James E Simpson’s Reviews

James E Simpson

Average Rating

Based on 38 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A God send

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Simpson.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    James was very knowledgeable and made me feel confident in his skills and my case. He was able to turn the "worse case" scenario into the "best case" scenario and dramatically had my charges reduced. He understood the personal turmoil of going through a DUI case and was patient with questions and explained everything thoroughly so I felt reassured and comfortable throughout my entire case.

  2. Order of Protection

    Posted by Meghan, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Simpson.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I had to file an order of protection against my former roommate and Jim's knowledge and guidance was essential in winning the order and returning peace to my life. He knows legal procedures and laws very well and it was impressive to watch him in court. I would highly recommend Jim to anyone who needed a lawyer and if I ever need legal guidance again in the future I will definitely contact him.

  3. Unquestionably one of the best at what he does. HIRE HIM!

    Posted by Michael F., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Simpson.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    When facing difficult decisions that have life altering consequences the best decision I made retaining Jim Simpson of Thompson & Volquardsen Law Firm. There are not enough words to describe my satisfaction and gratefulness to such an first-rate attorney and genuinely good person. Jim Simpson is a “straight shooter!” He is both honest and direct when giving you accurate scenarios regarding your specific case. He handles himself with the utmost professionalism, integrity and honesty. I could not be happier that I chose him to represent me during an extremely tumultuous time in my life. Although he is humble about his connections with in the Vehicular Prosecution department I believe it may have helped to have my DUI case dismissed along with some unusual extenuating circumstances.

    THANK YOU JIM- I will recommend you to everyone I know!

  4. The right guy to have on your side!!

    Posted by Shelly, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Simpson.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My Spouse was looking at a few years in jail for multiple DUI's. We met with Jim Simpson to review what his previous lawyer wanted for the plea. This meant my husband would have to shut down his family business he runs if he took the plea and we would lose everything. Jim Simpson assured us that he could get a plea that would work in our situation and he delivered on that promise!! After the sentencing he has also been there for questions, helping with motions to reduce fines, jail time and also helping with probation options. He is the guy you want on your side!!

  5. Keep looking!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Simpson.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    After all was said and done, I would not recommend James Simpson for a DUI violation. Jim is very knowledgeable which he reviews often when talking to you, however when in came to my actual case I felt I was just an open file. I had no input with my plea, I have a difficult work schedule which I made sure Jim was aware of, it was not worked out with my plea, so I personally had to go back to court and work out my options with the judge. His office was very helpful - I would rate them Excellent!

    1. James E Simpson

      James E Simpson

      Lawyer Comment:

      Since there is no right to plea agreements at all in our legal system, we unfortunately cannot tell the prosecutor what plea offer to give us contrary to the desires of this client. Truth be told, I wish all my clients such could have such input and just tell the prosecutor what plea offer they wanted as I do believe Arizona is much too harsh on DUIs. It would make it a lot easier for everybody (although I may be out of a job).
      Plea offers are initially offered by the prosecutor in effort to reduce their case load and the number of cases going to trial since court room space is limited. They are usually initially based upon a combination of factors such as the level of blood alcohol content (higher the readings... worse the offer), prior criminal/driving history, and any other aggravating factors such as if there was an accident involved.
      At that starting point, we then do a thorough investigation including but not limited to, obtaining all records, face to face tape recorded interviews of all witnesses, and getting the blood re-tested by an independent expert (or obtain all calibration and maintenance records if a breath machine was utilized) to identify potential legal issues. We then combine these potential legal with personal mitigation provided by the client to use as leverage in an effort to if not to get the case dismissed, negotiate and obtain the very best plea offer possible to reduced charges for our client. If the client does not want or is not happy with the plea offer we obtain, they have the absolute constitutional right to go to trial.
      This client voluntarily agreed to accept the favorable plea offer we were able to obtain after going through the above exhaustive efforts. I am truly sorry it is not exactly what they wanted, but is was the best possible plea offer anybody could have obtained given the facts that were presented to us by the event.
      As for going back to court to work out options, all they had to do was call and I would have been more than happy to go with them as I do for all my clients if there is a need to go back to court. Regardless, I sincerely wish this client the best and will be glad to help them in anyway I can if they call. I think my commitment to my clients is evident based on the large volume of positive reviews I receive.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  6. Great representation and wonderful results

    Posted by Shane, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Simpson.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Was arrested for a DUI and all circumstances surrounding the incident did not support a DUI charge. James worked tirelessly proving the the arrest was fraudulent and got all charges dismissed. Would recommend him to anyone in need of representation. Thanks again.

  7. BEST OUI ATTORNEY

    Posted by Rob, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Simpson.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    MR. Simpson did a phenomenal job handling my OUI case. He was very attentive, kept up on communication and never stopped fighting for me. He was able to reach a plea agreement that saved me thousands of dollars, jail time and most importantly my job. I am truly grateful and satisfied with the work he has done for me.

  8. Great job Jim !!

    Posted by CLR, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Simpson.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jim did an outstanding job of helping me through a very difficult time. His legal expertise, attention to detail and communication were key to exceeding my expectations. I talked to several Attorneys before chosing Jim. He was able to answer my questions, always took my calls and I never felt rushed or as if my case was not important to him. Even during the first phone call, Jim's polite and professional manner put me more at ease. I felt good about hiring Jim initially and even better now that he has demonstrated his skills and compassion. If you are looking for an effective, competent and true professional, Jim is your Attorney! Thank you very much Jim for making a positive difference in my life.

  9. Highly recommended!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Simpson.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A few years ago I hired James Simpson for my DUI case and was very impressed! James was very knowledgeable and kept me involved and informed. He was always available and open to answer any and all of my questions. James saw to it that I fairly represented. I will always refer those in nred of legal help to this firm!

  10. Absolutely the attorney to hire if you have been charged with a DUI!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Simpson.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Having recently moved to the Phoenix area (charged with a DUI within 5 days of arrival), I consulted with various attorneys before meeting Jim. From the beginning Jim was very straight-forward about drawbacks and possibilities without sugar-coating potential problems. What impressed me the most from the start was Jim's concern about me as a fellow human being, and not just another client. His thoughtful effort in making sure I always understood how we were doing, and also that I felt OK about the situation and the potential outcomes made a world of difference to me. Being my case somewhat difficult, and having come out with much less than the minimum penalty for these charges, I'd highly recommend Jim as the attorney to hire if you ever see yourself in such a dire situation.

602-510-9999