Back to Jennifer’s Profile

Client Review

Jennifer has received 5 client reviews

Thanking our Lawyer for an outstanding job.

Posted by: Joe, a Juvenile client about 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jennifer Smart

I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.

Jennifer handled my Juvenile matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

My son and i would like to personally thank you jennifer for such an outstanding job you have done on my sons case. You have been absolutely terrific in working with my son and I in bringing his case to a good resolution for him. You are not only a great lawyer but a wonderful person as well because you truly care about these young kids that are your clients and their future. Again we truly thank you from the bottom of our hearts jennifer for your help and we could not have done it without you.

Retained for custody and adoption case

Posted by: a Adoption client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jennifer Smart

I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.

Jennifer handled my Adoption matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

We retained Ms. Smart for a family child custody case while living out of state. Although we thought being out of state may be a challenge to achieve a successful outcome Ms. Smart and her staff were able to keep us very well informed and up to date of our case, through phone calls, conference calls and email. When she was not available to take a call due to court or personal matters her staff was able to assist us with any questions or concerns we may have had. Even then Ms. Smart always did a follow up call to ensure our questions were answered. Ms. Smart was able to work with us on obtaining dates for hearings that met our schedules to travel to Texas. We first retained Ms. Smart to assist us with a child custody case which she was able to successfully win for us. We retained her a second time to handle an adoption for us which involved an absentee father. Although we would have loved to rush through this process Ms. Smart informed us that we would be taking each step required by Texas law to insure the adoption could never be challenged in the future. This case involved many detailed documents and several hearings as each of the steps were completed. Ms. Smart handled every hearing with professionalism and was able to assure us at each hearing that our goals would be met. Ms. Smart contacted us prior to submitting each document to the courts for both our review and our approval of the document to make sure we all agreed on what we would be asking from the courts. Her knowledge of family law, child custody, adoption and all around court knowledge is very impressive. We were able to speak with Ms. Smart knowing that our conversations were confidential and none of what we discussed was ever disclosed to the other party. We truly appreciate what the Smart Law Firm has done for our family. At the final adoption hearing Ms. Smart entire staff appeared in court to show their support. It was a very emotional day and very well handled.

Positive experience

Posted by: a Child Custody client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jennifer Smart

I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.

Jennifer handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Mrs. Smart assisted me in a child custody modification matter. I work in an office where it is difficult to receive phone calls, so e-mails worked much better for me. Her and her staff kept me informed via e-mails and always responded to my questions. I was very pleased with my outcome.

worst experience

Posted by: a Child Support client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Jennifer Smart

I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.

Jennifer handled my Child Support matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Does not return phone calls in a timely manner doesn't respond to e-mails promptly like she assured she would....did not do what she was suppose to when she was suppose to do it instead she dragged it out for over 6 months and still I did not get all that I hired her services for. I am still having to do the main portion myself which is stopping the income withholding for child support....awfull attorney and if it aint her then its her Paralegal...she didn't seemed prepared for our hearing...the day before he sent X amount of pages for me to review that evening she is not someone I will hire again...

Administratively incompetent...never able to evaluate legal competence

Posted by: Parent in Round Rock, a Juvenile client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Fair
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Jennifer Smart

I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.

Jennifer handled my Juvenile matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I was given Ms Smart's name from a legal referral service. I called her six times over 4 weeks before I finally got a response from a secretary. We set up an appt. I took off work and another family member took off school. 10 minutes before the appointment (we were already in the parking lot), the secretary told us that she wouldn't be able to make it. We made another appointment. The same thing happened at the same time of the same day of a different week. We made a third appointment. We finally met with her, and she talked generally about her fees. She seemed OK, so we agreed to move forward and handed over some highly confidential paperwork. The next step, she said, was for her to do some preliminary work and that she’d get back to us on Friday. I got very busy for the next few weeks (because I have my own job). When I realized she hadn’t called me back, I assumed she was probably really busy and waited even longer. After a long while, our patience ran out…we realized she had forgotten us or didn’t really want to work on our case. We contacted her to get our paperwork back. She said that “I was looking forward to working on that for you and never received a payment”. Ugh… furthermore she said that “[I] do not maintain documents for people who haven’t hired my services because I would run out of places to keep them”. I read this as “I lost your paperwork” which is horrifying because of the confidential nature. I can only pray that it somehow got shredded and is not stuck in a legal reference book in her library. The implication that we didn’t pay is silly, I was desperate enough to pay pretty much any amount and had the means to pay. I assume that she is administratively incompetent from this series of events. Other alternatives for her behavior are even less generous, so I’ll leave those out. Needless to say, the legal help we needed is still outstanding and our family is still suffering from the effects.