Brian Douglas Walters’s Reviews

Brian Douglas Walters

Average Rating

Based on 37 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A lawyer that is truly on our side

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Before finding Brian, we felt like any other legal case number. Our previous lawyers seemed to lack interest in our overall case and as a result, our issues have yet to be resolved.
    Brian is different - he actually listens to the background of our situation and is interested in understanding our overall goals. Brian keeps us informed throughout the process, supports us throughout, and is promptly available to discuss any issues that arise. We have full confidence in Brian and his team.

  2. Extremely satisfied

    Posted by Gregory, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was having trouble with my ex-wife following the visitation orders from our then divorce/child custody decree. I know it may sound strange but I was having a problem with my ex-wife not exercising her right of visitation where as our son was wanting to visit with his mom. The original attorney that I used for the original divorced had stopped practicing family law and I was in need of an attorney that would pick up the case. With so many attorneys’ out there and on the internet I closed my eyes, rolled the dice and picked one. Brian Walters was the attorney that I selected. Upon my initial consultation with Brian, he immediately made me feel comfortable by not “diving” straight into the problem but rather taking the time to get to know me as a person and not as a potential paying client. Long story short, Brian was able to fix the visitation problems PLUS he was able to increase the child support that I was not aware there even a problem with. Brian’s family law expertise is something that I have recommended to others and I will continual to recommend to other. If you’re looking for a good family law attorney, look no further, Brian Walters is your man!

  3. Brian Walters and staff are surely the best divorce attorneys in Austin.

    Posted by Monte, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Brian and his staff did an excellent job with my divorce. We had a rather easy situation with no kids and few combined assets. But his experience, intellect and careful consideration saved me a lot of time and money. My ex wife's lawyer cost half as much per hour, but in the end, she payed more
    than I did in total legal fees!

    Brian gave me great advice on many occassions that really helped me from making mistakes and costing me in the separation. Having followed his guidance, I ended up keeping over 80% of my 401k, and am very happy! Him and his staff were always very quick and responsive to my emails or phone calls, he even answered an email while he was taking a week's vacation.

    I'd strongly recommend Brian Walters to anyone having to undergo the challenging issue of divorce. It's a tough experience for anyone, and I'm so glad to have put my trust in his counsel.

  4. Why you need to hire Brian Douglas Walters

    Posted by Joe, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I've had the pleasure of knowing Brian and his family for over 20 years. He's an incredibly smart, trustworthy and driven person. When my wife of 20 years decided to end our marriage, I was devastated to say the least. At first, I had hired a local attorney. I quickly realized my wife was out to take our 2 year old adopted son away from me and force the sale of our beautiful hillcountry home, a home my father and I spent years building ourselves. For a reason I could not understand, she was out to take everything. Although my son was the number one fight, my original attorney was pressing me to meet my wife's demands of forcing the house to sell within two weeks of her filing. That was the lowest point of my life. That was the point I reached out to Brian. Brian was amazing. It was a Friday night when he received my plee. By Saturday he had sent me a text to ease my mind. Sunday eve we spoke on the phone and he assured me that fairness could be achieved. He assured me that I was not going to lose my son, and, the house and my retirement could be kept. Although Brian could not take my case personally, he conference called me at 7am Monday morning with his new partner Jake Gilbreath. I immediately fired my original attorney and hired Jake to represent me. THE BEST DECISION I EVER MADE! I lived in our home for 3 months with my wife under the painful threat of losing everything. I only lived there to be close to my son. My wife was out to destroy me. I had no comprehension of why, at that point the only thing I had to hold on to was my faith in Brian and Jake and their knowledge of the legal system. On the day of mediation, Jake was extremely calm. I was a mess. My wife put us through a painful mediation. I was firm on one stance, I was willing to go to court and lose everything just to keep my son. I don't think my wife realized what she was doing. Our mediation lasted for 14 hours. Throughout the process Jake was brilliant. His attention to detail was amazing! He caught a number of things that if went unchecked would have caused a lot of problems. In the end, I received a modified SPO that gave me a life with my son. I got to keep the house. I just took over the payments. I kept my retirement and 1/2 our stock portfolio. It's been over a month now since mediation. Throughout this process I was in contact with numerous friends either going through a divorce or recovering from their divorce. Every single on of those friends were absolutely amazed at the results Brian and his firm accomplished. I owe my new life and the life with my son to Brian and Jake. Hire them! You will not be dissapointed!

  5. Revised thoughts on Brian Walters

    Posted by Brandon, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I recently wrote a review of Brian about my child custody case. I would like to clarify a few items. The review was written in the beginning of the case. It was written when we hadn't been to one hearing. When I was still believing the lies coming out of Brian's mouth. I believe Brian to push his entire work onto his staff, and then take the credit for it. I can not be sure because I have never seen his staff, but from the emails I get I can infer this. Such as them mixing up files from one case to another with the same last name and Brian telling me it was the fault of one of his staff. But wait... I thought he said he personally handles all his cases, how could this happen?
    The first hearing I had, I sat in the back of the court room as my ex sat in the front. Brian had the nerve to talk to me about rates and concentrate on how much he could charge for the trip, versus going over what was going to be done at the hearing. He waived me getting up on the stand without even consulting me and attested that everything she said was true without argument put forward by me. The judge asked if there was any violence in the (her) household (the whole reason for the rushed hearing to get temporary custody(4 months a rush?)) and he said no. CPS had removed the step father for alcohol use and physical violence... but there was no violence in the house Brian? Even if you had no evidence... oh wait.. you told me that you could subpena the CPS agent.... she didn't show... you didn't have time Brian? The 4 months that you drug your feet so you could finish your other case (with same last name) without travel and go on vacation wasn't enough time to tell your staff to do the paperwork?
    Now folks keep in mind, I am calling my lawyer, paying my fees as expected, and updating him on the case... being charge for the time he takes to talk to me.... He also tells me... "I can minimize the travel fee to the Dallas hearing as I will be in the area those weeks working on my new office. I will only charge you for travel from that location to the courthouse."
    Week of first hearing.... "I haven't decided to fly in or drive in." At the end of a short conversation that I called him to confirm the we would bring up CPS involvement. And then he sits in the hearing, unprepared, not concerned with how I would like it to be played out or consult me on his choices... worried about what to charge me for the travel. (Later to be revealed he just wanted verbal confirmation so you could throw it in my face.)
    During the first hearing, he had to leave the courtroom to confer with a law book on a particular rule that he was trying to get the judge to rule on his favor. Would someone who was going to lean on the rule heavily Brian be prepared to quote the same ruling to the judge without looking confused?
    Our relationship ended when I confronted Brian about the travel charges and the things he said in reference to the charges being different. I spoke in a calm voice and had collected my thoughts to speak in a civil manner. Brian was 'appalled' that I would question what he would charge, stating his family had to eat too. He immediately wanted to refer me to someone he knew that would charge less. I ended the conversation by asking him to file to close the case in fighting for custody, and that I was done. In the end, $4200 out $5000 retainer just to get the case moved from Dallas County to San Marcos using Brian. We only had one hearing in Dallas that lasted maybe 2 hours. No prep work was done outside of me providing facts to his staff about the case (sent twice because they misplaced them or didn't forward on to Brian, and that wasn't used).
    I believe Brain provides for his family. I believe he puts minimum effort forward on cases as long as he appears to be working. I believe Brain should reduce his case load in order to focus more on the cases he does have to provide better service, and allow others to seek adequate support with another lawyer.

  6. Smart and Sensitive

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I first came to Brian back in early 2001. My daughters and I had just fled from their biological father who lived in another state. I had gotten a divorce in the state from which we fled, but it was fast and many things needed clarification. Protective Orders were the first priority. Brian D. Walters and his team took immediate control when my daughters and I desperately needed help. He secured Protective Orders, got the divorce moved to Texas and cleaned up the loose ends which further reinforced our safety and security.
    I soon remarried a wonderful man who became an amazing father to my girls. Not long after that we had another baby girl making us a happy, loving and very busy family. There have been years of laughter and joy. Brian and his team made that possible for us.
    Fast forward 12 years.
    On May 5, 2013 tragedy struck. Our two eldest daughters had just returned from college when my husband suffered a fatal heart attack right before our very eyes. It was sudden and is still is a horrible shock to everyone who knew him. He was a healthy middle aged man who had never been diagnosed with anything serious, let alone heart disease. The girls and I are still grieving. Our youngest is only 12.
    As if our sudden loss wasn't enough to bear, my husband's ex-wife(with whom he had NO children) resurfaced with a lawyer and her 2002 divorce decree making claims of entitlement to survivor benefits, his estate, etc. This lady was a stranger to us before my husband's funeral. We knew she existed, but had never before met her. It was time to call Brian again.
    Even though this person had case law in her favor and a good chance of getting what she wanted, Brian and his partner worked creatively with our probate attorneys and they were able to stop this lady from taking anything more from my husband and our family.

  7. Lots of good attorney's out there, don't settle for this one.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Great sales pitch, personable and lots of encouragement and reassurance along the long path of divorce. He requests all information available, verbal, written, electronic etc. be given to him through out the "waiting" time. Now it's time for court. When I asked the staff about a meeting with Brian before court, the staff stated," He will contact you a day or two before court because Brian waits for then to review the case " I had boxes of information at his office. He would have had to stay up for two days to study all my documentation in order to represent me properly, so was it in my best interest to settle, absolutely not, it was in Brian's best interest absolutely it was. He was not prepared. The worst part of this, he settled for things I did not agree too, but I was just glad it was all over with. Give me the paper, I will sign. In hindsight I see Brian was not at all versed on my case, but he could sure cash my check quickly. I would never use Brian again for anything, except conversation, he's great at that. The issue is I see that by me submitting the "evidence" for months and months and months Brian got what he wanted, very high legal fees from a paying client. Did he use anything I submitted ? Not anything and I submitted documentation that proved the issues I raised, at least he told me I had very good evidence, not to worry etc. etc. etc. Settling a case makes the attorney look good in the courts eyes, don't fall for it. Fight and get your day in court in spite of your Attorney's continued arguments why to Not go before the judge. The strongest argument he had for me was, it could go either way. It would be best to settle. No kidding it could go either way. But it's a very highly charged day, you trust your attorney so again you take his advice. You should be able to trust your attorney and follow his advice so I recommend anyone considering Brian Walters to look elsewhere. He can sweet talk you and appear genuinely concerned but when it's down to the wire, in my case anyway,he didn't prepare, so we were forced to settle. I hired an attorney because they should know what is best for me. If I knew the legal system I would have done it myself, but I don't, so I overpaid an attorney to be ill prepared and represent his own interests, not mine. This is the kind of review one needs to read. Be careful and choose your attorney wisely. No, this isn't a poor review because I lost, I didn't lose, remember we settled (by default) I was misrepresented and I want to warn others. Every bought a lousy car from a great salesman? What made me think of this... the ex is still stalking and harassing. I need to see a judge and get done what should have gotten done to begin with. I see more legal dollars flying out of my bank account, but this time I am educated.

  8. Efficient and Effective

    Posted by Edwin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Brian was very knowledgeable in understanding what the other side of my divorce was capable of and articulating for me in the eyes of a judge which threats were real and which ones were not. I had a very difficult, unfair situation where my ex-wife had withheld access from me seeing one of my children in the initial stage of the divorce process. This tore me apart. Brian moved quickly in regaining full access of my parental custody rights (for all my children) within a matter of days after hiring him. I also compliment Brian on his efficiency, having settled the case on a reverse time line to court date which was a very effective use of time. When determining the hourly rate or retainer fee with other lawyers, Brian may "appear" to be higher than average, but I don't believe you'll achieve a divorce faster which will ultimately save you the most money in your case. I would recommend Brian for anyone facing the uncertainty of divorce.

  9. Couldn't be more pleased!

    Posted by Raul, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was referred to Brian by friend of mine who is an attorney at a well known firm in town. Brian has been outstanding. He is very efficient in his interactions, very thorough in his explanations of legal processes and always looked out for my best interests in our interactions. He carefully explained options when there were decision points, outlined various alternatives to next steps and then handled the subsequent activities in a timely manner. Brian has been responsive to all my inquiries and also patient in waiting for me to make some decisions. My interactions with him also included a filing with his associate, who is also very professional. Brian ensured that he kicked off that process by setting my expectations and then ensuring a complete and thorough follow up. Brian also leverages technology to handle some of the operational aspects of the engagements and that makes those efficient and cost effective. I would highly recommend Brian.

  10. The Big Guns

    Posted by Jeffery, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Child Custody matter.

    They say "Never bring a knife to a gun fight". By putting Brian Walters and his team in my corner, I truly brought out THE BIG GUNS!!!

    The Law Office of Brian Walters is a shining example of professionalism.
    Brian's team made ALL the difference in bringing my family back together!

    A REALLY BIG THANK YOU to Brian!!!! I hope I never need a lawyer again, but if so, you are my GO TO GUY!

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

512-320-9160