Taralynn Rena Mackay’s Reviews

Taralynn Rena Mackay

Average Rating

Based on 35 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best TX BON Attorney Ever!!!!!

    Posted by a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Taralynn Mackay.
    • Taralynn handled my Administrative Law matter.

    Mrs. Mackay is awesome. I didn't even end up having to hire her. She just had a consult with me over the phone and told me the best step to take first and I did. Afterwards when I went to hire her, she just told me that I shouldn't have any problems with TX BON and if I did then call her but there was no need to hire her. I ended up meeting Mrs. Mackay at BON hearing for nurses when I was a nursing student and the way she represented her client was so professional and the TX BON discipline board gave her the up most respect. Little did I know that she used to be the attorney for TX BON. I didn't know or think at the time that obtaining my license was going to be a nightmare. Taralynn explained to me what was specific about my case and that the TX BON attorney at the time was giving me false illegal false information. I wished I had contacted her earlier on when I was fighting for my license. This would of saved me months of stress, tears, anxiety, and a lot of "What If's?" Long story short I just had two phone calls with Mrs. Mackay and I ended up getting my license with no stipulations. If you have any problems with the TX BON. Please contact this brilliant woman!

    1. Taralynn Rena Mackay

      Taralynn Mackay

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for the lovely comments, but I want to make two corrections -- I started my law practice working for the Texas Medical Board (known then as the Texas Board of Medical Examiners) not the Texas Nursing Board. I also want to clarify the TX BON attorneys do not give illegal false information rather their focus is on the their employer, the Board, and not the nurse and thus they are not allowed to advise the nurse.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  2. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Megan, a Health Care client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Taralynn Mackay.
    • I hired Taralynn 6-12 months ago.
    • Taralynn handled my Health Care matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I needed Ms. Mackay's help on a declaratory order for the BON. I had a criminal record and I was told by my school that I would have to report the offenses to the BON. I called several lawyers, and not one of them suggested that I was eligible for an expungement besides Ms. Mackay. I went through the expungement process and then when I spoke with Ms. Mackay she stated that I did not need to report it to the BON. The fact that she was honest even though it would not benefit her says a lot about Ms. Mackay. I would HIGHLY recommend her if you have any legal concerns when it comes to your license. She is honest and reliable!

  3. Excellent counsel and outstanding representation

    Posted by a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Taralynn Mackay.
    • I hired Taralynn more than 3 years ago.
    • Taralynn handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Excellent counsel who provided outstanding representation in my interaction with the Texas Board of Nurse Examiners. Should I ever need legal assistance regarding my nursing license again, I wouldn't hesitate to retain Ms. McKay again.

  4. Excellent counsel and representation

    Posted by a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Taralynn Mackay.
    • I hired Taralynn 6-12 months ago.
    • Taralynn handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I needed help with an investigation by the Board pertaining to a matter that happened many years ago. Taralynn (I feel comfortable enough with her to use her first name. I am usually more formal than that) immediately put me at ease and walked me through all the steps and strategies needed to deal with the situation successfully. I chose her for her deep intensive carenursing and legal backgrounds and stayed for her prompt attention to my needs, familiar, helpful and calming manner and her expert counsel. I have read the other 31 reviews on this page and they reflect the experience I had. I learned important lessons about the law from her, most importantly to use a lawyer for legal issues. You will be glad you did.

  5. Honest and truly experienced

    Posted by Rebecca, a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Taralynn Mackay.
    • I hired Taralynn 1-3 years ago.
    • Taralynn handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Mackay was very experienced and very honest with every aspect of my disciplinary complaint by the BON. I felt reassured that she practiced bedside nursing for years prior to becoming an attorney. This added to a certain comfort level. I felt that she "got it"; where other attorneys were more than willing to take on my case, but did not seem to truly understand the aspects and ramifications. Words could never express how much I appreciate her and her staff assisting me through a very tumultuous time in my career. Ms. Mackay maintains professionalism, integrity and foresight; all qualities you want in an attorney if you are ever involved in a disciplinary complaint by the BON. I would recommend Ms. Mackay to any nurse needing legal counsel to defend their license.

  6. BON representation

    Posted by a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Taralynn Mackay.
    • I hired Taralynn 6-12 months ago.
    • Taralynn handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Regardless of you knowing, you should not be under review by the BON, you need legal representation. PERIOD! Money well spent.
    Attorney Mackay was the perfect attorney as a RN and Attorney.
    I would have not had the results of case closed without her.

  7. Dealing with the TX BON

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Taralynn Mackay.

    Excellent representation, knowledgeable, compassionate, and professional. Dealing with the BON can be an intimidating process. Taralynn handled everything. She was available when I needed to talk about the case, and I was informed during the entire process. Highly recommend her!

  8. Dealing with the Texas Board of Nursing

    Posted by Patricia, a Health Care client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Taralynn Mackay.
    • I hired Taralynn 1-3 years ago.
    • Taralynn handled my Health Care matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Taralynn discussed my case prior to my deciding on her to represent me. She also discussed her fees. She had options to pay her fees, if not able to pay the full amount upfront. She is familiar with the members of the Texas Board of NUrsing and their investigators. She asked me what outcome I wanted and what outcome I could live with. She was very up front about what would happen during rhe investigation. She gave me a time frame of how long it would take to complete my case. She contacted me within the day or the next day when I had questiond. She also informed me of things that I could do to help my case, especially things my physicians could do. It tok a year for my case to be completed. I did get the results I wanted. It wouldnot have happened that way if I had someone else handling my case. She is also a RN as well as an attorney. I heard found her through a nurse I had worked with previously who was being taken to a peer review at the hospital she was employed. That nurse was accused of not taking care of a patient. Due to lack of documentation by the nurse actually caring for the patient. It appeared as though my colleague was responsible , with Taralynn's help the case was dismissed. I learned that the Texas Board of Nursing is in place to protect the public from "poor nursing care" that could harm the public. It is important to get a Attorney, when you initially hear from the Texas Board of Nursing. Don't wait and don't try to do it yourself. Taralynn is amazing.

  9. Excellent Attorney Who Will Get The Job Done

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Taralynn Mackay.
    • I hired Taralynn 6-12 months ago.

    Not everything works out as planned when dealing with the Texas Board of Nursing (TBON). Even if you do exactly what you are supposed to, it is easy to run into "snags." Ms. Mackay gave me free advice over the phone as I was starting nursing school. Attorney's generally don't give advice. She actually had me scan her documents, and reviewed them for free. Upon graduation, I began to run into some "snags" aforementioned. In my case, I had a few incidences expunged from my record before applying with the TBON. In spite of doing everything right, I was going to be sent to enforcement for investigation. This meant it I was likely going to pay fines and not be able to even take the NCLEX for 3-6 months (likely 6 months). I immediately called Ms. Mackay, and she contacted the TBON immediately. There were a few days she was out of the office due to sickness, and she still contacted me remotely from home. I refer to her here as Ms. Mackay, but always referred to her by first name. She is that personal, and she works with the confidence needed to deal with the TBON. It is obvious that one of her key strengths is that she fosters healthy, working relationships with the folks at TBON. She kept me informed, was honest and dedicated, worked fast, and kept the cost low. I was able to retain my position with my employer. I felt like the world was crumbling around me, and Ms. Mackay saved me. I have to say she also went above and beyond what I originally hired her for and helped expedite a couple of other pressing issues. Obviously, I cannot tell you that she will do this for everyone, but I can assure you that Ms. Mackay does everything humanly possible to solve your problem(s). Undoubtedly, I recommend Ms. Mackay to anyone who finds themselves needing legal assistance in dealing with anything medically related.

  10. Revocation of Nursing License

    Posted by a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Taralynn Mackay.
    • I hired Taralynn more than 3 years ago.
    • Taralynn handled my Licensing matter.

    Mrs. Mackay is the lawyer to go to concerning any problem you are having with your nursing license. She was wonderful. I didn't have to wait forever for her to get back to me. She would call back same day and even on the weekend. She took my fears away. I hired her to help me write a response to the board that helped my license to go from revoked to current within days. She also explained to me what was expected and what could possibly happen next with my charges as many times as this distraught nurse needed. She was wonderful and I highly recommend her to any nurse.