Matthew C. Thomas’s Reviews

Matthew C. Thomas

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Professional Service That is Honest with a WIN/WIN Philosophy!

    Posted by Carlos, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Thomas.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thomas Law Firm has eased my living here in the United States. They have assisted several family members and myself with different immigration matters. I have experienced great service and at no time did I feel like I was wasting my money but most important my time. I can say with confidence that I will continue going with them. They are prompt and straightforward. Thank you for the excellent work!

  2. Matthew Thomas and his team are very knowledgeable.

    Posted by Esme, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Thomas.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband and I are very happy with lawyer, Matthew Thomas. We had actually done this whole process in the past, only to be denied, because the previous person that helped us didn't file our case correctly. After a few years of being scared to even look into our options, Matthew was recommended to us by a friend and now we are glad we decided to work with him. My permanent residency has been approved thanks to the fact that Matthew and his team know what they're doing.

  3. back with my family

    Posted by santos, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Thomas.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My case was bad, I went to alcock & assosiates but they just collected their cut and didn't do anything but tell me to sign a paper and they lost my case file, given to the wrong client, after them came pope, nothing happened and he was super rude to my wife, soon after that, my wife found this awesome lawyer named Matthew Thomas which was really helpful and never gave up on my case, I am now a permanent resident thanks to the hard work of Matt and his team. I highly recommend Mr. Thomas, you wont go wrong.

  4. consummate professional, stellar legal representation

    Posted by Abbie, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Thomas.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    Attorney Thomas and his staff were insrumental in establishing permanent residency for my husband. The level of detail and thought he put into every letter/ argument was not only impressive but conveyed a personal commitment to providing us with his best efforts. We are so happy we found Attorney Thomas. He is OUR miracle worker !

  5. Trust worthy, friendly and kind.

    Posted by Nancy, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Thomas.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    I had giving up on finding someone to help me with my immigration issue, until I found Thomas Immigration Law. He was positive about my case, helped me with every form, answered any questions that I had, and made me feel hopeful. Him and his staff were incredible and I would recommend them to anyone. I am so happy I found him.

  6. So happy I chose Matthew

    Posted by Karla, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Thomas.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.

    We hired Matthew a couple years ago to handle my case and I couldn't have chosen a better person for the job. My case was a bit tricky as I had been in the US since I was five (now 28) and was deported in absentia when I was six but never left the country. I didn't even know I had been deported until our case was started. At first I was excited about adjusting in the US thanks to being eligible to adjust in the US but after finding out about the deportation I was terrified about many things including being deported or having to leave the country on my own while I tried to adjust. There were so many unknowns.

    Matthew, however, was amazing. He did his research and found older cases and laws that came to benefit my case greatly. He was always upfront about everything with me and was so patient with me and my many questions. I can't tell you how much I appreciate him making me feel comfortable enough to bombard him with questions and concerns. He always responded promptly and in a kind professional manner. The process was long (Almost 2 years exact) and frustrating at times but in the end it all worked out. On Octotober 17, 2012 I became a legal US resident.

    Matthew accompanied me on my last interview and emailed me as soon as my status was adjusted on the USCIS website to congratulate me.

    Another thing worth mentioning is his staff....wonderful. Always so polite and helpful, if I called with a question and Matthew was busy with another client they would do their best to help. Good people.

    Matthew also had a very reasonable payment plan. My husband and I saved up knowing what we were getting into, we thought we'd be asked to pay in full so we were prepared when we went to my initial appointment with Matthew. Fortunately, we weren't forced to hand over the lump sum. We made a deposit to get things going and had low monthly payments for the remaining balance. In our contract we were obliged to pay in full by my last appointment with USCIS, seeing as this process is a lengthy one, we finished paying Matthew months before my case was complete. His payment plan allowed us peace of mind financially which was so good considering we had many other things to worry about at the time.

    I was very impressed with him and his firm that I even suggested my sisters look into hiring him for their cases. One of them took my advice and I couldn't be happier. I know she is in good hands.

    Thank you Matthew. :D

  7. Compassionate and quality service, very professional!

    Posted by Sarah, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Thomas.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Matthew Thomas and his law firm are extremely professional and very knowledgeable about immigration law. We met with many other attorneys prior to meeting Matthew, but he made us feel much more comfortable. Some attorneys say they speak Spanish, but end up not knowing much at all. This was not the case with Matthew who is completely bilingual!!! We were so worried about the language barrier with some attorneys and were thankful that Matthew could speak directly with my husband without a translator. I'm so glad we chose him for my husband's immigration case. My husband was approved in a matter of months with no issues. Two years later we hired him again to remove the conditions on my husband's green card and once again were glad to have returned to Matthew. He is an excellent attorney. His staff are the best too! I definitely would recommend Matthew for your immigration case.

  8. Most trustworthy, knowledgeable, & professional law firm I've every interacted with! Best for immigration!!

    Posted by Zayra, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Thomas.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It's difficult to know who to trust, especially now with all the changes to immigration law and after a few sketchy law offices (one of which we were supposed clients of already and they did nothing to help with our immigration case) we were referred to Thomas Law Firm. We had called around and tried so many law offices with questions regarding the immigrant visa application for a spouse that Thomas Law Firm, PLC was our last recourse. Both my husband and I were skeptical and wary of giving out even MORE personal information only to have our calls ignored or be told to pay for some document and then never hear back from the firm. We were desperate and frustrated and Thomas Law Firm was a 'light at the end of the tunnel.'

    They were professional, knowledgeable, honest, and overall patient regardless of how many questions I had or how often I contacted them I always received a prompt reply and it was always cordial--even during my many frantic and confusing calls. There was always someone who could answer my questions, even if they needed to call me back to make sure the information was correct. That proves just how honest and dependable Mr. Thomas and his staff are, rather than just give vague answers they were willing to go into as much deal as was needed to make sure that I understood and was comfortable with what they were doing.

    We are so eternally grateful to Mr. Thomas and his staff for all of the assistance and support they provided. We are thankful for having found a firm that not only knows what they are doing but is not trying to rip you off. They were even able to work with us on payment arrangements and even after our case was won--THANK YOU THOMAS LAW!!!!!!--they still maintained contact to make sure that I had everything I needed and knew how to proceed.

    We will always recommend Thomas Law Firm, PLC first when asked for a 'good' immigration attorney because we trust Mr. Thomas and his staff and know that in a time with so much uncertainty having someone dependable on your side makes a huge difference.

    Thank you so much Thomas Law, we don't have enough words to describe what your office has done for my husband and I.

  9. There are a lot of immigration attorneys in Arizona, but honestly, in my opinion, Matthew C. Thomas is the best in Phoenix

    Posted by Madi, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Thomas.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you want to adjust your status with U.S. immigration, without fear of making mistakes when making your request along to the appropriate agency, hire a lawyer. This is the best thing you can do for yourself. Do not hire to help you people who have no qualifications and who is promising miracles. Hire an immigration attoney competent, honest, trustworthy, who will truly listen to your story and work hard in your case in the best way possible and that will especially make it worth every cent of U.S. dollars that you pay for their services. And in that sense, I recommend Thomas Law Firm, PLC.
    On two different occasions (2009 and 2011), I needed of his services and both times we came out victorious. Matthew Thomas and his team are excellent professionals in all aspects. There are many immigration attorneys in Arizona, but honestly, in my opinion, Matthew Thomas is the best in phoenix, for all the reasons I mentioned above.
    Therefore, if you are looking for a lawyer with all important qualifications I am telling, don’t think twice, go there. This will be the best way to prove everything I'm saying here. Making an appointment with Matt Thomas to explain him your case and to say what you want. You will not regret it. Furthermore, I'm sure that just as happened to me twice, you will leave his office feeling much more confident and sure of having him on your side to defend you and your interests is the best thing for you will be doing for yourself. Good luck.

  10. Very Thankful

    Posted by Sandra, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Thomas.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My husband and I worked with Thomas and Jeffries about 2 years ago on a petition to legalize my husband's status in this country. I had spoken to two lawyers previously who told me that there was nothing that could be done for my husband, to wait for the famous "reform." At my wits end I called Thomas and Jeffries and they not only gave me hope, they were very pleasant and professional. They were very knowledgable and helpful from the time that we filed the I130 until the very week of my husbands waiver interview in Ciudad Juarez. They kept me inform of every single thing that they heard from USCIS and made sure that I was always informed of what was happening. They were very thorough and built a huge waiver packet for us. My husband was out of the country for about 2 months, but it was worth it, as at the end of those two months he walked into this country as a legal resident. Thomas and Jeffries was even helpful after he came back into the country, letting him know what his rights were while he was searching for a job. Now we are patiently awaiting the time for him to become a citizen, in about 1 and a half years. I recommend Thomas and Jeffries to everyone I know that needs an immigration lawyer. I will always be grateful to them for helping my family get past our "illegal" status.