Skip to main content
James Janghoon Lee

James Lee’s Answers

18 total


  • If I got put on probation had charges from before the probation that have come up since the probation did I violate my probation

    I got charges back last year for contributing to a minor and delinquency of a minor and got charged with a dui this year but the charges from last year I am still in court for and am serving my dui sentence now.

    James’s Answer

    If I understand your question correctly, the DUI charge may affect your prior charge if the court for the prior charge discovers the DUI charge. But the prior charge should not affect the DUI charge.

    See question 
  • I live in Utah. I was in an auto accident. I was not at fault. The other driver was ticketed. Who do I sue for damages?

    Since Utah is a no-fault state. How do I get help with medical bills? Do I sue my own insurance company? Do I sue the other driver's insurance company? Do I sue the person directly?

    James’s Answer

    Before you get to "suing", you will work with your insurance company, as the other attorneys have mentioned. Keep in mind that if you go above the PIP amount, you will then have a chance to sue or settle the case without a suit. An attorney will be able to guide you through the entire process even before a suit. An attorney would be able to secure you money that will help pay for medical costs and general pain and suffering.

    Don't be afraid to call an attorney for a free consultation. Also, personal injury attorney typically do not need to be paid upfront. The attorney is paid only when a settlement or award is obtained.

    See question 
  • How can I get my case dismissed? Is it absolutely necessary for me to hire an attorney?

    I live in Salt Lake City Utah and have been charged with a misdemeanor of theft, the total cost of the items were about $42, making it a misdemeanor B. I need have a successful Plea of Abeyance in order for the case to be dismissed. How can I make...

    James’s Answer

    There are several ways to get your case dismissed but it is not a guarantee. An attorney would be your best bet, but no, it is not absolutely necessary. If you can't afford an attorney, you may be eligible for a public defender which you can apply for at the court.

    The reason I say hiring an attorney is best is because he/she will know every possible tactic to employ to possibly get you a dismissal. A plea in abeyance is certainly possible, depending on your criminal record. Or after analyzing the facts of your case, an attorney may determine that you have a good shot at actually prevailing on your case at trial or through some other hearing.

    See question 
  • How much interest do i pay on 3200 over nine years for restitution

    From September of 2005 to April 2014

    James’s Answer

    If interest was not ever mentioned at sentencing, sometimes there is not any interest applied.

    See question 
  • I was involved in an auto-pedestrian accident, what would be a fair settlement?

    I was hit by a car going approximately 25mph. I broke my humorous and have strength issues in my left shoulder from landing on the ground. I also was knocked unconscious and received a concussion. Medical bills at this point exceed $30,000.

    James’s Answer

    It is very difficult to answer this question. In addition to what the attorney has mentioned above, you also want to factor in your "future medicals". It's also important to know what the policy limits are on the other person's insurance. There are other things to consider as well.

    See question 
  • Is it illegal for a person in a "position of trust" who is 20 to have sexual contact with a 16 or 17 year old?

    I'm wondering about the laws in Utah

    James’s Answer

    The code specifically says that if "the victim is younger than 18 years of age and at the time of the offense the actor was the victim's parent, stepparent, adoptive parent, or legal guardian or occupied a position of special trust in relation to the victim" then this is a sexual offense.

    See question 
  • I had no health insurance in an accident. I went to a lawyer hoping for assistance to help me. What should I have done?

    When someone went through a red light and I was injured. i did not have health insurance. I knew I needed more medical attention. I knew I needed help. I hired a lawyer, to advise me and to get the medical assistance I knew I needed. Was ther...

    James’s Answer

    • Selected as best answer

    I'm sorry to hear about your injury. Based on what you're saying, I'm not exactly sure if you actually hired an attorney or if the attorney just said that he could not help you. Utah is a no-fault state which means that you are entitled to at least $3000 medical coverage even if the accident was your fault. That money can get depleted pretty quickly especially if you went to the ER, got an MRI, etc. If the accident was not your fault, an attorney would be able to recover more money for your medical treatment and pain and suffering. Also, an attorney would typically know of doctors and other medical providers who could treat you on a lien.

    See question 
  • If I sponsored a spouse for green card and it is approved can it be revoked if I lose my job?

    Im worried that I might be laid off or let go from my job because of the poor economy. If this happens would my wife lose her permanent resident status? We just received notice by email that the Permanent Residence status was approved but havent r...

    James’s Answer

    No, there should be no problem. Once she receives the permanent resident card, there are no further questions regarding your job.

    See question 
  • What are my options to get a settlement for my personal injury case?

    In October of 2012 I was rear ended by a 19 year old driver who was speeding and had expired plates. He was at fault and his insurance was GEICO. The accident had agitated a previous back injury. I spent about $5,000 on medical bills (six months g...

    James’s Answer

    Most attorneys here in Utah would not take a case like this because it costs more to litigate than the possible outcome of the case. The main reason for this is that the at-fault insurance considers the amount of property damage vs. the claimed injury. In this case, $600 does not constitute a significant impact and therefore even though this accident may have exacerbated a prior injury, GEICO does not feel that the treatment received was reasonable and necessary. You should pursue small claims to try and recoup your medical expenses and possibly some additional compensation. The max compensation for small claims in Utah is 10K. You may need to use a constable to serve the defendant. They will research and find him for you. But it always good to get a second opinion with another attorney.

    See question 
  • What could I plead to so I dont look so bad. My charges are trespassing, lying to police officer, paraphernalia.

    I need to plead to a lessor charge that wont make look so bad so that I can get my kids back from the guardians who my kids are saying are hurting them. I can fight these charges in court but my kids dont have the time to sit in their abusive envi...

    James’s Answer

    Without knowing the facts of your case, it is extremely difficult to answer your question. You need an attorney to help you with this, whether a private attorney or public defender. This could be a case where all the charges are dismissed, two out of three are dismissed, you get a plea in abeyance, or perhaps you can reduce it to a disorderly conduct. These kinds of scenarios can happen with just one court hearing or several. The possibilities are endless.

    See question