David C Blum’s Reviews

David C Blum

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Articulate, Tough and To The Point

    Posted by Utah Gal, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Blum.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I’m an actual client of Mr. Blum having hired him about 9 months ago to represent me in divorce proceedings. Mr. Blum has been tough and fair in zealously representing me against my ex-spouse who will just not go away. In addition to dragging these proceedings out far longer than need be, my ex-spouse has sued my employer, the Utah court system in two districts, the police department, his first ex-spouse, her family, my co-workers, and anyone else he can think of. He blames my attorney for everything that doesn't go his way in court, despite the fact that he's Pro Se and files documents that have no facts and just drag out the separation process.

    Mr. Blum has discouraged me from incurring excessive legal costs just because I could. If an issue is not really important in the long run, Mr. Blum has wisely counseled against fighting over it. He has given great advice where child support is concerned, considering my ex-spouse refuses to work to get around supporting six children. As I have learned, some things just don’t matter in the long run and it doesn’t make emotional or financial sense to waste time, energy and money just to find that out.

    In sum, I have been pleasantly surprised at how efficient, tough and caring Mr. Blum has been. His responses are always articulate, timely, and based in what's legal and factual. He doesn't make things up on the fly because he doesn't have to, and the advice he gives is always in my best interest based on case law. I've had several lawyers throughout this whole ordeal and Mr. Blum has been the best. I highly recommend him and will continue to use him to represent me in the future and unfortunately, I suspect that will be the rest of my life.

  2. Straight to the point kind of lawyer!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Blum.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I went through a terrible divorce with my ex which took almost two years to finalize. David was very patient as my ex went through 5 lawyers during that time. In the end I was able to get all that I wanted, house, retirement and much more. Though I still have my challenges with my ex, David has always been there to guide me and assist me. He is a great lawyer and I will definitely recommend him to others!

  3. Knows his stuff

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Blum.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    David was exactly the type of lawyer I was looking for. . .Straight forward, honest, blunt and at the same time very personable and down to earth. After being unsatisfied with a previous lawyer, David was a breath of fresh air. He was extremely knowledgeable about current cases and similar situations to mine and he did everything he could to help me get the best outcome without giving me false hope. I felt like he was timely and efficient and that my money was well spent.

    Thanks David! I hope I don't have to use you again but I will in a heartbeat if I need to. . .

  4. Superior Attorney for Divorce

    Posted by Tyler, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Blum.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    David took on my case after we had some issues with a previous attorney in early spring of 2011. We had already had issues with a highly contested divorce where every action was an argument and there was little or no cooperation between either of us. When taking on the case David first helped me to understand, that we could argue over everything, but what good would that really do. We focused on the important issues with the case. Custody, communication about the kids, cooperation where we could to ensure as much stability with the kids as possible.

    David proceeded to file the motions, and work with the opposing counsel to bring as many circumstances to a close as possible without unnecessary court costs and time. While taking these actions he also worked with the Guardian ad Lietem that was assigned to our children as their representation to ensure that the needs of the children were met.

    While the overall process was long, David was always prepared for the next step. He ensured that I was aware of what was needed of me at all times. He prepared me for all possible outcomes at each step of the way during pretrials, motions, trials, etc. He always argued the pertinent facts in court. He made sure that our position in court always made sense, was supported by law, and that the unnecessary parts of highly emotional situations were left out.

    I would and have recommended David's service to several close friends all of which have been happy with both his services and the outcomes of their respective circumstances.

    While I hope that I will not need David's services in the same fashion again, I will always turn to his expertise and professionalism should I need them.

  5. EXCELLENT ATTORNEY

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Blum.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    David has been my attorney for over 2 years now and I am very happy that I hired him to be my attorney. He is very knowledgeable and responds to emails very quickly. He has always kept me updated and explained many of the court processes so I had a better understanding of what was going on and what to expect. He is also amazing in the courtroom! He may be a little more expensive than other attorneys, but you get what you pay for! I highly recommend David Blum.

  6. Someone to trust.

    Posted by Dawn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Blum.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was very stuck in a situation, and I needed legal counsel. David was very receptive and helped me get through the process. I knew that if i had a question, he would answer promptly, and that he always had "my" best interest at heart. I would recommend him highly to others. And i will keep him as my own family lawyer.

  7. Did a poor job for me in my divorce. Took my money and did virtually nothing

    Posted by Karen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Blum.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired him to help me with my divorce and payed him up front. He did nothing to help me. I would have been better off doing things myself. He was not on time to court and didn't file the proper paperwork. Don't waist your time or money.

    1. David C Blum

      David C Blum

      Lawyer Comment:

      According to my records, I have not had a client named "Karen" since 2007, so I do not know how to respond to your concerns. If there are/were problems with my representation, I would appreciate it if you would call me so that the issue(s) can be addressed.

      And I am not late to Court unless there are circumstances beyond my control (and I do not believe that has happened for over a year).

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag