Laura Emma Shapiro’s Reviews

Laura Emma Shapiro

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Hard time made a little easier

    Posted by Lynn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Shapiro.
    • I hired Laura 1-6 months ago.
    • Laura handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Without a doubt Laura Shapiro worked to get me a fair settlement. When I got the petition for divorce in the mail after 35 years of marriage I was in the worst place I have ever been. Ms. Shapiro was recommended to me by several people and I am so glad I retained her services she is extremely knowledgeable and was on top of the process the entire time. Laura made a difficult time a little easier and I trust her completely. Her entire staff treated me like a person instead of a client which means allot when your hurting and lost.

  2. Oustdanding Lawyer! She is the best!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Shapiro.
    • I hired Laura 6-12 months ago.
    • Laura handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I chose Laura as my attorney for my divorce case. Without her I would have been lost. She was outstanding and easy to work with and always kept me informed on all issues. Everyone at her firm was excellent, I couldn't have asked for a better group of people to represent me. I was very happy with the outcome of my case, we settled without having to go to court. I highly recommend Laura as she is fantastic!

  3. Laura Shapiro Highly Recommended for Men and Fathers.

    Posted by John, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Shapiro.
    • I hired Laura 6-12 months ago.
    • Laura handled my Child Custody matter.

    Laura Shapiro and her staff arrived just in time in my complicated and difficult parental responsibilities, custody and divorce case. I found her to be an ethical, skilled, creative, and transparent attorney to work with. Her support staff shares her passion for justice. She listened to my concerns and was able to relate the fine points of the law to my case. Placing the case in her hands reduced my stress to a bare minimum. Laura helped me to select credible experts for the case while her staff kept aware of deadlines so the case moved forward smoothly. As the trial date neared, Laura and her staff sought a constructive and fair settlement using a variety of creative solutions in the best interests of my son and me. They explained in detail how these terms could be beneficial to everyone. When an obstinate opposing counsel refused to negotiate a settlement in good faith and stonewalled her, Laura was very confident and at ease in going forward with litigating the case. Her trial management and advocacy skills were flawless. She kept the judge’s attention focused on the key issues pertaining to my son’s welfare and the realities of my parenting skills despite opposing counsel’s attempt to create sideshows and insinuations. In the end, we received a ruling from the judge that was far beyond my expectations and gave me a tremendous sense of relief. Her overall case management efficiency helped keep my fees lower than that of my ex-wife's attorney. I highly recommend Laura to anyone with a family law matter, but I recommend her with greatest enthusiasm to men and fathers who are seeking settlement of complex divorce and custody cases.

  4. Laura Took My Case When No One Else Would

    Posted by Michael, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Shapiro.
    • I hired Laura more than 3 years ago.
    • Laura handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Laura was asked to represent me at the end of my child support obligation because my ex decided I should continue to pay for children that were no longer living at home. Had not seen any of my children in over eight years and now I was facing jail time for underpaying one child support payment. My case was a mess; parental alienation, a horrible custody battle, and unfair treatment from the court. Laura was able to change the court’s opinion (no jail time), bring to light the parental alienation issue (this helped start the communication process between me and my children) and brought finality to the never ending harassment from my ex-wife. Truly grateful for the help, she took the case when no one else would.

  5. Laura Delivers

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Shapiro.
    • I hired Laura 1-3 years ago.
    • Laura handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I can't thank Laura and her team enough for their work on my case. I had a particulary rough divorce; her friendly, congenial, direct style made her a pleasure to work with during a personally tough time. Her experience and wisdom helped navigate through two custody evaluations and trial. Laura and team were always available, and they worked hard toward success - I'm very happy with the outcome after an uphill battle. I highly recommend Laura!

  6. simply the best

    Posted by Tina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Shapiro.
    • I hired Laura more than 3 years ago.
    • Laura handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was not only impressed by her knowledge but her compassion through such a difficult time. She knew what I wanted and helped me get there, sometimes with a gentle push when I needed it.

  7. Best in the Business

    Posted by Michael, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laura Shapiro.
    • I hired Laura 1-3 years ago.
    • Laura handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Laura and her team get you exactly what you need. Family law and custody issues are complicated and very difficult to understand. She sat down with me and showed me the statutes right out of the book on Colorado law, and told me step by step what I needed in order to win. She represented me against two different lawers on the other side and there was a clear and cut difference on professionalism, preparedness and overall knowledge of the law. If you are a father in Colorado looking for help with fighting for your children, heed this message, you search ends with Laura Shapiro.

  8. Unwilling to do the work necessary; not a fighter

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Laura Shapiro.
    • I hired Laura 1-3 years ago.
    • Laura handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had criminal evidence against my ex-husband for forgery, drug abuse, child abuse and potentially hiding marital funds in other countries where my ex-husband has financial and familial ties. She gave me poor advice resulting in not being able to present much of this evidence, especially concerning the drug and child abuse that was documented and/or lab tests available. My ex-husband was not required to do drug testing for many months allowing enough time for test to be ineffective. She appealed for all of my savings and securities to be remitted to her, leaving me effectively broke, leaving me no choice but to try to recover financially by living with relatives in another state, away from my son, even though I have joint custody. I was awarded 6 years maintenance for a 20 year marriage where I worked in the home as a homemaker. She appealed to the court to quit as my attorney and she told me that she had taken all of the funds I had and was no longer willing to work as my attorney, as I "had no other money to pay her with". The court ordered my ex-husband to fulfill a number of tasks before two months and she was unwilling to make sure even those things were completed so that my son and I would be protected as was the court's wishes.

    1. Laura’s Comment:

      My firm came into this case at the end, before trial when client had already fired a prior attorney. The comments made in this review are dead wrong. Client settled child related issues in a signed agreement. Client misprepresented that her signatures were forged. We had a very contested one day trial and obtained a very good maintenance award when her spouse was not even employed! Denver District Court judges are not inclined to give generous maintenance awards these days and we did well, we fought hard. It was her choice to move out of State, leave her child and claim poverty all while receiving $4000 a month in maintenance.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

303-695-0200