James W. Evans’s Reviews

James W. Evans

Average Rating

Based on 30 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Board Certified Family Attorney with positive results

    Posted by Leah B, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My Google search initially led me to James W. Evans then the first conversation is what helped me decide to hire them. I worked with Julio De La Llata, the associate attorney working in the firm. My case while seemly simple, became increasingly more challenging. Julio took it in stride and always helped keep the tone calm. He was very timely in his responses to me and even on the holiday weekend was able to respond to my correspondence. Julio was professional and showed concern when appropriate. He was able to get me more than I originally asked for, due to his attention to detail and listening to my needs. I highly recommend this firm and Julio De La Llata to anyone need assistance in Family Law.

  2. Straightforward Divorce

    Posted by Chris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    What should have been a pretty straightforward divorce started to turn into a mess with the other side feeling "entitled" etc. Jimmy, with his years of experience know exactly how to handle the situations that arose, was even able to almost predict how each step would play out. A divorce is not a "fun" process no matter the circumstances, but the difference between a a horrible experience and smooth one is good counsel, and Jimmy provided that.

  3. An excellent family law attorney

    Posted by Jason, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    There are times in life that do not always go to plan. Sometimes, that means needing a divorce. The situation was complicated and challenging. I found Jimmy Evans and his law group to be of great help during this trying time. Jimmy is very sharp, knows family law inside and out, is an excellent negotiator and fights to make things work as much as possible to be in your favor. I do not think I could have found better representation for me and my situation.

  4. Highly Recommend for common law divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Jimmy Evans and his staff! I initially went to him requesting assistance in a eviction of a boyfriend who had live in my house for 11 years. I was then served restraining orders from evicting my boyfriend from my house and a law suit for a divorce from a common law marriage. My case became more complicated and Mr. Evans advised me and represented me to get through my transition into being single and all the legal issues that need to happen. The goal being getting him out of my house.
    The staff at Evans Family Law were attentive, concise, knew the law without question, and were always eager to answer any questions.

  5. Horrible experience

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend James Evans.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired James Evans and his firm to represent me in my case... After they got their retainer all they did was pretty much push paper... They went through an awful amount of money and nothing moved forward on my case for over 8 months.... After speaking to multiple other lawyers about my case (to find a better lawyer) it became apparent that I was being used for as much money as they could get out of me without actually doing the work, many lawyers said they would have had the case done in 90 days and for not as much as I had spent. I have a threatening email from Mr. Evans regarding my sons case. Overall a HORRIBLE experience, their communication isn't good, I got a call that my meeting with him was canceled as I was on the way to meet him... DO NOT USE THIS LAWYER!

  6. Divorce with Custody Issues

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Jimmy Evans for my divorce and custody case. I needed some immediate help, even though Mr. Evans was very busy at the time he was able to make some time available to see me. He sat down with me and went through my case step by step but more importantly he helps me understand the law. He then explained the whole process to me; he wanted to make sure that I understood everything that was going to happen in my case. He made decisive strategy decisions with me, listened to my concerns/desires for my case. His strive and professionalism is on point and I would recommend him to any and all in need of a great lawyer. I highly recommend Jimmy Evans for anyone going through a child custody case or family law.

  7. Knowlegable, Experienced, Ethical, Honest, Straightforward, Available, Effective, and Compassionate

    Posted by Debbie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jimmy represented in me a complicated divorce with difficult custody challenges, safety/protective issues and during a time of harsh financial struggles for me and my kids. Jimmy and his team were very responsive, available, and helpful during every aspect of this stressful time. Jimmy helped me focus on what was really important and helped keep me off the emotional roller coaster of anxiety, misinformation, and the fear from scary threats from my ex-husband and his council. Jimmy keenly understood what the judge considered important and what was irrelevant. Due to his direct, realistic but kind approach, he helped me stay rational and focused - with my "eyes on the prize" so to speak. I also appreciated his concern for my children and how we were managing during the very scary process of divorce. If you want a crazy aggressive lawyer who will help you get into a lot heated battles, then Jimmy isn't for you. But if you want to obtain justice with integrity, maintain a sense of sanity, dignity with as little emotional pain as possible for you and your children, then hire Jimmy and his very knowledgeable effective team. They know what they are doing and will help you every step of the way so you can finally rebuild and move on.

  8. Highly Recommend This Attorney

    Posted by Lorraine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I highly recommend Jimmy Evans as well as his staff. My case extended over 3 years due to a "hiding" ex-spouse, and I am so grateful that they hung in there with me until he was found. It was a "gotcha" moment for us all. They displayed patience and commitment, and they were right there with me when I needed them. Jimmy Evans is an attorney who really cares for his clients, and I'm impressed with him as an individual and as an attorney.

  9. Excellent Outcome!

    Posted by Brian,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.

    Mr. Evans and his team did an excellent job. The outcome went exactly as anticipated. Good work!

  10. Best Divorce Attorney in Austin

    Posted by Rakesh, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I cannot recommend Jimmy Evans Family Law Group enough! After
    having dealt with some other attorneys similar in caliber and qualifications to Jimmy Evans, I can confidently say Mr. Evans is a Top Notch Attorney, an attorney that people need to know about. With Jimmy Evans, you will be paying for quality representation.

    I would describe Jimmy Evans as sharp as a razor guy, persuasive presenter, a very strategic thinker who has a great heart. Jimmy Evan's legal expertise, diligence in preparing for hearings, and communication skills make him one of the best in his class. The professionalism I experienced in Mr. Evan's office is unparalleled. Mr. Evan's office is a well-oiled machine with the efficiency of his operations from all of his legal staff.

    His paralegal Charles Verdict is amazing. He is very intelligent, detail-oriented and full of ideas. He almost predicted the outcome of my divorce.

    My case was a simple divorce case that turned out complicated case due to the numerous and ridiculous attempts to keep me from being a father. But Mr. Evans fought hard for me and got me a decree that allowed me to be a father and enabled me to finish a chapter of my life
    with dignity.

    Mr. Evans fought against a firm Piper & Turner that calls itself the "Champions of a Rights Group" and equips itself with resources from a particular rights group.

    But, in the end, despite Piper Turner's resources, Mr. Evans was able to put things where they belong and was able to obtain a fair and equitable divorce for me and able to get me expanded visitation with my younger child.

    Now, looking back, I feel as I thought it was a blessing in disguise for me to have been referred to Mr. Evan's law firm by my previous attorney. Rest assured that your legal matter, no matter how big or small, will be handled appropriately by the Evans Family Law Group.

    JIMMY: THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

512-628-2550