Derek R Van Gilder’s Reviews

Derek R Van Gilder

Average Rating

Based on 34 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly Recommended!!!!

    Posted by Andrew, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Van Gilder.
    • Derek handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I would HIGHLY recommend Derek Van Gilder. He just represented me in a divorce case and was nothing but professional the entire time. His knowledge and expertise were proven in court. Not only that but his entire staff was extremely helpful and courteous. I will recommend Mr. Van Gilder to anybody that needs legal help. I hope to never need legal counsel again but if I do, Derek Van Gilder is who I would hire from here on out.

  2. Family/ Custody

    Posted by John, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Van Gilder.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have used Mr. Van Gilder on many legal matters over the years; this one being the most personal.  I am embroiled in a contentious custody mater.  Mr. Van Gilder’s experience and expertise have been instrumental in:

    - navigating the legal complexities surrounding the case

    - addressing the countless nefarious actions of the opposing party

    - parallel preparation; anticipated multiple potential paths avoiding surprises and process stumbles

    Throughout the process Mr. Van Gilder has always been focused on the welfare of the children involved.  In addition Mr. Van Gilder has been great at making himself available to address concerns and issues that arise; educating me and reducing my level of angst.  I believe this level of compassion places him in an elite class.  I highly recommend both Mr. Van Gilder and his entire team of exceptional professionals.

     

  3. Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by Sandra, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Van Gilder.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Derek laid our worries to rest with our child custody case. He hit the floor running and never stopped until the job was done. We had one of the most unusual cases he had come across. We won our case. His experitise makes him a remarkable attorney. He is professional and compassionate at his job. He even helped us with reviewing our closing documents when we bought our home. He is the only attorney I will use.

  4. unprofessional

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Derek Van Gilder.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Derek for a relatively simple case...access to my shared driveway. 19 months later and several thousands of dollars...nothing has been done. Several "unetical" things were done by him. I fired him and now have a great attorney that is helping me with my case.....
    At one point he asked me to go to this site and write a good review for him....

    1. Derek R Van Gilder

      Derek Van Gilder

      Lawyer Comment:

      This was not a 'simple' case. The client's realtor made a major mistake on the client's behalf when the client sold part of the property she inherited from her mother. The client sold a portion of the property with an easement on that sold portion for access to the remaining portion. The easement was written to extinguish upon her brother's death who was to be given the remaining property. When the brother died shortly after the closing of the sale of the property, the easement was extinguished per the deed. The client wanted to enforce the easement over the sold property to have access to her remaining property. The other land owner did not want to allow access as there was an abandoned road on the other side of the property which would allow access to the remaining property.

      The other landowner hired an attorney who had to get permission from the state and county to allow use of the road. In his research, the attorney discovery another easement that state owned on the other side of the property. That easement also had to be released and a survey had to be acquired. The client demanded the case be set for trial, but the court would not allow for a setting under the circumstances with the problems of the two easements. The major delays had to do wiht the other attorney's dealings with the state and county.

      The client still has a very substantial outstanding invoice which I asked her to pay or I would withdraw from the case. She refused to pay and I have withdrawn from the case with her still not having paid. Nothing unethical was done on the case.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  5. A modern day Perry Mason

    Posted by Irene, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Van Gilder.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Derek Van Gilder is, without doubt, the modern Perry Mason. He is extremely responsive to our needs, gets back to us right away, intuits what we are feeling and is exceedingly knowledgeable. He has a wonderful sense of humor and knows when to use it to diffuse a tense or uncomfortable situation.In this day and age, it is a pleasure to meet a lawyer with such a high moral standards. He is an honest lawyer who knows when to fight and when to hold back. He has beautiful manners and it is a pleasure to deal with him.

  6. Personal Liability Matter

    Posted by Lonnie, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Van Gilder.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I find Mr. Van Gilder to be a man of integrity, honesty and fairness. He handled my legal matter in a timely efficient manner. He has the ability to get to the crux of the problem.

  7. a personal & business lawyer

    Posted by Kay, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Van Gilder.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Derek has always responded when I needed legal information concerning real estate business (both personal & for the brokerage. He has the ability to make you feel that you and your questions/problems are the most important. He always takes time to explain when I ask the question Why?

  8. Derek is NOT your run of the mill lawyer,he is top of the line

    Posted by Rebecca, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Van Gilder.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    A top notch lawyer,leaves no stone unturned.Keeps you up to date at all times.Very Trustworthy & Caring.He is there for you.

  9. BEST ATTORNEY IN BASTROP,TX

    Posted by Linda, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Van Gilder.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Always helped me with any matter and very quick with anything you need done. Great Staff also.

  10. Personal injury client

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Van Gilder.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was in a car accident in 2002, and was in the hospital for several months. There were also many months of recovery. My husband and began fighting with an auto maker about a faulty seatbelt. The seatbelt released me during that wreck, and therefore allowed me to be thrown from the van. We were not getting any where and that is when we hired
    Mr.Van Gilder. He was very knowledgeable, and also made us feel very
    relaxed about the process. Mr. Van Glider kept us informed about the
    case and did a great job explaining the case to our understanding. It
    took some time to get a settlement from this auto maker, they had to
    fully investigate the accident. Mr. Van Gilder stayed on top of the case
    through the entire process. I would recommend his services to anyone looking for a kind, compassionate, knowledgeable, diligent lawyer!

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

512-303-4747