Jennifer R. Smart’s Reviews

Jennifer R. Smart

Average Rating

Based on 5 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thanking our Lawyer for an outstanding job.

    Posted by Joe, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Smart.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My son and i would like to personally thank you jennifer for such an outstanding job you have done on my sons case. You have been absolutely terrific in working with my son and I in bringing his case to a good resolution for him. You are not only a great lawyer but a wonderful person as well because you truly care about these young kids that are your clients and their future. Again we truly thank you from the bottom of our hearts jennifer for your help and we could not have done it without you.

    1. Jennifer R. Smart

      Jennifer Smart

      Lawyer Comment:

      Joe, it was a pleasure working with you and your son on his case. I'm glad you were satisfied with the outcome you received. I do my best to represent each case, and I am extremely passionate in doing so. I hope I'm able to help you again in the future.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  2. Retained for custody and adoption case

    Posted by a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Smart.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We retained Ms. Smart for a family child custody case while living out of state. Although we thought being out of state may be a challenge to achieve a successful outcome Ms. Smart and her staff were able to keep us very well informed and up to date of our case, through phone calls, conference calls and email. When she was not available to take a call due to court or personal matters her staff was able to assist us with any questions or concerns we may have had. Even then Ms. Smart always did a follow up call to ensure our questions were answered. Ms. Smart was able to work with us on obtaining dates for hearings that met our schedules to travel to Texas. We first retained Ms. Smart to assist us with a child custody case which she was able to successfully win for us. We retained her a second time to handle an adoption for us which involved an absentee father. Although we would have loved to rush through this process Ms. Smart informed us that we would be taking each step required by Texas law to insure the adoption could never be challenged in the future. This case involved many detailed documents and several hearings as each of the steps were completed. Ms. Smart handled every hearing with professionalism and was able to assure us at each hearing that our goals would be met. Ms. Smart contacted us prior to submitting each document to the courts for both our review and our approval of the document to make sure we all agreed on what we would be asking from the courts. Her knowledge of family law, child custody, adoption and all around court knowledge is very impressive. We were able to speak with Ms. Smart knowing that our conversations were confidential and none of what we discussed was ever disclosed to the other party. We truly appreciate what the Smart Law Firm has done for our family. At the final adoption hearing Ms. Smart entire staff appeared in court to show their support. It was a very emotional day and very well handled.

    1. Jennifer R. Smart

      Jennifer Smart

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you were happy with my representation, and I look forward to working together again.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  3. Positive experience

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jennifer Smart.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mrs. Smart assisted me in a child custody modification matter. I work in an office where it is difficult to receive phone calls, so e-mails worked much better for me. Her and her staff kept me informed via e-mails and always responded to my questions. I was very pleased with my outcome.

    1. Jennifer R. Smart

      Jennifer Smart

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for the kind review. I'm glad we were able to assist you in getting the outcome you desired. Communication is extremely important, and I'm very happy that you were pleased with our communication. I hope we can help you again in the future.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  4. worst experience

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jennifer Smart.
    • I hired Jennifer 1-3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Does not return phone calls in a timely manner doesn't respond to e-mails promptly like she assured she would....did not do what she was suppose to when she was suppose to do it instead she dragged it out for over 6 months and still I did not get all that I hired her services for. I am still having to do the main portion myself which is stopping the income withholding for child support....awfull attorney and if it aint her then its her Paralegal...she didn't seemed prepared for our hearing...the day before he sent X amount of pages for me to review that evening she is not someone I will hire again...

    1. Jennifer R. Smart

      Jennifer Smart

      Lawyer Comment:

      I'm sorry to hear you felt like you had a bad experience with our firm. As I explained when we met, even when we try to make changes with the Attorney General and would like those to be done quickly, it's ultimately up to the Judge whether those changes can actually be accomplished and in what time period. I understand how frustrating that process can be, especially when it requires your case to take longer than you'd like. Ultimately, we were able to successfully make those changes on your behalf. I apologize if we did not get back with you within the 48 hours as we strive to maintain communication with our clients. While there are rare occasions it can't happen within that time period, I apologize if we failed to follow through adequately. We will definitely look into and make any changes we can to better our communication. I would be happy to discuss this matter with you further, and do anything we can to make up for your bad experience. Thank you, Jennifer Smart

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  5. Administratively incompetent...never able to evaluate legal competence

    Posted by Parent in Round Rock, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jennifer Smart.
    • I hired Jennifer more than 3 years ago.
    • Jennifer handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was given Ms Smart's name from a legal referral service. I called her six times over 4 weeks before I finally got a response from a secretary. We set up an appt. I took off work and another family member took off school. 10 minutes before the appointment (we were already in the parking lot), the secretary told us that she wouldn't be able to make it. We made another appointment. The same thing happened at the same time of the same day of a different week. We made a third appointment. We finally met with her, and she talked generally about her fees. She seemed OK, so we agreed to move forward and handed over some highly confidential paperwork. The next step, she said, was for her to do some preliminary work and that she’d get back to us on Friday. I got very busy for the next few weeks (because I have my own job). When I realized she hadn’t called me back, I assumed she was probably really busy and waited even longer. After a long while, our patience ran out…we realized she had forgotten us or didn’t really want to work on our case. We contacted her to get our paperwork back. She said that “I was looking forward to working on that for you and never received a payment”. Ugh… furthermore she said that “[I] do not maintain documents for people who haven’t hired my services because I would run out of places to keep them”. I read this as “I lost your paperwork” which is horrifying because of the confidential nature. I can only pray that it somehow got shredded and is not stuck in a legal reference book in her library. The implication that we didn’t pay is silly, I was desperate enough to pay pretty much any amount and had the means to pay. I assume that she is administratively incompetent from this series of events. Other alternatives for her behavior are even less generous, so I’ll leave those out. Needless to say, the legal help we needed is still outstanding and our family is still suffering from the effects.

    1. Jennifer R. Smart

      Jennifer Smart

      Lawyer Comment:

      We're sorry you had a bad experience with our firm. We strive for the utmost client satisfaction in every case, and would have loved the opportunity to be retained and assist you. Please contact me directly so I can address your specific concerns. Thank you.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag