Back to Stephen’s Profile

Client Review

Stephen has received 13 client reviews

Thought he was a good guy!

Posted by: Cynthia, a Criminal Defense client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Fair
Trustworthy
Average
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Average

I do not recommend Stephen Hesse

I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.

Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Mr. Hesse gave the appearance of being my attorney, but behind the curtain he was fulfilling the wishes of my soon to be ex husband. I did not believe this until my final court appearance when my ex and he make eye contact and smiled....I paid him for my defense! What a fake!!!!!
  1. Stephen Bradley Hesse Jr.

    Stephen Hesse

    LawyerComment:

    I always do my best for my clients no matter what their problems are or how serious the crime they stand accused of. Folks in need of criminal defense are sometimes at a low point in their lives, they may be struggling with substance abuse or serious mental health issues.

    In this case, my client was charged with Arson, a Second Degree Felony (2-20 years in prison), for burning down her house during a suicide attempt. I was able to get the charge reduced to a misdemeanor deferred adjudication( a type of community supervision). My client had the choice whether to accept the misdemeanor plea deal or to go to trial on the Arson charge. Ultimately, she chose to accept the misdemeanor plea offer. This was a great result under the circumstances. On the day of her misdemeanor plea, she was accompanied by her family members. They were all very pleased with my representation and the result we were able to obtain. I do not know what has changed over the last year for her to decide to write a negative review about my representation.

    I did not antagonize her ex-husband in court because it would not have been in her best interest. He was considered the Victim by the district attorney's office and they have become very deferential to victims. I'm sorry she doesn't feel that I was loyal to her. I can assure anyone reading this that I devoted myself completely to her best interests. I had zero concern for her ex-husband.

    Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

Professional and Patient!

Posted by: a DUI client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Hesse

I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.

Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I had gotten a DWI and lets just say it was a horrible experience. I am a school teacher and was so scared. I read online that The Dick Law firm had a lot of good reviews so I decided to check it out. Stephen walked me though the process step by step very throughly and explained all my options. I never felt rushed and if I had a question that needed an answer I had heard from him within less than 12 hours. There are other cheaper options out there for DWI lawyers but you will get what you paid for. Not all situations were the same but he was also able to get me out of my license suspension! Something that normally doesn't happen. I would highly recommend him.

IFFY

Posted by: a Criminal Defense client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Fair
Trustworthy
Fair
Responsive
Fair
Knowledgeable
Average
Kept me informed
Fair

I recommend Stephen Hesse

I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.

Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.

I hired Hesse to defend me in a criminal case that he knew was trumped up. But in our discussions of what his fee would be, he started using language that indicated that he wasn't going to represent me according to the defense strategy that I wanted---CONSISTENT EXPRESSIONS OF INNOCENCE. I gave him the retainer under the caveat that it was only if I couldn't find another attorney before the next hearing. I did find another attorney, and I have asked him several times to return my money, and he has not. He already had a retainer from me that he was working from (he took and received a few phone calls on my behalf), and the only paperwork he ever had to work on for me was to file a notice of appearance. [BTW, Terry Davis Sr. worked to get it DISMISSED within days after I hired him.] I changed my "no" recommend to "yes" because he did seem personable and competent and so he might be a good fit for someone else with a different situation.

The Best Of The Best: An Outstanding Attorney!

Posted by: Second Offense, a DUI client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Hesse

I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.

Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

Hiring Steve was one of the best decisions of my life. When I unexpectedly found myself in serious legal trouble, I was overwhelmed, terrified, lost and beyond fearful for my future. Steve was referred to me by a trusted long-time friend impressed with Steve's character and integrity. Her referral was spot-on. I can't say enough good and positive things about Steve's professionalism, exceptional legal expertise, client dedication and his kind and caring nature and personality. Steve is an extremely skilled and highly specialized attorney. At our first meeting, Steve met with me for over two hours with honesty, compassion and understanding. He was forthright with me in his vision and guidance in my case from the very beginning to conclusion. Steve routinely informed me about the progress of my case. He always returned my phone calls and e-mails immediately (no matter the hour, day or night). When I had questions, Steve always answered them in a through, professional, comprehensive, compassionate, and honest manner. Steve is honesty, integrity and professionalism personified. He provided guidance and positivity at every turn of my case...giving me great comfort along the journey and helping me to understand and select options when they were available to me (often under difficult circumstances)...and helping me make the best decisions possible for me and outcome of my case. Steve fought for me (and my case) vigorously.... with passion, dedication and expertise (going beyond the call of duty often). To say I was impressed with Steve (and grateful to him) is an understatement. I remain grateful and impressed with Steve to this day. Needless to say, the outcome of my case was extremely positive and I couldn't have been happier or more satisfied. Steve was beyond dedicated to ensuring the most positive outcome for me and he succeeded in every possible way (beyond my wildest imagination). I highly recommend Steve Hesse to anyone seeking the services of a dedicated, honest, exceptionally skilled, highly specialized, honest, caring and trusted criminal defense attorney. Since the conclusion of my case, I've had the good fortune to meet other former clients of Steve's too Each of them remain extremely grateful to Steve and they remain highly satisfied as former clients, as am I. I highly recommend Steve Hesse to anyone in need of a highly specialized, dedicated, professional and caring criminal defense attorney. He's unparalleled...and without exception, simply the best. I can't thank Steve enough!

The jury is out

Posted by: gdwitt@gmail.com, a White Collar Crime client 11 months ago.

Overall rating
Good

I recommend Stephen Hesse

I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.

Stephen handled my White Collar Crime matter.

I've been a client for 5 months and some of the past clients' statements are certainly off-base, but some may be true. I am told that this is a really crooked legal system and there are few defendant rights. I don't understand why an innocent person needs to be subjected to so much hardship and loss. A compassionate lawyer with integrity is what we all want. My final judgement on Mr. Hesse will not occur until I fully understand his strategy or he finally makes an altruistic move to help my case. Right now he may be too be to be too busy to help.

part of the machine

Posted by: a Criminal Defense client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Average
Trustworthy
Average
Responsive
Average
Knowledgeable
Average
Kept me informed
Good

I do not recommend Stephen Hesse

I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.

Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.

Upon reading these positive reviews, we hired Mr. Hesse. He is a nice man, but here's what you need to know: he is a part of the Williamson County machine of sticking it to anyone who happens to make a mistake there. The consequences laid down for a first offense possession charge were so extensive and horrible that when our case was transferred to our home county, no one in law enforcement could believe the long list of things that had to be suffered through. Steve will tell you not to hang around any criminals, and then put you in situations where that's all you're around. You will not be able to get a job. Anywhere. As soon as your case is signed off, Steve will not respond to you. You will do jail time and pay a ridiculous amount of money. Basically, the best thing you can do is never go to Williamson County and if, God forbid, you get busted for something down there, Steve isn't going to care much about you at all....but your $6000....that will get him to say all the right things so you'll hire him. Then count on having your life ruined. And watch him drive away in his luxury vehicle....
  1. Stephen Bradley Hesse Jr.

    Stephen Hesse

    LawyerComment:

    First of all, I am distressed to see a review like this. I do not know who posted it but from the review, it appears to be a person charged with a felony offense. The biggest problem I see is that he/she is complaining about the result after the case has concluded. The time for me to help any client is before the case has concluded in some way. I have many more tools to use before case is over through plea or through trial. I give each of my clients my personal cell phone so that they can reach me 24/7. It is not uncommon for someone who has been charged with a felony offense to face a difficult decision: take a plea offer from the State or fight the charges in a jury trial. It can be a difficult decision and I advise my clients to help them make the right decision in their case. Sometimes the choice can be between two unpleasant options and the client must choose something he doesn't really want. In each and every case, it is always the client's decision whether to accept a plea bargain or to proceed to trial. I regret that I wasn't better able to help this client make the right decision in his/her case.

    This person seems especially upset by the conditions of probation that have been imposed upon them for a felony offense. I can tell you that I often oppose specific conditions of probation recommended by the probation department to the Court. Ultimately, the judge has nearly total control over the specific conditions of probation that are imposed in an individual case. In fact if this person were to call me, I would be happy to return to court and attempt to get his/her conditions amended. I am not one of the good old boys and I am known to be an outspoken critic of the powers that be in Williamson County. I pride myself on being a lawyer who is known for fighting for his clients no matter the consequences.
    -Steve Hesse

    Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

Excellent lawyer

Posted by: Tatiana, a Criminal Defense client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Hesse

I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.

Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Stephen Hesse has the best quality -integrity. He is very straightforward, knowledgeable, and honest. Any criminal case scenario will have life-long consequences, and this lawyer has ability to see the case in the "big picture" of life, and work it out for the best interests of his client

Great lawyer!

Posted by: Natasha, a Domestic Violence client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Hesse

I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.

Stephen handled my Domestic Violence matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I hired Stephen Hesse to help a close friend in a difficult and complex situation, and he resolved it very well. He was very responsive, professional, knowledgeable - and the most important part is that he actually cared. Couldn't wish for a better lawyer.

Best case scenario

Posted by: a DUI client almost 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Hesse

I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.

Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

Completely upfront and honest right from the start, Mr. Hesse fought for every best case scenario that could be found regarding my case. And when things didn't work out exactly as planned through the discovery process, Steve worked to get the next best outcome. He believed in me every step of the way, and I believed in him. In the end, he made what could have been a devastating mark on my record into deferred adjudication. I can't thank Steve Hesse enough for his guidance and work on my case.

This is the attorney you will wish you would of called.

Posted by: Tom almost 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Hesse

Steve is the one that knows all the angles to working a case in Williamson County. His experience working for the other side is invaluable, and he is your best chance at saving your butt. Anything can happen in a court room, so hire some one that knows what the prosecutor is thinking!