Kristina Voorhies Legan’s Reviews

Kristina Voorhies Legan

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Satisfied client

    Posted by Jessica, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristina Legan.
    • I hired Kristina 1-6 months ago.
    • Kristina handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I appreciate all the hard work this law firm handles on a daily basis. I no longer lived in El Paso but I needed an attorney to handle my case. From my consultation till the closing of my case this law firm was very informative and eared my trust. I believe my case was in good hands and never did I need to questions the integrity of my attorney. I'd gladly recommend this law firm to my family and friends. Thanks a bunch Corey!!

  2. Effective Lawyer

    Posted by Miguel, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristina Legan.
    • I hired Kristina 1-6 months ago.
    • Kristina handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Kristina Voorhies Legan and staff were extremely competent and knowledgeable. Not only was my case handled professionally but I received timely updates and feedback. I did a lot of research in selecting the most competent lawyer based on reviews and time after time her name came up for family law. I appreciate all she and her staff did to support me with my legal matter and would defiantly seek her counsel again.

  3. Do yourself a favor, hire this attorney.

    Posted by Megan, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Kristina Legan.
    • I hired Kristina 1-3 years ago.
    • Kristina handled my Child Support matter.

    Ms. Legan represented me in a child support modification case. Although my ex-husband and I were working together to resolve this, his lawyer proved to be incompetent and really held up the process. There is one thing I learned through this process, and that is that you get what you pay for. Ms. Legan is professional and knowledgeable, and I couldn't have asked for a better experience with an attorney.

  4. Wonderful

    Posted by Peggy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristina Legan.
    • I hired Kristina 1-3 years ago.
    • Kristina handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mrs. Legan was excellent in her handling of our case. We ended up with better outcome than what we figured would happen. Her staff is top notch and they kept us informed every step of the way. I would definitely recommend Mrs. Legan and if needed would use her again.

  5. From a retired federal annuitant

    Posted by Wayne, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristina Legan.
    • I hired Kristina 1-3 years ago.
    • Kristina handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I filed for divorce after 18 years of marriage. We had four children so child support issues were a major factor, as well as the division of property. I was a federal law enforcement officer and my ex-wife was a housewife with no employment skills. I filed pro se, acting as my own attorney, in order to save money. My ex-wife was represented by an attorney who charged her $10,000. I retired shortly after the divorce and soon discovered her attorney had botched the divorce decree, which awarded one-half of my retirement to my ex-wife when she was only entitled to 34%. To make matters worse, her attorney never filed a Qualified Domestic Relations Order through the Office of Personnel Management, which forced me to pay my ex-wife through monthly allotments of my annuity, all the while paying income tax on the entire amount. There were a number of other complications associated with the division of our property that were too difficult for me to understand and/or straighten out. Kristina and her staff are very knowledgeable and have a lot of experience when it comes to dealing with the Federal Employee Retirement System, the Office of Personnel Management and all the legal guidelines associated with the divorce of a federal employee. Ultimately, Kristina Voorhies-Legan saved me thousands of dollars by correcting the mistakes made by my ex-wife's attorney. She was worth every penny I paid her and I would recommend her to anyone who is seeking assistance with a complicated divorce.

  6. Horrible practices

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kristina Legan.
    • I hired Kristina 1-3 years ago.
    • Kristina handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had to keep notifying the office so I could get an update on my court date. It was around the holidays and became difficult to get a hold of my attorney. Five months later after my divorce I get a bill for $400.00 with no explanation. And don't let them get a big case because you will be put on the self.

    1. Kristina Voorhies Legan

      Kristina Legan

      Lawyer Comment:

      This client hired a junior associate in our firm to handle a divorce on November 5, 2012. The divorce was filed on November 14, 2012 and finalized on January 25, 2013. The client was quoted a very small retainer, in keeping with the uncontested nature of the divorce, but signed a contract – as do all our clients – agreeing to pay us for the work actually done on the case. Bills were emailed to the client every month as requested by the client, and the entire cost of the divorce, including filing fees, to the client was less than $1,400.00. Furthermore, we are not aware of any calls or emails that were not returned or unanswered as claimed. After a careful review of his case, we feel the entire matter was handled quickly, fairly, and professionally. We take pride in maintaining a good relationship with our clients and are sorry to see that did not occur in this instance, but feel we did exactly what we should have in our representation.

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  7. Best Family Law Attorney in the State of Texas

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristina Legan.
    • I hired Kristina 1-3 years ago.
    • Kristina handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    As far as I am concerned Attorney Kristina Voorhies Legan is the top family law attorney in all of Texas Prior to hiring Attorney Kristina Voorhies Legan I had been involved in a nearly five year divorce battle in El Paso, Texas. My now ex-husband had filed for divorce and tried to take virtually all the community property as his own. He was stationed in the military in El Paso and I was living out of state. I had gone through several attorneys in El Paso and some located in other cities in Texas. I had nothing but problems with so many attorneys. They would miss deadlines on filing documents, not return phone calls or emails, not keep me informed about what was going on. The list goes on and on, forcing me to change attorney after attorney. Finally, I was referred to Attorney Kristina Vorrhies Legan. What a God send! Kristina listened to all my concerns and fears. Kristina always promptly returned my phone calls and emails. She kept me informed at every stage of the divorce so I knew what to expect with no surprises. Kristina filed all court documents on time and moved the case along. It spite of my ex-husband and his attorney’s efforts to prolong the case, Kristina brought a five year divorce battle to a prompt and successful conclusion.

    Kristina’s office staff was outstanding. Not at all like the staffs of other attorneys that seem to run interference for the attorney and keep have you from talking to them, telling you how busy they are and how they are always in court or in a trial when you need to talk to them. No, not Kristina’s staff. When she was out of the office or in court, they got messages to her and got back to me with answers or the information I needed. Every member of Kristina;s staff is a true professional and a pleasure to deal with.

    I only wish I had known about Attorney Kristina Voorhies Legan when the divorce first began. I am so thankful to her!

  8. worked miracle

    Posted by Tod, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kristina Legan.
    • I hired Kristina more than 3 years ago.
    • Kristina handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was going through a divorce and my son wanted to live with me. I was told by everyone that dads don't get custody in Texas unless mom is unfit. Which my Ex was not. Kristina not only got my son to talk to the judge, and found a way around the home studies that were gonna cost me. She got me my son, no spousal support and no lawyer's fees. She was up front and honest with me from the start and did not let me down. She was amazing and was the best decision I made.

915-532-7665