James Stephen Sustaita’s Reviews

James Stephen Sustaita

Average Rating

Based on 25 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. P.O.M.

    Posted by Robert,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sustaita.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    this is the best lawyer you can find.I had this one incident where I have to be at a marijuana class and at the same time I had class for my work and if I did not pass my work class I would lose my job and I wouldn't be able to support my family he helps me reschedule my plans and helped me keep my job and now I'm able to support my family still because of him and I am highly grateful For him I have no doubt in my mind that he is and will remain the best lawyer ever. Thank you James! Love the Arredondo family!

  2. custody hearing/ divorce

    Posted by JOEL, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sustaita.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.

    I hired James to handel my divorce and temporay custody hearing. James took my case with the upmost professionalism, he dismantled my soon to be ex wife case piece by piece. I was in a very abusive relationship, James listened to eveything I told him and proved all of her allegations were nothing but lies. I haved to express that James Sustaita is BEST Lawyers in austin with out a doubt. The statics show only 15% of fathers win sole custody of there children, with James expertise and great knowlege of the Law I won sole custody of my beautiful baby girl. I am forever thankful to him and Rodney Sustaita they belived in me and proved you can not judge a book by its cover. If there is anyone looking for a attorney who will fight for you and what you belive in look no futher hire James he is a Winner!!!!!!!!!

  3. FEB 2014 - Aggravated Assault w/a Deadly Weapon Charge in WILLIAMSON County DISMISSED!!

    Posted by Melissa, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sustaita.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    FEB 2014 - Aggravated Assault W/A Deadly Weapon Charge in WILLIAMSON County DISMISSED!! If you are reading this then please understand I know EXACTLY where you are!! Feb. 3, 2014 a family member was picked up for Aggravated Assault W/A Deadly Weapon!! I can't begin explain the emotional roller coaster I went through for the next 32 days! I’m a Christian & learned that having my Heavenly Father on MY Side makes ALL the Difference in the World so to be Totally Honest with you my family & I went into extensive Prayer Sessions along with Fasting Sessions as my grueling search for the PERFECT ATTORNEY started!! First I googled for hours on end reading reviews, ratings, and pros/cons to searching for this attorney I wanted to handle the case, all while trying to come up with $5-$15k for the attorney!! Before you knew it 19 days had passed, and several meetings with Very Highly Qualified Attorneys, but for some reason I had not hired an attorney then on Feb 22nd I was referred to James Sustaita! I called him the next day which was Sunday afternoon not expecting a return call BUT not only did he call us back a few hours later he invited us into his home! He was very assertive and confident but most of all HONEST!!!! We left his home shortly after hiring him and paying the down payment! Mr. Sustaita did EXACTLY what he said he was going to do, and went to visit my family member the same day! 4 days later we went to the first hearing only for a huge disappointed because we had a Sub-Judge who offered my family member 5YRS TDC… Mr. Sustaita Quickly declined the offer and rescheduled the court hearing! I was disappointed so I started thinking what if along with other options because I too had read the few bad reviews from Mr. Sustaita’s previous clients. During this time I did ask Mr. Sustaita to process a Bond Reduction so my family member could get out before the second court hearing! LITTLE did I know that Mr. Sustaita had been working behind the scenes and Very Diligently as well because my family member was released & the case was DISMISSED on March 7, 2014 approximately 1 week after the first hearing and 11 days after hiring Mr James Sustaita!!!! Prayer directed my family to Mr. Sustaita, and even though several other attorneys where a little shocked of the charges being dismissed in WILLIAMSON COUNTY one of the most difficult counties to beat in Texas I firmly feel that God has found favor with Mr. Sustaita using his expertise and experience in such a difficult county!!!! Mr. Sustaita even honored the quote he initially gave us!!! If you are in need of an attorney then it would be in your best interest to give Mr. Sustaita a call!!!! Please know he may not return every phone call, but he does call / text back when it’s necessary! My Family & I are ALL Very Grateful to Mr. James Sustaita and especially his wife for allowing him to work on my family member’s case and meet in their home…

    Mr. James Sustaita has since met with my family member and stated he will continue to keep in touch since my family member is very young and has a lot to learn!!!! James REALLY CARES!!!!!

    Thank You James Sustaita!!!!!!!!

  4. child custody

    Posted by dana, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sustaita.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.

    I first hired Mr sustaita in 2010. He was referred to me by a colleague of mine.i was going through a custody battle w my x wife.i currently was going through a criminal case which he delt w first and resulted in a deferred verdict which was wiped off my record. He then pursued my custody with such professionalism. Him and his staff worked the case with such pirsition that it was obvious to me that this was routine for him. It goes w out saying how much of an emotion state my family and were in. Him and his staff delt with us w such heart and compassion that to this day and for as long as my family name is alive his firm will be our family lawyer. Any time someone needs any legal help he is the guy my family and I recommend. Keep up the good work Mr sustaita.

  5. COMPLETE RIP OFF .. Waste of time and money STAY AWAY!!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Sustaita.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I switched to James because I felt my first lawyer was useless. James builds you up blows a bunch of smoke at you but does NOT do anything for you! He was always unprepared calling me to his house to "go over my divorce" when nothing was being done. Kept asking for money but never kept me informed. Ex's Lawyer picked him apart and made him look foolish in court and me!! I got stuck with substandard visitation!! AND MY Ex wife was the one having a affair and making our 7 year old daughter LIE and hide the affair from me!! He didn't tell me I can appeal a divorce and NEVER NEVER did anything for me when It came to child Support.. Immediately after divorce was finalized he turned to me and said " Judge screwed you not me" and ran out of court like a dog with tail between its legs. Never to be heard from again!!

  6. Look no further!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted by Lindsey, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sustaita.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.

    My divorce case / custody battle began in 2006 – it’s been quite the rollercoaster to say the very least…My first attorney is no longer practicing law, and my second attorney bungled my case so badly that it had significant negative impact and caused a disappointing and costly set back.

    In November 2013, I contacted James via email - he responded almost immediately and set up a consultation to meet with me within the same week. James was such a breath of fresh air – As a single mother in dire need of assistance in pursuing child support and other custody matters, I found James willing to jump in immediately and go above and beyond to advocate for me and my children.

    James fulfilled the fantasy I had for an attorney – smart, strategic, empathetic, hardworking, and a great communicator! James is also abrupt and no-nonsense, which can be intimidating, but he has the skills, knowledge and tact to deliver with compassion.

    If you are searching for an attorney James Sustaita is a excellent choice – I can guarantee that he will work diligently in best interest of his clients and their children!!!

  7. I recommend to everyone

    Posted by Daisy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sustaita.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.

    Attorney James Sustaita could not guarantee that he could help me regain my child but he gave me a percentage I could believe in and hope for the best. He agreed to work around his schedule so that he could help me as soon as possible just like he had promised. I have great faith in this man and I am grateful he was there to help when I needed help the most. My case is not over yet but I am not doubting that he will not place his best effort into helping win.

  8. Superb Criminal Lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sustaita.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired this attorney for a serious felony drug case. The odds were against me but James rolled up his sleeves and went to work. He dismantled the State's case piece by piece and eventually got the charge dismissed! He saved my life!! Thank you, James Sustaita!!!

  9. A Successful Outcome

    Posted by Kari, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sustaita.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.

    Mr. Sustaita has represented me with the utmost respect and professionalism. He has extensive knowledge in family law and has completed my case in court with a high degree of success. He successfully adjudicated my case in court and was able to deliver his proposed outcome and more for my family. Mr. Sustaita and staff is very hard working and caring. I would highly recommend Mr. Sustaita.

  10. criminal charges,

    Posted by Sanchez, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sustaita.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My brother was charged with murder even though he didn't do it he defended himself& others!!
    James did a great job he informed us about how the case was goin he also visited my brother while being locked up and informed him how his case was goin also he motivated my brother to stay positive and he told us we had a good case!! :-) He is a nice,outgoin person he is respectful& made us feel comfortable when we would go to his office. I would recommend him for any case you have he will do everything in his power to get the facts straight. I know my parents are very thankful to him for getting their son /our brother out of jail we appreciate everything he did and if we had another case or issue I think we would call him so he can help us!!!! Me, my parents& brother& sister and ALL family Sanchez is very appreciated with him!!!!! Thank You James Stephen Sustaita !!! :-) :-) :-) :-)