James W. Evans’s Reviews

James W. Evans

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly Recommend This Attorney

    Posted by Lorraine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I highly recommend Jimmy Evans as well as his staff. My case extended over 3 years due to a "hiding" ex-spouse, and I am so grateful that they hung in there with me until he was found. It was a "gotcha" moment for us all. They displayed patience and commitment, and they were right there with me when I needed them. Jimmy Evans is an attorney who really cares for his clients, and I'm impressed with him as an individual and as an attorney.

  2. Excellent Outcome!

    Posted by Brian,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.

    Mr. Evans and his team did an excellent job. The outcome went exactly as anticipated. Good work!

  3. Best Divorce Attorney in Austin

    Posted by Rakesh, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I cannot recommend Jimmy Evans Family Law Group enough! After
    having dealt with some other attorneys similar in caliber and qualifications to Jimmy Evans, I can confidently say Mr. Evans is a Top Notch Attorney, an attorney that people need to know about. With Jimmy Evans, you will be paying for quality representation.

    I would describe Jimmy Evans as sharp as a razor guy, persuasive presenter, a very strategic thinker who has a great heart. Jimmy Evan's legal expertise, diligence in preparing for hearings, and communication skills make him one of the best in his class. The professionalism I experienced in Mr. Evan's office is unparalleled. Mr. Evan's office is a well-oiled machine with the efficiency of his operations from all of his legal staff.

    His paralegal Charles Verdict is amazing. He is very intelligent, detail-oriented and full of ideas. He almost predicted the outcome of my divorce.

    My case was a simple divorce case that turned out complicated case due to the numerous and ridiculous attempts to keep me from being a father. But Mr. Evans fought hard for me and got me a decree that allowed me to be a father and enabled me to finish a chapter of my life
    with dignity.

    Mr. Evans fought against a firm Piper & Turner that calls itself the "Champions of a Rights Group" and equips itself with resources from a particular rights group.

    But, in the end, despite Piper Turner's resources, Mr. Evans was able to put things where they belong and was able to obtain a fair and equitable divorce for me and able to get me expanded visitation with my younger child.

    Now, looking back, I feel as I thought it was a blessing in disguise for me to have been referred to Mr. Evan's law firm by my previous attorney. Rest assured that your legal matter, no matter how big or small, will be handled appropriately by the Evans Family Law Group.

    JIMMY: THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

  4. Poorly Drafted Order

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr Evans and his staff drafted an expensive final order that is filled with contradictions, and will essentially land me back in court in order to clarify all the ambiguity.

  5. Complicated Case, Constructive, Creative and Complete Closure

    Posted by Paul, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Working with Jimmy Evans law practice was such a welcome change after having wasted time and money on the same adoption case with other so-called ‘Family Law’ lawyers in Austin. This firm specializes in Family Law, and knows what they are doing.

    His office is professional, but not ‘stuffy’ feeling, well organized and efficiently run.
    If you call, they answer the phone, talk with you or take a message, and someone will get a response back to you in a timely manner.

    Jimmy and the staff know how to make effective use of email and don’t “nickel and dime” their clients

    Jimmy listens to what you have to say and involves you in the thinking and strategy to come up with the best approach – he treats the client with respect and acknowledges that the process, while sometimes stressful, is best handled as a collaboration, and that the client might also have a brain and know something about the particulars of their case.

    We were able to review documents before submissions to the court, and Jimmy is good at delegating these logistical items to staff whom incur lower billing costs, saving money for the client.

    Jimmy and firm enabled us to complete the adoption -- after several other lawyers had advised us we would probably not be successful in this quest. We’d recommend Jimmy Evans Law Firm for those in need of a “Family Law” lawyer who really knows his stuff.

  6. Look No where Else!

    Posted by Maria, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Look no where else, he knows his stuff and is very knowledgeable in the court room. I went to him scared not knowing what to do and because of him and his great staff I know have my 3 babies by my side! Professional, attentive, great staff!! Highly recommended! Thanks again for all you did!

  7. Would definitely recomend!

    Posted by Carolina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jimmy and his staff did a great job of managing my case with great organization, consideration and professionalism. I hired Jimmy after several other consultations because he assured me success, which others saw difficult since my case was a divorce with children involving relocation to another state. Jimmy is direct, efficient and very knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend him!

  8. Experience with the Legal Profession

    Posted by Clive, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr Jimmy Evans guided me through the process of obtaining a satisfactory conclusion to my son's
    divorce in Austin Texas, even though our residence is in Washington State. He was not only professional, knowledgable and timely in his responses he was personable and helpful with questions asked. The time difference of 2 hours between WA & TX sometimes necessitated Mr Evans returning calls outside of normal business hours which he did several times.
    I have no hesitation in recommending both him & his staff to any one who needs legal advice in his field of law.

  9. You can't beat the level of professionalism you'll receive at the Law Office of James W. Evans

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    You can't beat the level of professionalism you'll receive at the Law Office of James W. Evans. Jimmy’s legal knowledge, preparation and communication skills were first-class. Charles was extremely knowledgeable, respectful, and a great help to me.

    My case involved a very complicated financial matter; Jimmy knew exactly how to approach the confusion. His team did an outstanding job with the financial investigation and compiled a great deal of evidence to support my case. I felt comfortable with the decisions I made because they explained everything to me in great detail. They are experienced, honest and compassionate. I consider them my friends.

    Thanks for everything!

    Jennifer

  10. Highly recommended

    Posted by Bob, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I spoke to a number of attorneys before I decided on Jimmy. It was the best decision I ever made. He told me exactly what to expect, and it turned out to be right on the money. He was always available to answer any questions I had, and returns calls promptly.
    I would highly recommend Jimmy and his staff !!

512-628-2550