Doy Freitag’s Reviews

Doy Freitag

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Doy Freitag-Timely and Responsive!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Doy Freitag.
    • I hired Doy 6-12 months ago.
    • Doy handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was going through a tough divorce from an abusive spouse. Doy was able to move the divorce forward quickly. He was very responsive in doing what I asked in a timely manner and made me feel like he was on my side, which is very important in cases involving domestic violence. I highly recommend Doy Freitag.

  2. Estate Settlement/will

    Posted by Betty, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Doy Freitag.
    • I hired Doy 1-3 years ago.
    • Doy handled my Wills & Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    During the difficult time of handling my mothers estate, Doy was very compassionate and professional. Doy kept me informed regarding procedures required by the courts. Doy's guidance during the settlement of my mothers estate was very satisfactory to myself and family. I would highly recommend Doy as an attorney .

  3. Great lawyer!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Doy Freitag.
    • I hired Doy 1-3 years ago.
    • Doy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have had doy handle several legal matters in the last 7 years. He is very knowledgable about any situation, kind and tells you exactly what needs to be done to win your case! He answers any question I may have and walks me through things I dont understand! I recommend him to everyone I know!

  4. Professional and Kind

    Posted by Rebecca, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Doy Freitag.
    • I hired Doy 1-3 years ago.
    • Doy handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Doy Freitag to represent me in an adoption. He is kind and professional. Not only would I recommend Doy Freitag, should the need arise I would hire him again.

  5. Divorce

    Posted by Camille,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Doy Freitag.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I called Doy and got an appointment the same day. He listened to everything I had to say and my concerns then told me exactly what to do. He also filed my papers right away and even gave me the option to take to courthouse or he would take them. He followed up with me and when all was filed and done he notified me as well. Would always return my phone calls same day and worked with me on paying him. Doy helped get me thru a difficult time where I didn't have a clue where to start. And he was referred to me by 2 different people as well that had nothing but great things to say and they were totally on the spot.

  6. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Patti, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Doy Freitag.
    • I hired Doy 1-3 years ago.
    • Doy handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been represented by Doy Freitag on a couple of cases. The most important case was regarding my children. I went through 3 attorneys before Doy was recommended by someone at church.
    I found that Doy was extremely knowledgeable of divorce and child custody.

    I would recommend Doy Freitag to anyone, whether it is divorce, preparing your will, anything he tells you he can handle, he will or he won't take your case.

    Attorneys like any profession are not created equal. The phone books have pages to choose from. ......Looking for an excellent and honest attorney call Doy.

  7. Horrible - Don't Do it!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Doy Freitag.
    • I hired Doy 1-3 years ago.
    • Doy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Horrible!! Never took any action, said he would do things and never did, we always had to try to reach him, he never provided any updates. As a result, our son was taken back by the mother who had custody. Paid a retainer, didn't use the entire retainer, requested a refund and of course are still waiting. I would never recommend him, instead, tell folks to stay clear of him.

  8. Divorce

    Posted by Cindy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Doy Freitag.
    • I hired Doy more than 3 years ago.
    • Doy handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was a client of Doy Freitag. He made me feel like I was in good hands on our first meetings. He told me my case was simple and he would help me. I made the mistake of letting him know I was in a bind. He stated he would have no problem waiting for the settlement to receive the rest of the payment. He had me move out instead of having my abusive husband and explained it would keep down hostility. I was trying very hard to take his advise. Soon it seemed creating a more volatile situation became a game among Doy, husband and his lawyer. Doy totally sided with them all the while pretending it was a tactic to help me. He would set court date and never told me to show up for any of them. I got the paperwork back from the 2nd attorney I hired only to find out I was a " no show" and did not even know it. Doy is just out to take money from women and help the man even if he is your lawyer. I am going to be filing a suit against him very soon. He caused me to lose a very large amount of money, my health and my job. Those are facts and not attacks.

  9. A complete waste of money and got nothing in return

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Doy Freitag.
    • I hired Doy more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Doy is by far the worst lawyer I have ever used. At the initial consultation he talked the talk, after he got his retainer, I couldn't even get a hold of him anymore. I paid him over $6,000.00, and that was him never stepping foot into a courtroom. He would even send me a bill telling me how much I owed him, and charged me $50.00 to mail me a bill.
    He even agreed to changes in orders without getting my permission.
    In the end, if you want to spend alot of money and have a lawyer that will do absolutely nothing for you Doy is the man for the job.

  10. He is a wast of time and money

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Doy Freitag.
    • I hired Doy more than 3 years ago.
    • Doy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Missed cort date. Would not return phone calls (7 times). Reset cort dates with out consulting me (3 times).