Joshua J McDowell’s Reviews

Joshua J McDowell

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The best DUI lawyer!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua McDowell.
    • I hired Joshua 1-6 months ago.
    • Joshua handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I received my first DUI and was beyond scared. I was not familiar with the court system and was in need of an attorney to guide me through the process. Josh McDowell was the best choice i could have ever made. In my free consultation he was extremely knowledgable of the process within the court and DMV systems and put me at ease, which made my choice of hiring him as my attorney a no brainer. He took off a great amount of stress in a very stressful situation and i would recommend him to anyone that needs a defense attorney.

  2. Looking for a lawyer that just feels like a Bro...???

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua McDowell.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had been the one who went to jail after a physical altercation with my boyfriend at the time, even though he was clearly the aggressor. I was adamant about keeping my name clear, and his recommendations afforded me the right to do just that. (worth every penny? I guess you'll have to see July's docket re: the ex...) It was worth it to me at the time to maintain my dignity.

    Josh had worked with me previously on a DUI case, and I found him to be incredibly personable, understanding, and supportive throughout both cases, even when I called in tears to ask WTF? when we both knew there was nothing I could do, or pay him to do at certain points in the processes.

    I really felt like I had a good friend from high school coming in to help me out, and earn his money with integrity. (He takes cash, lol!) I would recommend him to anyone, except for maybe 3 specific people who don't deserve representation of this caliber...and he is easy on the eyes...:-)

  3. All I can say is AWESOME!!!

    Posted by Amanda, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua McDowell.
    • I hired Joshua 6-12 months ago.
    • Joshua handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Fantastic!!! I felt so at ease with Josh. I have never even had a speeding ticket so this process was VERY scary for me. Josh talked m through everything, responded to every email and phone call immediately, and worked VERY hard for me. I am exceptionally pleased with the outcome of my case…and its all thanks to Josh!

  4. One of the best

    Posted by Christine & Richard, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua McDowell.
    • I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My Husband and I hired him to represent my husband for his DWAI. Josh is great at what he does. He treats you like a real person throughout the process and he's knowledgeable. All great traits for a lawyer.

  5. Great attorney.

    Posted by Jennifer, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua McDowell.
    • I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. McDowell is a guy who really knows his stuff. He is confident in his ability and made me feel good right away. I had tons of questions and I knew he was being honest with his answers. Many people have a bad impression of lawyers in general, so I was nervous in finding the right one. I did go through a process of interviewing several lawyers. I had trouble finding someone who I felt wasn't trying to sell me on what I wanted to hear. Josh was upfront and honest and I felt comfortable with him and his manner of communicating with me.
    If you go through a process of hiring an attorney for a DUI case, make sure to call Josh McDowell.

  6. Professional lawyer and a great person!

    Posted by Lisa, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua McDowell.
    • I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I started working with Joshua McDowell in December 2011, on my DUI charges. From the beginning I felt very comfortable with him. He advised me what I should do; Community Service and Alcohol Education classes and I followed his advice. I was e-mailing Mr. McDowell with questions to which he would very quickly reply to every e-mail. In July 2012, when my case completed, thanks to Josh, the outcome was to my advantage. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Joshua McDowell and his firm. Thank you VERY much Mr. McDowell!

  7. One of the best attorney in colorado

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua McDowell.
    • I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Josh McDowell is one of the most honorable and genuine people I have ever encountered. I payed a flat fee for a DUI charge that I will admit may not be an easy payment for all, but I received a degree of professionalism, integrity, efficiency , and sincerity that I guarantee you will not find many other places. I highly recommend this firm and those involved with it because I have met them all and know their credentials.... trust me when I say, if you are willing to put your trust in them and believe in their efforts, you will come out on top.

  8. Great attorney. Made me feel confident and comfortable.

    Posted by Joseph, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua McDowell.
    • I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Charged with assault and harassment by an ex. Had a clean record. Case was dismissed. Also sealed my case. I wanted to write a review to say thank you.

  9. True professional- great defense lawyer

    Posted by TC, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua McDowell.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was charged with a domestic violence case in 2010. I hired Mcdowell because I was worried about losing my career and lautenberg. He helped me so much.

  10. Best lawyer in Colorado Springs

    Posted by Michael, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua McDowell.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I felt at ease with Mr. McDowell immediately. He met with me for an hour and half for our first meeting. I asked a ton of questions and he walked me through every stage of the process. I wanted to hire an attorney because I didn't want to miss something or be taken advantage of. I wanted to know what I was doing was the right decision. Worth every penny for my peace of mind and sanity.

719-227-0022