Matias Jose Rueda’s Reviews

Matias Jose Rueda

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Amazing Lawyer - HIGHLY Recommend

    Posted by Lindsey, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matias Rueda.
    • I hired Matias 1-6 months ago.
    • Matias handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He was my lifesaver. He gave me a piece of mind and was always available when I had questions. He helped me navigate several tricky situations and ensured that I would be taken care of after my divorce was finalized. I would highly recommend Attorney Rueda for any of your family law needs!

  2. A Trustworthy Attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matias Rueda.
    • I hired Matias 1-3 years ago.
    • Matias handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I found Mat Rueda when things were as bad as they could be for our family. Mr.Rueda was professional, patient, informative and led our family through the courts with a confidence that only comes from knowing his profession very well. I was impressed that other attorneys like and respect him and he knew how to elicit a productive conversation. He thought outside the box, kept focused, and achieved our goals consistently. Without Mr. Rueda, I am not sure how our case would have turned out. I found Mat Rueda to be an excellent attorney and a good person. I would confidently recommend Mr. Rueda to anyone seeking a family attorney.

  3. Honest , Compassionate and Dependable

    Posted by Amanda, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matias Rueda.
    • I hired Matias 6-12 months ago.
    • Matias handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Rueda went beyond any attorney I spoke with about my divorce case. He was very honest with me and thorough through each step of the process. He always made time to answer my questions as well as keep me informed. I have already referred a close friend to Mr. Rueda as I am confident he will treat her case with as much respect and care as he has mine.

  4. Trusted Divorce Attonery! He handled my divorce with professionalism and compassion.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matias Rueda.
    • I hired Matias 1-3 years ago.
    • Matias handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Rueda represented me in a divorce in 2012. This was a trying time for me and my daughter. Mr Rueda not only worked with me and "held my hand" every step of the way, but also made me feel comfortable with the process. I won custody of my daughter and could not be happier. He is an amazing attorney and man. I have told all of my friends and family about my attorney. And yes he is "my attorney for life". Thank you so much Mr. Rueda.

  5. Mr Rueda is very professional and knowledgeable in regards to the law. He was also very sympathetic to my situation

    Posted by Amnon, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matias Rueda.
    • I hired Matias 1-3 years ago.
    • Matias handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Rueda was always professional and very knowledgeable in the law. He also showed me a lot of compassion regarding my situation. He is very prompt and was very accommodating and able to represent me and filings on short notice. He never had an issue talking me through things and spending as much time as it took to help me through situations. Also, his pricing is very reasonable and never tried to bill me for every little phone call or question. I would highly recommend Mr. Rueda to anyone who wants a lawyer that is smart, knowledgeable, passionate about his work and just someone who cares about his clients. I never felt like a paycheck for Mr. Rueda but a friend that was helping me through a rough time. He has high ethics and most importantly for me is not afraid to tell the truth about your situation and not just try to rack up billable hours. A true gentlemen and great representation...

  6. 3rd TIME'S A CHARM WITH MAT!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matias Rueda.
    • I hired Matias 1-3 years ago.
    • Matias handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    My divorce was complex (with a lot of property), highly contested, spread over two counties and took two years to the day to finalize. Mat was my third attorney and the only one that under promised and over delivered on what he said he could do or not do for me and my two sons.

    I've worked with many, many attorneys in the past (over 10) and the standard method of getting clients is to over promise what they can do for you and then slowly let you down to what they can actually do while they bill you hourly. Mat is in no way like this. He's super honest and will tell you going into things that he does not think he can do xy or z for you...but he'll say I can probably do ab and c for you. This was awesome.

    Mat is young, smart, knowledgeable about the law (and life), hardworking, and patient. Mat understands the emotional side of family law and was really good at understanding my emotions and bringing me back on point. There were a couple of times that Mat didn't know the answer to my questions so rather than guess he said "let me look that up and get back with you". I really appreciated his honesty and candor.

    Mat became my partner in my divorce. I feel like he really cared about my case and the outcome my boys and I ended up with. I feel like Mat became my friend and we both ended up with a lot of respect for each other.

    I read another review on this site about Mat and all I can say is that the other poster has no idea what they are talking about. Some people can never be made happy I guess. Contrary at the end of my divorce I kept asking Mat if I owed him anymore money because I KNEW he had worked a ton of hours on my case. He kept telling me that I did not. I NEVER imagined in a 1,000 years that I'd ever ask an attorney if I owed them more money. Funny, I know! If Mat were greedy he could have easily said yes you owe me x more dollars but he's not like that which is awesome!

    I have told a couple of people about Mat and what a great job he did for me and my boys. If I ever have a need for additional family law advice or work I pray that I will be able to use Mat again. I just hope he does not get too busy in the future because he is so good that he gets too expensive and overbooked to help me.

    The only thing I would say that is even slightly not positive about Mat is I think he cares to much at times and the small clerical details get pushed off to a later date or time. He could use an administrative assistant or legal assistant to help him with the not so important stuff on his plate. Having my own small business I know personally how hard this can be to do. On one hand you know you could so the small things yourself but on the other you have more pressing things to be doing with your time. BUT the other side to this possible weakness is Mat never dropped a ball with me on something big. He knows the important stuff in his head and will never leave you high and dry...and in the big picture THAT'S what's important.

    So to sum it all up Mat helped me sleep well at night and focus on running my business while my divorce was being wrapped up. From the moment I met him I never felt that my case with him was not being managed professionally.

    Oh, and one more thing Mat drove to another county no fewer than 3 times for my case. That was no fewer than 12 hours of sitting in a car that I'm pretty sure he never even billed me for. I even offered to pay him mileage at least and he declined my offer. I had another atty charge me 800.00 for doing that drive one time!

    Don't walk to hire Mat Rueda...RUN TO HIRE HIM!!!

  7. Your money would be better spent elsewhere

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Matias Rueda.
    • I hired Matias 1-3 years ago.
    • Matias handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Mat Rueda is the equivalent of a car repairman

    who takes advantage of the fact that his clients do

    not have the ability to do auto repairs. The kind

    who breaks additional machinery in your car after

    taking your money. As I have not been to law school,

    I was under the mistaken impression that paying his

    fees would in turn give me someone who would speak

    for my best interests and the best interests of my

    children.

    I would definitely not recommend Mr. Rueda to

    anyone. When I first met with him, he was very

    knowledgeable and he informed me of my options

    regarding my divorce. I explained to him that my

    main concern was having the ability to continue to

    be a part of my children's lives after the divorce.

    He outlined a plan to me that, over the next few

    months, would keep my best interests in mind.

    Unfortunately, after we were in court (a few days

    later), his tune abruptly changed to "this is the

    best we are going to get". He convinced me that if I

    were to pay extra child support in addition to what

    was required, I would have more time (visitation)

    with my children. Apparently, the "more time" has in

    fact turned out to be a standard part of most

    divorce decrees.

    This man excels at the art of making his clients

    feel informed while selecting the path of least

    resistence in regard to the job he is paid to do. I

    was appalled to discover that everything he did for

    me was standard in almost all divorce cases, and

    without his representation not only would I have the

    same divorce decree, visitation, etc, but I would

    also be paying less child support. The entire

    experience left me wondering what purpose exactly my

    fees to him served besides padding his pockets.

    Since the divorce was finalized in August, I have

    had to consult with additional attourneys to wrap up

    the "loose ends" left by Mr. Rueda. Consistently I

    am told that, "Your lawyer should have taken care of

    this", and "This is something that should have been

    addressed when you were in court last August" and I

    am now forced to wonder who exactly Mr. Rueda was

    working for. I'm truly amazed this man can sleep at

    night.

  8. Best Lawyer in town

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matias Rueda.
    • I hired Matias more than 3 years ago.
    • Matias handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Call now for a free consultation.

512-931-4529