Amy L Butters’s Reviews

Amy L Butters

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Don't waste your time or money....

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Amy Butters.
    • I hired Amy 1-3 years ago.
    • Amy handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    We had two active cases with her for over a year, and now had to rehire new lawyers and redo everything she was suppose to do. One of our cases was a divorce case. It got dismissed in Aug. because she her office failed to file paper work, yet she did not tell us and let us go to the parenting classes we were told we needed to attend. It was not until the first part of next year, when we called the court on our own, that we found out the case had been dismissed 6 months prior. When confronted about this, she acted surprised, as if she didn't know. She informed me that she would refund my filing fee because of her error, and that a check would be issued in "10 business days". I never saw the check, and she would never return my email. We filed several bankruptcies thru her office, each one of them getting dismissed because her office would not file paper work or comply with the Trustees requests. She if famous for never returning emails and has zero sense or urgency. We wasted a year of our life's with her office because we are now having to redo every legal action, and pay for it again, out of our own pocket due to, in my opinion, her gross negligence. When asked if she would compensate us for everything, she claimed that everything she did was "billable hours". The State Bar has been informed of her "billable hours" conduct and the United States Bankruptcy Trustee Office will be notified as well. along with News and media outlets and several other outlets. In my opinion, you should not waste your time or your money in dealing with this office.

  2. Don't waste your time!!!

    Posted by Lindsey, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Amy Butters.
    • I hired Amy 1-3 years ago.
    • Amy handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    We used her for our bankruptcy in 2011 and even though she was "okay" at first ever since the beginning you can not get a call back, email back or text back on some seriously important stuff. Its 2014 and our case is an open asset case and I still have questions and concerns. She is NOT responsive and does NOT communicate at all. She is very difficult to reach although not that popular according to reviews... Apparently she has better things to do then communicate with paying customers!!!!

  3. Allowed us to breathe again..

    Posted by Tamara L, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Amy Butters.
    • I hired Amy 1-3 years ago.
    • Amy handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    My husband & I fell into a medical nightmare. We like everyone else who has health insurance expects when the worst happens it will cover you. My husband became sick in Oct 2012 & ended up having 5 surgeries do to a twisted intestine. BCBS of Utah payed then denied (taking back) all claims paid due to a miss worded statement. We found ourselves in over $400,000 in debt within a 10 month period. My husband was out of work still due to his sickness & my job was in jeopardy with all the creditor calls/actions. I went online & came across Amy Butters Website. It was extremely informative & knew she was the one for us. I called her office, we met the next day. Amy was very understanding & gave us peace of mind she could help us. Amy's office staff helped me gather all the medical information needed from the hospitals to make the calls/collections stop. We emailed weekly & Jessica (her assistant) called to keep me informed every step. We had our creditors meeting on September 11, 2013 Amy has such a great re pore with the trusties she had prepared us with every question & had all our paperwork properly filed with the court. We knew which assets we legally could keep & what we would have to pay to keep upfront absolutely no surprises. Amy Butter is an honest attorney who does what she says, we recommend her to anyone!

  4. Professional and dedicated

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Amy Butters.
    • I hired Amy 1-3 years ago.
    • Amy handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I've read the reviews posted here for Amy... Good and bad. And I can honestly say that I understand the negative comments, in fact I also initially had the same experiences. I had every intention of firing her if things continued as they had been until that point. Which is why I went and spoke with Amy in person about my concerns and found her to be extremely receptive to my opinions. I soon discovered she placed her trust in an assistant that took advantage of that trust and mishandled a lot of paperwork. Amy took full responsibility... She didn't make any excuses and assured me she would make things right with her current clients and prove her dedication to her future clients. She seemed to me to be genuine, and open minded. She has since replaced her previous assistant and her office is now running smoothly.

    My impression of Amy now is: This is a very motivated and hard working woman. The fact that she has passed her bar exams In two states on the first try speaks volumes to her dedication to her profession and her ability to work hard for anyone who puts their trust in her. She has also proven to me that her ability to not only hear criticism without arrogance or excuses but act on it, makes her a truly unique find if you happen to need an attorney.

    I'm hoping I will never need to hire any attorney in the future... But I wouldn't hesitate to give her number to any member of my family.

  5. I had a very good experience!

    Posted by Charles, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Amy Butters.
    • I hired Amy 1-3 years ago.
    • Amy handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I read these reviews and had to say something about them. Someone has to.

    Inasmuch as they are filed anonymously, which I find cowardly, I am curious as to people's motives when they are only to try to destroy someone. Ms. Butters and her office staff were extremely helpful, professional, and our chapter 7 bankruptcy went very smoothly. There were no issues, because we knew exactly what the limitations were on a chapter 7. If we had a tax lien, we would not have filed a chapter 7! I would ABSOLUTELY hire Ms. Butters again, whether it was for a bankruptcy, family law matter, or for any other legal need I may have.

  6. Worse Bankruptcy Lawyer!!!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Amy Butters.
    • I hired Amy 1-3 years ago.
    • Amy handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Whatever you do go to a different attorney! She was great all the way up to paying her, which we did in full, in cash. I swear she puts you on a do not answer list because every time you would call with questions she would never answer, never return messages or texts. When it came down to seeing the trustee Amy's assistant failed to tell us what to bring (thank goodness we had it). We have a tax lien against our home now after "following" Amy's advice. WHATEVER YOU DO FIND A DIFFRENT ATTORNEY!!! About to turn her into the State Bar and the BBB.

  7. Horrible attorney

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Amy Butters.
    • I hired Amy 1-3 years ago.
    • Amy handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If you are looking for an attorney to have there paper work together and keep you in the loop on your case? Go somewhere else. Even her assistant Jennifer is just as bad as her. They are Both lazy. I fired her and found another attorney that was on the ball.