James L English’s Reviews

James L English

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Trustworthy, knowledgeable Divorce Attorney with integrity.

    Posted by Patricia, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James English.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After wasting my time with another lawyer who charged $175 for an Initial Consultation, during which she danced around my questions and jabbered through my entire hour interrupting me with her own personal stories, without giving me a modicum of pertinent information during the whole thing, (Lynn Landis-Brown, if I’m allowed to give her name), I was absolutely dejected because I felt like I could even “buy” an answer to a few preliminary questions even for $175!

    Then I kept thinking about the yellow sticky note on my desk upon which I had jotted “James L. English” and I finally gave him a call. Although he also has a fee for the Initial Consultation), it was only $50 and it goes toward your first bill if you retain him. Anyway, he was SO much more helpful in answering the questions I needed answered regarding my Sworn Financial Statement and if I was "Filing" the right paperwork with the courthouse, etc.

    He really seemed to be the expert on my particular situation, as far as my ex being retired military and having other retirement plans that I didn’t even realize I was partially entitled to after a 20-year marriage, and we have two teenagers together, so there’s the matter of child support. He answered enough of my questions in the Initial Consultation, I felt comfortable putting down a retainer with him.

    Even though my divorce ended up costing me $10,000 in attorney’s fees, I still think I came out ahead. I my ex hadn’t been so bullheaded about not splitting everything 50/50, we could have both saved a ton of money using some kind of mediator. But because his attorney tried to talk him into going for 50/50 custody of the kids (which was NEVER going to happen), we both spent way more than we needed to. I know for a fact that his attorney fees came to two or three times the amount mine did, because he used Cordell and Cordell. They are much more expensive, far less efficient, and constantly sent me HUGE duplicate mailings that were totally irrelevant! I think my ex got screwed over. I have an entire box full of paperwork from them that is so stupid.

    If I hadn’t had Mr. English on my side, they could have really steamrollered over me. At least when I had to provide copies of documents, such as three years tax records, Mr. English’s assistant, Roberta, said they had no problem at all with me making all sets of copies myself and dropping them off, rather than having them do it for 20 cents/pg. Believe me, even that can add up! She helped me save money where I could.

    If I can say one more thing, Mr. English accepted my decision when I decided not to try to continue on a long battle for more Spousal Support. I still had friendship feelings for my ex and had no desire to spend more and more time and attorney fees (and possible end up fighting it out in court) to get more money from him when I knew he was pretty strapped as it is.

  2. Divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend James English.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I felt I could have done a better job representing myself. He rarely returns emails and does not
    Prepare for trial.

  3. Mr. English represented my husband and me as GRANDPARENTS seeking custody of our grandson.

    Posted by Pamela, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James English.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.

    In August 2004, we met with Mr. English to discuss our options in regard to our grandson. Mr. English took notes as he listened to our lengthy story. He then explained what paperwork he would file with the court, the roll that other professionals would play and their cost and what his fees were. He always responded quickly to our questions and listened to our concerns. Unfortunately we didn't win our case.
    In April 2006, we met with Mr. English to file a second time for custody of our grandson. Mr. English reminded us of the cost and recommended against a second try. However, we moved forward. Mr. English worked just as hard as before and this time we won.
    I have recommended Mr. English to several friends and will continue to do so.

  4. Family Law-Child Custody Matters

    Posted by Bob,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James English.

    I had Mr English represent me in a long, drawn out custody action that took place over several
    years. We consistently won in the court room which speaks for itself. In the frequent hearings, I
    could easily tell how respected he was by the Judges and opposing attorneys. Mr English handled
    himself with confidence and integrity at all times. Outside of the court room, his detailed knowledge
    of the local judges and allied professionals such as Court Appointed Investigators was amazing in
    its scope. Mr English was always quick to respond when I contacted him, and always made me feel
    like I was his most important client. He always moved quickly and decisively to initiate or respond
    to any action, and communicated in all matters very effectively. I always felt his billing to be very
    fair. The only time I ever found a duplicate charge on a bill, it was resolved with no difficulty. My
    case ended up very well, and I know I have Mr James English to thank for it.

  5. Wonderful Lawyer

    Posted by Marge, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James English.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. English helped us with a custody issue several times. He was knowledgeable and professional. He kept me calm during a very upsetting time and made me feel that we were in good hands each time we went through this process. I highly recommend him to anyone needing an attorney for a child custody proceeding.

  6. Divorce 2012

    Posted by Joseph, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James English.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Excellent support and communications. Diligent and very detail oriented. Very satisified with the outcome.

  7. Fairly smooth divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James English.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Very knowledgable. Very good at explaining what I should expect. Very timely responses. I think all of our documents were always turned in early and he was always quick to return calls or e-mails to answer questions. Very fair billing practices (for example - no charge for reviewing letters from opposing attorney that were just resends of previously rejected proposals - i.e. no pressure to accept bad deal just to put an end to legal fees).

    Only knock against this attorney was how he handled the one mistake his office did make. The mistake turned out not to be significant, but the way he handled it (denial; claimed he did me a favor, not made a mistake, etc) created a sour taste that lasted over a month (until I ordered court transcripts to prove his office's document was incorrect and the matter was finally cleared up).