Clifton L Black’s Reviews

Clifton L Black

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. No regrets

    Posted by Angela, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Black.
    • I hired Clifton 1-6 months ago.
    • Clifton handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It has been a complete pleasure to work with Clifton Black. He handled a 9 year old DUI on my behalf. I'm no longer a resident of Colorado Springs. I worried how it would all work with me in another state. It was no problem at all. The whole staff are helpful and friendly. Without hesitation I recommend this group.

  2. FELONY DISMISSED!

    Posted by Tiffany, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Black.
    • I hired Clifton 6-12 months ago.
    • Clifton handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr Black is professional, trustworthy, and knows how to win!
    With his efforts, my felony charge was dismissed, while saving thousands of dollars, and much stress by preventing the case from going to trial. I recommend him without reservation.

  3. Outstanding & truly professional

    Posted by Gabriel, a Privacy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Black.
    • I hired Clifton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Privacy matter.

    Mr. Black treated me like a man that made one regretful mistake and helped me to figure out that it wasn't the end of the world. He represented me and treated me like a general in the military with respect and honor. He kept me informed and most importantly kept me out of prison. He trusted me with truth and erased all doubts about my future been in jeopardy. All in all he gave me back my life and I have succeeded to complete my associates in computer programming and are a awaiting a call from the Union Pacific . I have recommended Mr Cliff time after time, Thank you Cliff

  4. Just wonderful

    Posted by Mike, a Animal Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Black.
    • I hired Clifton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Animal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Cliff Black represented me recently when I found myself charged with a misdemeanour that could have resulted in an 18 month sentence and/or a $5,000 fine. His knowledge, empathy and strategy is top notch, resulting in my case being dismissed before trial.

    Despite being innocent of the charge, I was initially tempted to accept a plea agreement requiring me to plead guilty just to 'make it go away'. This would have had disastrous consequences to my future employment prospects. I would recommend anyone finding themselves 'in a corner' to contact this law firm before taking the decidedly risky approach of going it alone or accepting the first plea agreement offered.

  5. First and last attorney I will ever use!

    Posted by Leah, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Black.
    • I hired Clifton more than 3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Attorney Clifton Black has represented my family for the past ten years, with everything from DUI's to Underage Drinking Tickets; all of which were satisfactorily handled. When I have legal issues, he is the first person I cal! I was the first in my family to ever receive legal assistance from him, but I was definitely not the last, and for good reason!

    It would be fair to say that I was initially on the fence between hiring him versus just paying the fine and suffering the consequences. Even though I could have saved myself some money, after speaking with him it was impossible to deny the practicality of safeguarding my future by keeping my criminal record as clean as possible.

    When I first sat down with him during the free consultation, I was truly impressed by his professionalism and knowledge on my legal issue. While I was not entirely oblivious with how the system handled Underage Drinking Tickets, I was far from a subject matter expert, but fortunately Mr. Black was! He walked me through all of my options and I remember what I most appreciated about Mr. Black was his honesty, he gave it to me straight without sugar coating anything. Mr. Black was extremely thorough and addressed all my concerns. There was no question by the end of that meeting as to whether I would hire him or not, and I to this day am glad I did.

    Throughout the process Mr. Black kept in good contact with me, and I made sure I was just as diligent with getting Mr. Black all the information he asked for. In the end I was given a deferment, meaning that if I stayed out of trouble for a year, it would be like it never happened; however, if I did get in trouble within the next year, the courts would revoke my deferment and I would automatically receive a guilty charge. Unfortunately, I was not someone who learned from my mistakes and within the next twelve months I managed to get two more tickets for the same thing, not to mention an unrelated speeding ticket (that did not gain me any sympathy in the courts eyes). But despite all the charges stacked against me, because of Mr. Black's fantastic representation, I pled guilty to one of the Underage Drinking Tickets and the other two were DROPPED! Mr. Black first won me a deferment and then helped me dig out of the hole I placed myself in by getting two more. To have only walked away with one charge instead of all three (since I violated my deferment) is truly remarkable. Since then I have had undergo countless background checks for my job in the military, and I am eternally grateful that Mr. Black kept me from looking like a repeat offender with a questionable drinking problem.

    As stated before, I have been so satisfied with his ability to handle my cases that I have trusted him enough to refer him to ALL my family and friends; so it goes without saying that if you are looking for someone to represent you, I HIGHLY recommend you get in contact with Clifton Black!!!

  6. Best Criminal Defense Attorney I Have Ever & Only Hired

    Posted by Mike, a Criminal Defense Client, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Black.
    • I hired Clifton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was recently involved with a (F4) Theft & (F5) Submitting a False Instrument. I was worried so much that I could have lost my job if they would have found out and hurt me more in the long run for my career. I was worried about having jail time and a conviction on my record for the rest of my life and losing my civil rights, i.e. losing my rights to own a weapon and/or a carry concealment license. I barely made enough but still made over the requirements to obtain a Public Defender. I started to call around and found Mr. Clifton Black. I setup a consultation and at that first meeting, we got to chat and discuss the case. It was a great first meeting that I ended up hiring Mr. Black. After going back and forth with the DA, Mr Black was able to get my get my 2 Felonies dismissed and dropped down to a DEFERRED Class 2 Misdemeanor with Fines, Fees and a Suspended Sentence. Mr. Black is a wonderful person and a great Attorney. If I ever need another Attorney in the future, Clifton Black would be the person to go. I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking a Criminal Defense Attorney.

  7. Best Criminal Defense Attorney in Colorado Springs!

    Posted by Dustin, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Black.
    • I hired Clifton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was recently involved in a Domestice violece case I was wrongly accused of and I felt the the "victim" and the police took advantage of the situation and I had no way to prove myself after being released from the el paso county jail I began my search for an attorney I felt would take my case seriously and push for the best results possible I talked to two other attorneys and then I was referred to Clifton Black of Black and Graham after meeting with Clifton for a consult I felt I was in good hands he explained the process to me so I could make the right decisions for my future. We tried every thing to prove my innocence but still ended up taking my case to trial where Clifton Black proved himself to be the best attorney I could of asked for he made the jury see the whole story and not just the parts and bits the District attorney would like them to see. If I had to refer anyone to an attorney or lawfirm it would be Clifton Black of Black and Graham

  8. Great DUI attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Black.
    • I hired Clifton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was charged with a DUI. I was extremely worried about the consequences, receiving jail time and losing my license. I hired Clifton Black, who came highly recommend. I was extremely impressed with his knowledge of the law, ability to work with the court, and the prosecuting attorney. The staff was always proficient in answering any questions I had. The outcome was much better than I had expected, Mr. Black made sure that jail was not ordered by the judge and I didn’t lose my driver’s license.

  9. Clifton Black rocks Colorado Springs in DUI defense!

    Posted by Stephanie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Black.
    • I hired Clifton more than 3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Black was hired for a DUI charge I obtained several years ago. It was a scary experience, but he professionally handled all aspects of my case and got me a deal that made the entire experience bearable. I would recommend Mr. Black to anyone who has ever received a DUI or similar charge and allow him to work his magic. I couldn't be happier with the results he obtained on my behalf. Thank you Mr. Black!

  10. Thanks Cliff

    Posted by Tanner, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Black.
    • I hired Clifton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Cliff Black is terrific. He helped me out tremendously. He was very professional, courteous, and demonstrated specific attention to detail. He provided excellent service and was always available, even in short notice situations. He is very well respected and I highly recommend him and his firm to handle your legal needs. Thanks Cliff