Richard Timothy Jones’s Reviews

Richard Timothy Jones

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Assigned as Court Appointed Attorney

    Posted by Anthony "Rocky",
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Jones.

    Mr. Jones was assigned to me as a court appointed attorney. He treated me with respect and dignity as if I were a paying client. He is one of the best in his field. He took my case and worked it as if I were related to him. Mr. Jones is not only a darn good lawyer, but he is a good man. Period. His kindness and generosity will never be forgotten.

  2. Mr. Jones is a Horrible Lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Jones.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This attorney did nothing for me other than get a warrant issued for my arrest! I had to fire him. I paid him to represent me against some ridiculous false trespassing charges and he said I didn’t not need to attend the court date and then he missed the court date which caused a Fugitive Warrant for my Arrest for not showing up in court! Stress and heartache for seven long months while he delayed over and over. The only communication I had with Mr. Jones about my case was in court for five minutes, after the Judge ordered the bailiff to locate him and ordered him to talk to me! He talked to me for no more than 5 minutes. He would not return my emails or texts. He would not even answer my questions and had no time to talk to me. He kept postponing my trial over and over after I told him to move forward with discovery and set a trial date. He is a poor excuse for an attorney. If the court appoints him to you, ask for other representation. He will NOT fight for you nor will he keep you informed about your case. He could care less about you. I had to fire him in order to move my case forward.

  3. Richard Jones is an exceptional attorney

    Posted by Craig, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Jones.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After being arrested in Houston for a failure to appear warrant in Travis county, I hired Richard Jones for legal representation in my case. The court wanted to charge me with a class A misdemeanor, in addition to fines and other stipulations. Mr. Jones was able to get my charge dropped down to a class C misdemeanor with fewer repercussions. During the length of my case Mr. Jones was very knowledgeable, informative, and prompt to communicate when I needed to reach him. I would like to personally thank Mr. Jones for his exceptional services, and give the highest recommendation to anyone who needs a criminal defense attorney in Austin.

  4. A second chance too better my life.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Jones.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was charge with aggravated robbery. And they offered me ten years in prison but being a really great lawyer that he is Mr. Richard Jones got me off on probation and I'm really grateful for the second chance Mr.Jones got me. He is really great hard working lawyer I would definitely recommend anyone to have him on your side. Thanks a lot again Mr. Richard Jones

  5. Misdemeanor Bond and Felony Bond

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Jones.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Originally, I had a different attorney that I met at my first court date. She said she was going to try to get me out on personal bond. I was denied personal bond with that first attorney. I was in jail for 2.5 weeks before Richard Jones came to visit me. He told me he would do his best. He said because of my situation there was a way to get me out, and he did. It was very reassuring. My case has been pending since then as a misdemeanor and last week I went to check in with pretrial services. My officer told me that I had missed a court date and there was a warrant. The charge had been enhanced to a felony because of my extensive criminal background in other states. They took me into custody and my pretrial officer called Richard Jones' office and told them. Richard Jones went to talk with the judge about getting me back out. I was only in jail for 3 hours before I was released. I would recommend Richard to anyone seeking jail release and representation on a criminal case.

  6. Superhero

    Posted by LM,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Jones.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.

    I was in court today and the court told me that if it was not for Mr. Jones I would be in jail.If was not for Mr. Jones and the amazing Hanna, I would not be writing this review. I was arrested on a probation violation with no bond. He had the warrant lifted in a day and this was a few days before Christmas and you know that the county was short staffed. He was the best gift from Santa ever. Hanna held my hand and answered my 800 million questions and helped me with my fear. I knew I was in safe hands with this team. When I got home I received a ton of solicitation letters from other attorneys and their prices were outrageous. I assure you that you will get more than your moneys worth with Mr. Jones. Bonus is that he knows everyone in the system and how beneficial this is for you cannot be measured. Also, they take your phone calls! My previous attorney would not even when I needed clarification on stuff or when my court dates were changed.

  7. Excellent Job THANKS !!

    Posted by david, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Jones.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Richard Jones and his legal assistant Hanna did a wonderful job for me, he was court appointed for me however if I had money I would be happy to pay for their service...after 1 and 1/2 yrs he was able to get my case dismissed so I am back to a perfect record except the arrest record of course all of which should have never happened in the first place...communication with them was excellent, I feel I was very lucky to have Richard and Hanna work on my case....Thank you both very very much

  8. ATTORNEY FROM HELL!!!

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Jones.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    He is the worst attorney in Austin. He did not show up in court after telling me not to bother showing up because he would take care of it. Which resulted in my bond being forfeitured. As a result I had warrants out and he never got my bond reinstated after countless times of calling and calling his office or cell. I was picked up from work by the Bondsman and even after being arrested he did not get my bond reinstated or get me out. He asked for another $1000 dollars and I stayed in jail for 90 days total!!! TO ADD INSULT TO INJURY He did not give ME my money back! I had to hire another attorney and was released in a week. I lost my job, my car was repossessed, and I dissolved my 401k paying attorney's fees to get out so if you have a criminal issue please, please, please never hire this man!! YOU'VE BEEN WARNED!

  9. The Worst Attorney Ever!!!

    Posted by Michael, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Jones.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Let me start by saying if you have any family or loved ones that are incarcerated DO NOT HIRE THIS MAN! He is not trustworthy and in fact tried to steal my money without doing anything to get me out!

  10. A GOOD LAWYER AND IS WHY

    Posted by LORY, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Jones.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    MR.JONES IS ONE OF THE BEST LAWYER AROUND HE IS HANDLEING TWO CASES FOR ME THE FIRST ONE IS A FAMILY VIOLENCE CASE WHICH MY FRIEND HAD GOT MR.JONES FIRST OFFER WAS TWELVE YEAR MR.JONES GOT IT DOWN TO TWO YEARS AND ALL OF IHS BACK TIME ACCOUNTED FOR I SAY HE IS A DAM GOOD LAWYER