Brian Douglas Walters’s Reviews

Brian Douglas Walters

Average Rating

Based on 41 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very good lawyer!

    Posted by Bobby, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very impressed with Brian and his staff. He was very thorough, open and informative. He represented the best interest of me and my family. I would highly suggest Brian to my friends and family.

  2. Excellent Family Law Attorney

    Posted by Sam, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Brian Walters was referred to me by a colleague for a family law matter. Brian was exceptionally knowledgeable, prompt, and professional. Within a few days, Brian provided me with a wealth of information I needed to help me appropriately negotiate my legal problem and move forward. I highly recommend Brian for your family law and contract negotiation needs.

  3. I recommend to everyone

    Posted by Kelly, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Brian Walters and his staff are great! No matter what time it was Brian always answered my questions. I have emailed him on weekends when I panicked over my custody case and he always answered me. They have been courtious, professional, and just all around great people to work with.

  4. Brian is one of the BEST family law attorney's anywhere - stop looking, call Brian and his team...

    Posted by Mike, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Brian Walters is an EXCELLENT attorney - and I hold attorney's to a very high standard.

    Brian and his team worked through my divorce (which was and 8 on the "nasty scale") in a manner where I have nothing but great things to say about Brian and his entire team.

    If you are looking for an attorney who knows his stuff, is an excellent litigator, who is well respected by his peers (including personal friends of many judges, etc. at the courthouse), well then look no further - just call Brian's office.

    Again, he is TOP NOTCH and I give him the highest recommendation possible.

  5. Great lawyer

    Posted by Raj, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Brian is the man you need to call when getting a divorce, he is knowledgeable and caring. He will not fail you. I would him to anyone going through a divorce.

  6. A stellar attorney

    Posted by Peter, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Brian is without a doubt, one of the best attorneys around. From our first phone conversation through the end of my case, Brian kept me informed every step of the way. When I first contacted Brian, I was actually already represented by another attorney who I was extremely dissatisfied with. Brian took the time to review the specifics of my situation, and made several insightful suggestions that immediately gained my trust. Once I hired him to represent me, my case immediately turned in my favor. He was extremely knowledgeable and also made me feel valued both as a person and as a client. If you need legal representation in the realm of family law - do yourself a favor and call Brian.

  7. A lawyer that is truly on our side

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Before finding Brian, we felt like any other legal case number. Our previous lawyers seemed to lack interest in our overall case and as a result, our issues have yet to be resolved.
    Brian is different - he actually listens to the background of our situation and is interested in understanding our overall goals. Brian keeps us informed throughout the process, supports us throughout, and is promptly available to discuss any issues that arise. We have full confidence in Brian and his team.

  8. Extremely satisfied

    Posted by Gregory, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was having trouble with my ex-wife following the visitation orders from our then divorce/child custody decree. I know it may sound strange but I was having a problem with my ex-wife not exercising her right of visitation where as our son was wanting to visit with his mom. The original attorney that I used for the original divorced had stopped practicing family law and I was in need of an attorney that would pick up the case. With so many attorneys’ out there and on the internet I closed my eyes, rolled the dice and picked one. Brian Walters was the attorney that I selected. Upon my initial consultation with Brian, he immediately made me feel comfortable by not “diving” straight into the problem but rather taking the time to get to know me as a person and not as a potential paying client. Long story short, Brian was able to fix the visitation problems PLUS he was able to increase the child support that I was not aware there even a problem with. Brian’s family law expertise is something that I have recommended to others and I will continual to recommend to other. If you’re looking for a good family law attorney, look no further, Brian Walters is your man!

  9. Brian Walters and staff are surely the best divorce attorneys in Austin.

    Posted by Monte, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Brian and his staff did an excellent job with my divorce. We had a rather easy situation with no kids and few combined assets. But his experience, intellect and careful consideration saved me a lot of time and money. My ex wife's lawyer cost half as much per hour, but in the end, she payed more
    than I did in total legal fees!

    Brian gave me great advice on many occassions that really helped me from making mistakes and costing me in the separation. Having followed his guidance, I ended up keeping over 80% of my 401k, and am very happy! Him and his staff were always very quick and responsive to my emails or phone calls, he even answered an email while he was taking a week's vacation.

    I'd strongly recommend Brian Walters to anyone having to undergo the challenging issue of divorce. It's a tough experience for anyone, and I'm so glad to have put my trust in his counsel.

  10. Why you need to hire Brian Douglas Walters

    Posted by Joe, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I've had the pleasure of knowing Brian and his family for over 20 years. He's an incredibly smart, trustworthy and driven person. When my wife of 20 years decided to end our marriage, I was devastated to say the least. At first, I had hired a local attorney. I quickly realized my wife was out to take our 2 year old adopted son away from me and force the sale of our beautiful hillcountry home, a home my father and I spent years building ourselves. For a reason I could not understand, she was out to take everything. Although my son was the number one fight, my original attorney was pressing me to meet my wife's demands of forcing the house to sell within two weeks of her filing. That was the lowest point of my life. That was the point I reached out to Brian. Brian was amazing. It was a Friday night when he received my plee. By Saturday he had sent me a text to ease my mind. Sunday eve we spoke on the phone and he assured me that fairness could be achieved. He assured me that I was not going to lose my son, and, the house and my retirement could be kept. Although Brian could not take my case personally, he conference called me at 7am Monday morning with his new partner Jake Gilbreath. I immediately fired my original attorney and hired Jake to represent me. THE BEST DECISION I EVER MADE! I lived in our home for 3 months with my wife under the painful threat of losing everything. I only lived there to be close to my son. My wife was out to destroy me. I had no comprehension of why, at that point the only thing I had to hold on to was my faith in Brian and Jake and their knowledge of the legal system. On the day of mediation, Jake was extremely calm. I was a mess. My wife put us through a painful mediation. I was firm on one stance, I was willing to go to court and lose everything just to keep my son. I don't think my wife realized what she was doing. Our mediation lasted for 14 hours. Throughout the process Jake was brilliant. His attention to detail was amazing! He caught a number of things that if went unchecked would have caused a lot of problems. In the end, I received a modified SPO that gave me a life with my son. I got to keep the house. I just took over the payments. I kept my retirement and 1/2 our stock portfolio. It's been over a month now since mediation. Throughout this process I was in contact with numerous friends either going through a divorce or recovering from their divorce. Every single on of those friends were absolutely amazed at the results Brian and his firm accomplished. I owe my new life and the life with my son to Brian and Jake. Hire them! You will not be dissapointed!

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

713-275-7830