Brian Douglas Walters’s Reviews

Brian Douglas Walters

Average Rating

Based on 37 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great lawyer

    Posted by Raj, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Brian is the man you need to call when getting a divorce, he is knowledgeable and caring. He will not fail you. I would him to anyone going through a divorce.

  2. A stellar attorney

    Posted by Peter, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Brian is without a doubt, one of the best attorneys around. From our first phone conversation through the end of my case, Brian kept me informed every step of the way. When I first contacted Brian, I was actually already represented by another attorney who I was extremely dissatisfied with. Brian took the time to review the specifics of my situation, and made several insightful suggestions that immediately gained my trust. Once I hired him to represent me, my case immediately turned in my favor. He was extremely knowledgeable and also made me feel valued both as a person and as a client. If you need legal representation in the realm of family law - do yourself a favor and call Brian.

  3. A lawyer that is truly on our side

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Before finding Brian, we felt like any other legal case number. Our previous lawyers seemed to lack interest in our overall case and as a result, our issues have yet to be resolved.
    Brian is different - he actually listens to the background of our situation and is interested in understanding our overall goals. Brian keeps us informed throughout the process, supports us throughout, and is promptly available to discuss any issues that arise. We have full confidence in Brian and his team.

  4. Extremely satisfied

    Posted by Gregory, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was having trouble with my ex-wife following the visitation orders from our then divorce/child custody decree. I know it may sound strange but I was having a problem with my ex-wife not exercising her right of visitation where as our son was wanting to visit with his mom. The original attorney that I used for the original divorced had stopped practicing family law and I was in need of an attorney that would pick up the case. With so many attorneys’ out there and on the internet I closed my eyes, rolled the dice and picked one. Brian Walters was the attorney that I selected. Upon my initial consultation with Brian, he immediately made me feel comfortable by not “diving” straight into the problem but rather taking the time to get to know me as a person and not as a potential paying client. Long story short, Brian was able to fix the visitation problems PLUS he was able to increase the child support that I was not aware there even a problem with. Brian’s family law expertise is something that I have recommended to others and I will continual to recommend to other. If you’re looking for a good family law attorney, look no further, Brian Walters is your man!

  5. Brian Walters and staff are surely the best divorce attorneys in Austin.

    Posted by Monte, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Brian and his staff did an excellent job with my divorce. We had a rather easy situation with no kids and few combined assets. But his experience, intellect and careful consideration saved me a lot of time and money. My ex wife's lawyer cost half as much per hour, but in the end, she payed more
    than I did in total legal fees!

    Brian gave me great advice on many occassions that really helped me from making mistakes and costing me in the separation. Having followed his guidance, I ended up keeping over 80% of my 401k, and am very happy! Him and his staff were always very quick and responsive to my emails or phone calls, he even answered an email while he was taking a week's vacation.

    I'd strongly recommend Brian Walters to anyone having to undergo the challenging issue of divorce. It's a tough experience for anyone, and I'm so glad to have put my trust in his counsel.

  6. Why you need to hire Brian Douglas Walters

    Posted by Joe, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I've had the pleasure of knowing Brian and his family for over 20 years. He's an incredibly smart, trustworthy and driven person. When my wife of 20 years decided to end our marriage, I was devastated to say the least. At first, I had hired a local attorney. I quickly realized my wife was out to take our 2 year old adopted son away from me and force the sale of our beautiful hillcountry home, a home my father and I spent years building ourselves. For a reason I could not understand, she was out to take everything. Although my son was the number one fight, my original attorney was pressing me to meet my wife's demands of forcing the house to sell within two weeks of her filing. That was the lowest point of my life. That was the point I reached out to Brian. Brian was amazing. It was a Friday night when he received my plee. By Saturday he had sent me a text to ease my mind. Sunday eve we spoke on the phone and he assured me that fairness could be achieved. He assured me that I was not going to lose my son, and, the house and my retirement could be kept. Although Brian could not take my case personally, he conference called me at 7am Monday morning with his new partner Jake Gilbreath. I immediately fired my original attorney and hired Jake to represent me. THE BEST DECISION I EVER MADE! I lived in our home for 3 months with my wife under the painful threat of losing everything. I only lived there to be close to my son. My wife was out to destroy me. I had no comprehension of why, at that point the only thing I had to hold on to was my faith in Brian and Jake and their knowledge of the legal system. On the day of mediation, Jake was extremely calm. I was a mess. My wife put us through a painful mediation. I was firm on one stance, I was willing to go to court and lose everything just to keep my son. I don't think my wife realized what she was doing. Our mediation lasted for 14 hours. Throughout the process Jake was brilliant. His attention to detail was amazing! He caught a number of things that if went unchecked would have caused a lot of problems. In the end, I received a modified SPO that gave me a life with my son. I got to keep the house. I just took over the payments. I kept my retirement and 1/2 our stock portfolio. It's been over a month now since mediation. Throughout this process I was in contact with numerous friends either going through a divorce or recovering from their divorce. Every single on of those friends were absolutely amazed at the results Brian and his firm accomplished. I owe my new life and the life with my son to Brian and Jake. Hire them! You will not be dissapointed!

  7. Smart and Sensitive

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I first came to Brian back in early 2001. My daughters and I had just fled from their biological father who lived in another state. I had gotten a divorce in the state from which we fled, but it was fast and many things needed clarification. Protective Orders were the first priority. Brian D. Walters and his team took immediate control when my daughters and I desperately needed help. He secured Protective Orders, got the divorce moved to Texas and cleaned up the loose ends which further reinforced our safety and security.
    I soon remarried a wonderful man who became an amazing father to my girls. Not long after that we had another baby girl making us a happy, loving and very busy family. There have been years of laughter and joy. Brian and his team made that possible for us.
    Fast forward 12 years.
    On May 5, 2013 tragedy struck. Our two eldest daughters had just returned from college when my husband suffered a fatal heart attack right before our very eyes. It was sudden and is still is a horrible shock to everyone who knew him. He was a healthy middle aged man who had never been diagnosed with anything serious, let alone heart disease. The girls and I are still grieving. Our youngest is only 12.
    As if our sudden loss wasn't enough to bear, my husband's ex-wife(with whom he had NO children) resurfaced with a lawyer and her 2002 divorce decree making claims of entitlement to survivor benefits, his estate, etc. This lady was a stranger to us before my husband's funeral. We knew she existed, but had never before met her. It was time to call Brian again.
    Even though this person had case law in her favor and a good chance of getting what she wanted, Brian and his partner worked creatively with our probate attorneys and they were able to stop this lady from taking anything more from my husband and our family.

  8. Lots of good attorney's out there, don't settle for this one.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Great sales pitch, personable and lots of encouragement and reassurance along the long path of divorce. He requests all information available, verbal, written, electronic etc. be given to him through out the "waiting" time. Now it's time for court. When I asked the staff about a meeting with Brian before court, the staff stated," He will contact you a day or two before court because Brian waits for then to review the case " I had boxes of information at his office. He would have had to stay up for two days to study all my documentation in order to represent me properly, so was it in my best interest to settle, absolutely not, it was in Brian's best interest absolutely it was. He was not prepared. The worst part of this, he settled for things I did not agree too, but I was just glad it was all over with. Give me the paper, I will sign. In hindsight I see Brian was not at all versed on my case, but he could sure cash my check quickly. I would never use Brian again for anything, except conversation, he's great at that. The issue is I see that by me submitting the "evidence" for months and months and months Brian got what he wanted, very high legal fees from a paying client. Did he use anything I submitted ? Not anything and I submitted documentation that proved the issues I raised, at least he told me I had very good evidence, not to worry etc. etc. etc. Settling a case makes the attorney look good in the courts eyes, don't fall for it. Fight and get your day in court in spite of your Attorney's continued arguments why to Not go before the judge. The strongest argument he had for me was, it could go either way. It would be best to settle. No kidding it could go either way. But it's a very highly charged day, you trust your attorney so again you take his advice. You should be able to trust your attorney and follow his advice so I recommend anyone considering Brian Walters to look elsewhere. He can sweet talk you and appear genuinely concerned but when it's down to the wire, in my case anyway,he didn't prepare, so we were forced to settle. I hired an attorney because they should know what is best for me. If I knew the legal system I would have done it myself, but I don't, so I overpaid an attorney to be ill prepared and represent his own interests, not mine. This is the kind of review one needs to read. Be careful and choose your attorney wisely. No, this isn't a poor review because I lost, I didn't lose, remember we settled (by default) I was misrepresented and I want to warn others. Every bought a lousy car from a great salesman? What made me think of this... the ex is still stalking and harassing. I need to see a judge and get done what should have gotten done to begin with. I see more legal dollars flying out of my bank account, but this time I am educated.

  9. Efficient and Effective

    Posted by Edwin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Brian was very knowledgeable in understanding what the other side of my divorce was capable of and articulating for me in the eyes of a judge which threats were real and which ones were not. I had a very difficult, unfair situation where my ex-wife had withheld access from me seeing one of my children in the initial stage of the divorce process. This tore me apart. Brian moved quickly in regaining full access of my parental custody rights (for all my children) within a matter of days after hiring him. I also compliment Brian on his efficiency, having settled the case on a reverse time line to court date which was a very effective use of time. When determining the hourly rate or retainer fee with other lawyers, Brian may "appear" to be higher than average, but I don't believe you'll achieve a divorce faster which will ultimately save you the most money in your case. I would recommend Brian for anyone facing the uncertainty of divorce.

  10. Couldn't be more pleased!

    Posted by Raul, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Walters.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was referred to Brian by friend of mine who is an attorney at a well known firm in town. Brian has been outstanding. He is very efficient in his interactions, very thorough in his explanations of legal processes and always looked out for my best interests in our interactions. He carefully explained options when there were decision points, outlined various alternatives to next steps and then handled the subsequent activities in a timely manner. Brian has been responsive to all my inquiries and also patient in waiting for me to make some decisions. My interactions with him also included a filing with his associate, who is also very professional. Brian ensured that he kicked off that process by setting my expectations and then ensuring a complete and thorough follow up. Brian also leverages technology to handle some of the operational aspects of the engagements and that makes those efficient and cost effective. I would highly recommend Brian.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

713-275-7830