sentencing- he made a huge difference in the final outcome.
    We are so grateful and hiring Cates made a big difference.

  2. thank you Dwayne

    Posted by Paul, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dwane Cates.
    • I hired Dwane 1-3 years ago.
    • Dwane handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was falsely charged with 7 F2's. And Dwane believed in me and proved to the prosecution that they did not have a case against me. After 9 months I was released...free and clear. He was always available and worked closely with me and my family. He was honest and straight forward with me and with what I could be facing if I were to be found guilty. I appreciated his professionalism, availability and honesty.

  3. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Candace, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dwane Cates.
    • I hired Dwane 1-3 years ago.
    • Dwane handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Dwane Cates to represent my son in a high profile sex crime. I looked up criminal lawyers on the internet and found several that I was interested in. I read Mr. Cates' reveiws and thought he might be too good to be true. After talking to him we decided to hire him. Dwayne went above and beyond to visit my son, even on Christmas Eve. His staff is remarkable, also, very friendly and helpful! He did a great job and my son, visiting him often, keeping him informed and we got a great result. The other reviews that I read were correct. I found other lawyers that were less money but we are very glad we spent the extra money for Mr. Cates. He was always easy to communicate with and considerate of our concerns. I would highly recomend him!!

  4. Great Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dwane Cates.
    • I hired Dwane 1-3 years ago.
    • Dwane handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Attorney Dwane Cates and his staff have left a life-long great impression on me for the constant level of professionalism they exuberated during the entire time of my life-changing ordeal and for the great outcome of my case that came about because of the dedicated, hard work Attorney Cates put in. I had an aggravated assault case, and hired Attorney Cates. From the start, he was very upfront and honest with me about the chances of getting a plea deal from the facts I told him about the case. However, during this ordeal which strectched for almost 10 months, him and his staff kept me completely informed about court proceedings and dates, possible plea deals being discussed, and showed great understanding about what I was going though dealing with this situation. After months of hard work by Attny Cates, he was able to get me a plea where I got no prison time, only 18 months probabtion, and when I complete my probabtion, my charge will be changed from a felony to a misdeamenor. Wow!! Great work Attny Cates and Staff. You Come Fully Recommended.

  5. Extremely Professional, trustworthy

    Posted by Jared, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Dwane Cates.
    • I hired Dwane 1-3 years ago.
    • Dwane handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Top Notch Professionalism, the kind of person that 'under-promises and over-delivers'. Dwane got my marijuana possession charges completely dismissed after warning me upfront that there was only 'a 5-10% chance' based on the details of my case. I was pulled over on the I-8 30 miles E of Yuma after the border patrol checkpoint drug sniffing dog alerted the agents to search my car. I handed the agents my bag of 'goodies' before they even searched my car, hoping that by being honest I could avoid being detained for very long in some town in the middle of the desert. After answering all of the officers questions and basically giving a full confession they wrote me up and let me continue on my drive to Phoenix. The next day I called several lawyers and Dwane stood out as the most professional and patient. During our initial conversations Dwane advised me that there was a slim chance of getting the charges dismissed based on my confession, the type of honesty that makes it easy to trust him. My trust in him paid off, because after 5 months and a lot of work on his part I still have a clean record and all charges were completely dismissed! I highly suggest talking to him before settling on your legal representation!

  6. CASE DISMISSED!

    Posted by Robert, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dwane Cates.
    • I hired Dwane more than 3 years ago.
    • Dwane handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After crossing the CA/AZ border in Yuma, AZ, I was detained by the Border Patrol when it was discovered that I had a marijuana pipe in my car. I contacted Mr. Cates, an AZ criminal attorney who took my case. His expertise and professionalism, as well as his staff's professionalism was amazing. Mr. Cates took complete charge and worked diligently on my behalf for several months and was able to have my case dismissed. If you have any type of criminal matter that needs the attention of an outstanding Arizona criminal attorney Mr. Cates is the only one I would recommend. In retrospect his fees where an excellent value in light of the fact that I will not be subject to a criminal record.

  7. He Got My Case Dismissed!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Dwane Cates.
    • I hired Dwane more than 3 years ago.
    • Dwane handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was on a road trip going from Ca to Az and got caught at the border patrol inspection center in Yuma. I received a citation for possession of marijuana and marijuana paraphernalia with the court date attached. I immediately contacted Mr. Cates and his law office for help. The staff there are very knowledgeable and respond quickly to any phone calls or emails regarding the case. Mr. Cates was able to get my case dismissed, with all charges dropped. I'm amazed in how short of time he was able to get it taken care of for me. I would not hesitate to hire Mr. Cates, he is a very experienced and responsive lawyer that provides excellent results!!

  8. Best Criminal Lawyer Ever!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dwane Cates.
    • I hired Dwane more than 3 years ago.
    • Dwane handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was on a road trip going from Ca to Az and got caught at the border patrol inspection center in Yuma. I received a citation charging me with possession of marijuana and marijuana paraphernalia. I immediately contacted Mr. Cates law office to try to avoid having to go to court. It was no hassle on my part; Mr. Cates and his assistants were very knowledgeable and responsive to any questions or concerns I had regarding the matter. I'm amazed in how short of time he was able to get the case dismissed with all charges dropped. I would not hesitate to hire Mr. Cates again, he is a wonderful lawyer that provides excellent results!!

  9. best decision i ever made

    Posted by Cody, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dwane Cates.
    • I hired Dwane more than 3 years ago.
    • Dwane handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I couldnt ask for more, i was moving from CA to GA and got caught up in a boarder inspection right inside AZ. I got a court date but was to be in GA at my new job i was starting so i called Mr. Cates. I did not have to appear in court and best of all my case was dismissed!!! thanks again for everything.

  10. Dwane Cates and his Staff saved my husbands life!!!!

    Posted by ERICHARD, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Dwane Cates.
    • I hired Dwane more than 3 years ago.
    • Dwane handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband retained Mr. Cates in Oct. 2010 after he was arrested and wrongfully charged with possession of marijuana and transportation of marijuana for sale. Both charges were serious F2 felony violations and to add fuel to the fire my husband was not a "legal" u.s. citizen (but was in the process of obtaining legal status). Upon contacting Mr. Cates he was very confident he could be of assistance and very knowledgeable of the law. I'll admit after 2 1/2 months my husband and I became a bit pessimistic about the outcome of the case but Mr. Cates always assured me he was putting for a valiant effort. Well needless to say I received a call from Mr. Cates assistant on 2/15/11 stating the charges against my husband were being dropped!!! Mr. Cates remained confident the state's case was weak and he would go to bat for us. I say if you need a good criminal defense attorney PLEASE DO NOT HESITATE TO CALL MR. CATES!! HE CANNOT WORK "MAGIC" BUT HE WILL DO HIS BEST TO ENSURE FAIR & JUST OUTCOME.