Stephen Lyle Hamilton’s Reviews

Stephen Lyle Hamilton

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Caring and smart attorney.

    Posted by Robie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stephen Hamilton.
    • I hired Stephen < 1 month ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I needed to hire an attorney for my son in Lubbock . I am in Dallas and was very nervous about the situation. Mr Hamilton and his wonderful staff put me at ease right away. He is a great communicator and very knowledgeable about the subject matter of complex criminal law . He came across as a very caring and compassionate attorney who takes pride in his profession and cares about providing justice for his clients.

  2. Hamilton A++++ FOR DWI

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hamilton.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Stephen Hamilton does great A++++ work. I had a situation where I was charged with DWI in Lubbock, Texas. I hired Stephen after being referred from a friend. In my line of work, I could not afford to have a DWI on my record. This incident could have very well ruined my career, and caused me a lot of money down the road. Also, a DWI would have ruined my reputation in the community. Stephen was very helpful, and set clear expectations of the case. He is 100% professional, and made the process as seamless as possible. His services are very affordable as he was able to work out payment arrangements. I am very thankful that I was able to get the DUI charge dropped and it is not on my record. Stephen is very passionate about his work, and puts his clients first. Anytime I had a question or concern he was literally one call away. I have moved on to serve as a leader in the community and move up within my current organization, thanks to the help of Stephen. I have had friends that opted to go with other attorneys and their outcome did not end well. Stephen is hands down the best DUI attorney in this area. If you are reading this, I would strongly recommend you hire him, it will be the best decision you made if you in a DWI situation. A++++++++

  3. The only attorney I would ever use

    Posted by Clint, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hamilton.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    As I could now write page after page of my thank you’s to Mr. Hamilton I’d like to point out that it was never about that. There was never a point throughout the case that Mr. Hamilton wanted anything in return or that it was just about the money. Mr. Hamilton truly cared about not only my case, but my family, my well-being, and me. There is no other attorney that I would ever recommend more than Mr. Hamilton. He saved me from a DWI, evading arrest and not to mention a public intoxication I received on campus during all of this. I will never be able to repay Mr. Hamilton for what he did for me and I owe him thanks for everything he did for me.

  4. Trust that justice will be served

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hamilton.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had never had a violent offense in my life, and was a semester away from graduating from Texas Tech University. One weekend night, at a student apartment complex, a Lubbock police officer decided that he wanted to detain me for whatever reason of his choosing and I quickly reminded him that he had no reason to do so. He didn't like that I knew my rights and began to try to manhandle me with physical force. Because I was in-shape and above average in strength, he was unable to put me on the ground himself. Shortly thereafter, another officer came over and the two proceeded to beat me until I had a broken nose and busted lip. They charged me with FELONY Assault of a Peace Officer in a poor attempt to cover up what they had done to me out of frustration of my lack of (optional) cooperation. Stephen Hamilton didn't stand for this. After a few harmless hours of community service and classes, my case has now been dismissed with minimal inconvenience. I received my degree from Texas Tech the following semester and now work in Austin as if it never happened. This situation could have devastated my professional career path, but thanks to Stephen Hamilton, it is as if those awful excuses for law enforcement officers never approached me that night. I strongly recommend this lawyer.

  5. LBB DWI case

    Posted by Michael, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hamilton.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Felt very informed what was going on with my case. Straight forward and honest. Highly recommend.

  6. Above and Beyond

    Posted by Dennis, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hamilton.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I hired Stephen as my lawyer, I never realized that I could have such a trustworthy, honest, and caring relationship with my legal council. I was extremely pleased the way Stephen and his staff treated me. They did not act like I was a case number and went above their duty to make sure I was informed on what direction my case was going in. While I had some bad circumstances, my life never felt in shambles or uncertain because Stephen and his staff always were there for me. From answering questions to just listening, he and his staff were very diligent in helping me regain my life. I highly recommend Stephen Hamilton and his staff because they really go the extra mile and truly care about your well being. Even to this day after my case has been resolved Stephen continues to be there by my side for council. It would be unwise to go with any other representation then the one that Stephen Hamilton and Associates can provide with their knowledge, diligence, and most of all human caring nature they provide to their clients.

  7. Matter handled successfully and professionally

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hamilton.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stephen did an excellent job with my case. After searching online and interviewing lawyers in the Lubbock area, I selected Stephen Hamilton to represent me. He was rated highly online, was highly specialized with DWI cases, had courtroom experience, and was very knowledgable in the interview. I chose well. After multiple deliberations with the district attorney failed, we went to trial. At every step of the process Stephen took great care to explain all options available. Stephen was able to find an expert witness to testify in the case. During trial, Stephen was on point, citing relevant case law, thereby keeping the assistant district attorney in line. Ultimately, a verdict of not guilty was rightfully rendered.

    Justice was served.

    After the not guilty verdict, Stephen worked to expunge records of the arrest. Although the process of going to trial was daunting, Stephen helped allay any trepidation. He was easily reachable and more than happy to answer any of my questions throughout the ordeal. He dealt with both the civil and criminal aspects of the case. At trial, he is an excellent litigator. Behind the scenes, he is a very affable fellow.

    I would highly recommend his services to anyone wrongly charged with DWI.

  8. Excellent attorney

    Posted by Jonathan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hamilton.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I cannot say enough good things about Mr. Hamilton. He is very knowledgeable. He was always looking out for my best interest and made sure my DWI charge would not damage my reputation or jeopardize future opportunities. He would speak to me personally and even met me on Saturdays to discuss my case. He is without a doubt the best DWI/DUI attorney in the region.

  9. College Students DWI Attorney in Lubbock, TX

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hamilton.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen Hamilton is very knowledgeable when it comes to DWI laws in the state of Texas. He assisted us with our son who was a freshman at Texas Tech and unfortuneately, as so many freshmen do, was drinking and driving after a frat party. Another attorney in Lubbock referred us to Stephen. He immediately put us at ease and was not judgmental knowing how scary this can be for a young man and his parents. I like the fact you pay one fee and it covers all expenses so you are not being nickled and dimed to death. If Stephen was not immediately available either through phone calls or email, he would respond typically within 24 hours. He would contact my son and then would follow up with us. He was always professional and answered our questions in a manner in which we could understand. Our overall experience was a positive one and I would highly recommend Stephen Hamilton.

  10. Excellent Job

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hamilton.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Hamilton was a tremendous help. He and his staff are extremely knowledgable, and I am extremely grateful to have had such an excellent attorney working for me.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

806-794-0394